View Poll Results: After his prevarication would you like to see Kevin Nolan play for Ireland?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

23 35.38%
  • No

42 64.62%
Page 21 of 22 FirstFirst ... 1119202122 LastLast

Thread: The Kevin Nolan saga

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    will a mod please merge this,

of we go again lads.....

By the way I propose a tenner for the first person who can come up with and original opinion on this, you dont even have to agree with it!

I think he should be made captain and player/coach straight away... is that original enough for a tenner?

In real terms, i like the player, but begging for his services.... f**k that, its embarrasing!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I think Nolan is worried he won't be able to hold down a place in our midfield,
    I'll have that tenner by the way,

20 Posts
    I could stomach this if Nolan were at least saying "I want to play for Ireland, help me get through the red tape". He isn't though and that makes this all the more unpalatable.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Kevin Nolan should not play for the Ireland team - the Ireland team should play for Kevin Nolan!

I propose renaming the Republic of Ireland to The Kevish Republic of Nolandia. It's really only red tape that's stopped this from happening already.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

i propose staunton **** off back to shewsbury or wherever he was reserve team defensive coach and stop making a show of himself in public.

what possible reason is there to make that statement to the press? amatuer.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    By the way I propose a tenner for the first person who can come up with and original opinion on this, you dont even have to agree with it!
    i think we, Ireland, should offer mr Nolan whatever he desires in pursiut of his undoubted talents, he after all plays in the epl, (the best league in the world). we should offer to play our home games at the reebok or anfield or goodison, whatever he wishes, he must have.

our kit must be changed, to fit his vision, a white number, id suggest, with navy shorts, and of course a smattering of loins on the chest.

and i feel,if we all ask nicely, 4tothefloor, may be willing to bend over for the greater good, should mr. Nolan have any requirements in that area. i would personally provide the ky jelly, or indeed the good old fashioned vasoline (whatever mr Nolan prefers).

I can gurantee one thing... if he ever does play for us, he probably will score a hatful of goals!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    i propose staunton **** off back to shewsbury or wherever he was reserve team defensive coach and stop making a show of himself in public.

what possible reason is there to make that statement to the press? amatuer.
    He was asked a question. Listen to it here if you wish:
    http://www.fai.ie/audio/fai_august_2006_2.mp3

The "issues surrounding that one" I guess are the fact that he's actually not eligible to play for us.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 09/08/2006 at 11:58 PM.

For some reason Liam Mackey in this morning's Examiner thinks Nolan's call-up is still a goer.

PP

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer...448-qqqx=1.asp

Staunton still hopeful Nolan will play for Ireland

By Liam Mackey
    REPUBLIC OF IRELAND manager Steve Staunton is hoping to cut through a mountain of red tape in a bid to lure Kevin Nolan into the fold.

Staunton and Bolton captain Nolan have discussed on several occasions the prospect of the midfielder pulling on the green of Ireland.

The 24-year-old still harbours hopes of playing for England, yet Nolan knows that is a tall order with Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Owen Hargreaves and Michael Carrick ahead of him in the pecking order.

Towards the end of last season there was talk of Nolan breaking into the squad, yet despite his best season for Bolton — scoring 11 goals and taking up the skipper’s armband — he was overlooked.

Staunton is eager to recruit a player of Nolan’s calibre, yet there remain obstacles, even though he qualifies to play for the Republic via the grandparents’ ruling.

Nolan has previously played for England at under-21 level, albeit in a friendly, and featured in a competitive game for the under-18s.

There is a precedent as Everton’s Tim Cahill played for Samoa at youth level, yet now represents Australia after lodging a successful appeal with FIFA.

Staunton is not giving up just yet as he said: “There’s a lot of issues surrounding this one.

“Once we cut through the red tape then we will know where we are.”
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

156 Posts
    I beleive that as a result of the red tape,Nolan doesn't wan to come out and say he's going to declare for Ireland...he also probably has one eye on seeing who McClaren calls up for England.I can understand Nolan's thinking.However,if his agent has any cop on,he'll encourage him to declare for us,where he'll greatly improve an already decent international team...if he declares for England,he'll be lucky to play more than five games in the rest of his career,as England are blessed at the moment with top midfielders like Gerrard and Lampard(who admittedly was **** in the WC).

Staunton is a joke & laughing stock already begging for Nolan to join his green parade. I presume Stan would then have to drop Dixon?

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    He was asked a question. Listen to it here if you wish:
    http://www.fai.ie/audio/fai_august_2006_2.mp3

The "issues surrounding that one" I guess are the fact that he's actually not eligible to play for us.
    the answer is 'no comment' in that case.

stan should have invited him to portugal - if he didnt show, end of.

nolans agent couldnt have written the script better

621 Posts
    Well Steve McClaren named John Terry as England captain today, I assume he will announce his first squad tomorrow. That will probably bring an end to the saga one hopes?

off to holland with him , his great-grandfather, i ask ya
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    and i feel,if we all ask nicely, 4tothefloor, may be willing to bend over for the greater good, should mr. Nolan have any requirements in that area. i would personally provide the ky jelly, or indeed the good old fashioned vasoline (whatever mr Nolan prefers).
    I can take banter CraftyToePoke, but that's crossing the line mate. Idiot

CraftyToePoke, keep personal insults out of threads an 4tothefloor you know the rules too. If you feel someone crossed the line it doesn't give you the right to reply with an insult. Anymore of this will result in a weeks ban.

I'm going to lock this thread until anything significant happens with this Nolan saga because the thread is going nowhere atm.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 11/08/2006 at 12:37 AM.

621 Posts

Steve McClaren snubs Nolan.

No room in the 'new look' England squad for Nolan, even with Beckham
    dropped he can't get a look in.
    Seems like a clear signal he doesn't figure in McClarens plans.

People seem adamant to talk about Nolan. Keep the thread on topic.

Page 21 of 22 FirstFirst ... 1119202122 LastLast