Thread: Historic/famous deals...

Historic/famous deals...

I've already put this up on boards and thought id give it a go here as well! Im doing a project on famous and historic deals which have taken place in the last 60 years. Some ive come up with so far are Beatles signing for EMI and Mafia Informer deals with the FBI. Any help would be great!

Cheers!
    Last edited by A face; 19/02/2006 at 1:58 AM.
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Alright aido

i'll throw in my bit here.

the good friday agreement/IRA ceasefire and decommissioning

the end of the cold war

adam maguire becoming dhulaigh reporter editor and then being sacked.

mariah carey signing for emi and then having her breakdown which cost the company millions.

Jaysus peej you're some can of ****, how are the beverly hills crowd doing with the cork accent? u score with Paris Hilton yet?
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

As regards soccer, you could do some of the big one's going wrong. Gianluca Lentini and Denilson aswell.
    And Barca signing Di Stefano.

+ Neville Chamberlains "peace in our time" deal could be another one.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

30 Posts
    Big Cas sold for a set of tracksuits (January 1982)

Quote Originally Posted by aido_b
    Jaysus peej you're some can of ****, how are the beverly hills crowd doing with the cork accent? u score with Paris Hilton yet?
    it's not going to badly. i'm doing my first assignment over here next week. i'm shadowing a porn star for three days to do a feature on her life and why she decided her career path. the americans have no problem understanding me but the rest is a different story. haven't seen paris hilton but i've seen the next best thing...hillary duff.

Who is the lads that signed for Chelsea and ended up in the reserves for 2.5 years or something .... that was a deal gone wrong in Chelseas eyes anyway, the player was happy enough though.

Winston Bogarde?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Thomas Brolin bought from Burger King by Leeds United for 4.5 million

Lee Sharpe bought from Man Utd (who failed to disclose a serious narcotics habit) by Leeds United for around the same bucks.

Seth Johnson bought from Derby (who could barely keep a straight face) for 7 million quid by ...those wacky guys again ...Leeds United.

there seems to be a common thread here.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    Lee Sharpe bought from Man Utd (who failed to disclose a serious narcotics habit) by Leeds United for around the same bucks.
    Is this (still) anything but rumour?

Cantona - Lids to Big United, €1.2 million

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Is this (still) anything but rumour?

Cantona - Lids to Big United, €1.2 million
    Apparently Sharpe himself confirmed it on telly within the last year.

****ona was a feat of philanthropism all right -but it's worth bearing in mind that he wasn't getting in the Leeds team (which finished 17th the following may) when Wilko sold him. Still should never have been sold to another English club much less Old Tatters boys. Should've been fcuked off to Rangers or Celtic either of whom would've had him gladly.

Hindsight eh? I always say -if Hindsight was a German footballer ...nobody'd be able to afford the fcukers wages.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

229 Posts
    Apparently Sharpe himself confirmed it on telly within the last year.

****ona was a feat of philanthropism all right -but it's worth bearing in mind that he wasn't getting in the Leeds team (which finished 17th the following may) when Wilko sold him. Still should never have been sold to another English club much less Old Tatters boys. Should've been fcuked off to Rangers or Celtic either of whom would've had him gladly.

Hindsight eh? I always say -if Hindsight was a German footballer ...nobody'd be able to afford the fcukers wages.
    Cantona was absolute quality - graced the premiership in its early years. Being dropped from the Leeds team had more to do with him boning Lesley Ash, Lee Chapman Leeds Striker's wife (if rumours are to be believed!!)

Others worthy of inclusion Mo Johnstone (Signing for Rangers after being pictured in a Celtic shirt the day before).

Figo signing for Real from Barca.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    Cantona was absolute quality - graced the premiership in its early years. Being dropped from the Leeds team had more to do with him boning Lesley Ash, Lee Chapman Leeds Striker's wife (if rumours are to be believed!!).
    The "he is French, he is flash, he is shagging Leslie Ash" thing is pure TV Now garbage.
    If there'd been so much as a grain to it I think Chapman might've been the one moving on ...which he did soon afterwards anyway. (Chapman had so many clubs in his time that when asked in an interview if he'd any superstitious pre-match rituals he responded he checked which side he was playing for )

Cantona had made himself difficult to work with as he was, so he claims (-which itself may be highly revisionist), disillusioned with the style of football Leeds United were playing -which he believed was long ball.

He was also annoyed that Leeds had decided to invest much of the title win windfall in building their state of the art Thorpe Arch facility (which ultimately reared us Kewell, Harte, Woodgate, Robinson, Milner, Smith, Maybury, McPhail...) rather than going out and spending it on players.

Frustrating as it was for me as a Leeds fan at the time to see the likes of Carlton Palmer and Nigel Worthington arrive when we were expecting a bolder statement of intent - I have to concede it was probably the last act of fiscal fortitude we'd see in a Leeds boardroom til Krasner arrived to wipe up Ridsdales mess.

Aido ... dont know if this is what you're after but here is a deal that didn't actually come off ..... worth a look !!

The "he is French, he is flash, he is shagging Leslie Ash" thing is pure TV Now garbage.
    If there'd been so much as a grain to it I think Chapman might've been the one moving on ...which he did soon afterwards anyway. (Chapman had so many clubs in his time that when asked in an interview if he'd any superstitious pre-match rituals he responded he checked which side he was playing for )

Cantona had made himself difficult to work with as he was, so he claims (-which itself may be highly revisionist), disillusioned with the style of football Leeds United were playing -which he believed was long ball.

He was also annoyed that Leeds had decided to invest much of the title win windfall in building their state of the art Thorpe Arch facility (which ultimately reared us Kewell, Harte, Woodgate, Robinson, Milner, Smith, Maybury, McPhail...) rather than going out and spending it on players.

Frustrating as it was for me as a Leeds fan at the time to see the likes of Carlton Palmer and Nigel Worthington arrive when we were expecting a bolder statement of intent - I have to concede it was probably the last act of fiscal fortitude we'd see in a Leeds boardroom til Krasner arrived to wipe up Ridsdales mess.
    the thing is, Leeds were far from a long ball side when the won the title in 1992....I remember Georgie Best himself saying prior to they signing fo9r Leeds, that Tony Dorigo and Rod Wallace wwere the only two flair players playing in English football....and who did they win an English title playing for....?

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    I remember Georgie Best himself saying prior to they signing fo9r Leeds, that Tony Dorigo and Rod Wallace wwere the only two flair players playing in English football
    LOL, how píssed was he when he said that!