Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Is Alex Bruce the ultimate mercenary?

Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    People from Cork are tick.
    Oh the irony.

Thats post of the year for all the wrong reasons.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    People from Cork are tick.
    Spellchecker?

eh joke.
    I

As I say, its worth putting (sic) beside a mistake that you are putting there on purpose as it clears these things up.
    In Trap we trust

Wonder do carlsberg do passports??? bruce is a mercenary but if hes good ok and if not tough sh** wont lose any sleep over him one way or the other

Dont ever tell Mick McCarthy he shouldnt have played or managed us he gave far more than certain people from the peoples republic of you know where.... if they qualify try them and if not good enough dump them and dont lose sleep about it

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    This is the real issue to debate here. Anyone bringing up the 2g or 3g stuff is IMO off topic.

If you are irish you play for Ireland. There should be no decision to make - if you have to think about it then you are not irish. Just to be clear - a 2 or 3g person can have dual nationality but when the offer comes around it should not require a decision as he should know already.

Agree 110%.

They used to define a nanosecond as the time between a traffic light going green in New York and the car behind you hooting his horn... should be the amount of time it takes one of our players to decide they want to play for us. In fact there shouldnt be a decison at all, it should be an instince. If a player has to deliberate over which team he wants to play for then I'd prefer them to play for another team. Or perhaps we could play them for half a match and never play them again, merely to "lock them out" of playing for any other international team.

That said I support the team, and if "mercenaries" play for us, then even if its not ideal IMO, I will still get behind the team, and wont slag them off at matches etc.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    Agree 110%.

They used to define a nanosecond as the time between a traffic light going green in New York and the car behind you hooting his horn... should be the amount of time it takes one of our players to decide they want to play for us. In fact there shouldnt be a decison at all, it should be an instince. If a player has to deliberate over which team he wants to play for then I'd prefer them to play for another team.
    110% ?

By that logic, a player who has to consider which country he wants to play for shouldn't be allowed play for any country since the nanosecond has passed for all of his possible countries.

All I want is whoever plays for Ireland gives 100% on the field when he dons the green jersey. The rest I couldn't care less about.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

we all dream of a team of gary breens...
    I

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    I will still get behind the team, and wont slag them off at matches etc.
    I think that is very decent of you indeed.

Well, its unfortunate that he's said that.

I can't imagine unless there's a spate of injuries that he'll have his services required though. Right back is probably one of our best covered for positions, especially if Carr comes back - and he's no centre half.

Think this will be a non-event.

Also, I think he's fair enough to declare for us if he wants. I know that Kevin Nolan considers himself English (and isn't eligable for us, but for arguments sake), but if he declared for us I'd treat him the same - and the fact he'd be quality would be a bonus.

Ade

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    Hes honest. Better than picking us because we are the poorer team. Get over it. If Stan does one good thing in his tenure and gathers enough quality talent to supply us for the next 10 years of entertainment, they can come from greenland for all I care. They dont have to be able to recite Peig and have shamrock growing out of their hole to qualify and action speaks louder than accents.

Let me remind you of the some of the mercenaries as you put it responsible for the memories that we have had over the last 20 years.

Houghton
    Aldridge
    Sheedy
    Cascarino
    Townsend
    McAteer - got us to a WC
    Sheridan - Classic
    Morris,
    McCarthy,
    Hughton,
    Galvin,
    Lawrenson
    Holland
    Breen
    McLoughlin - got us to a WC

You take those names out of Irish football history over the last 20 years and come back and tell me that we'd have had half the pleasure. Once they pull on the green jersey and play with pride, I dont care if they are Ching Chong O Flaherty - They are Irish.
    What are you lumping MCCarthy and Breen in with that lot for? They are Irish in all but birth-place? The likes of Houghton should never have been let near our squad, but Mick and Breen are as Irish as anyone despite being born abroad.

true

I totally agree with you about Houghton

Thumbs up Good man Tommy!

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    Oh right.Well thats fair enough cos Cannavaro is small and he is rubbish as well.

Imagine comparing Cannavaro with Alex Bruce...
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

short memories?

so those of us who revelled in '88, '90 & '94 thought "yeah its great, but i wish we'd had all irish players born and bred in ireland". yeah right!

the facts are ireland will never have the resources to field an entire team from players born and bred in this country. ireland use the 'granny rule' to such effect becuase they need to.(and maybe this is down to the FAI who are happy to farm irish players off to the uk in the hope the odd one develops). The rules are there and unless they change then what's the issue. A big debate doesnt need to ensue everytime a player declares for ireland. "oh he's more irish than him" etc etc. the fact is were it not for the rules as they are, Ireland would never have qualified for any tournament. If staunton didnt pick any players who quailify by this rule then we'd all be whinging saying he should do.

If Alex Bruce wants to declare for Ireland then let him. He's only going to be in the u-21s and i doubt he'll make the senior step-up. his wording was a bit askew but his dad would have advised him to declare for ireland. steve bruce would have played in the 94 world cup had it not been for playing an england b game. and we'd all have accepted him without much question at the time.

for me alot of people debating someones "irishness" are being hypocritical. as i'm sure these people would more than celebrate (as they have done in the past) if/when ireland qualify for the next tournament. so let's get on with it and accept that the rule wont be changing.

I think if the FAI could develop the domestic league to be stronger and professional all round that more players could develop at home and have a better chance of making the grade than partaking in the lottery that is travelling to the uk to etch out a career. Kevin doyle is a good example, daryl murphy is doing better in this 2nd stint across the water having got things back on track in the EL. shane long went from cork underage straight into reading first team squad. hopefully players will realise that staying at home can be a good option to develop. the more that do, the stronger the league and eventually the national team will become.
    Last edited by garykelly; 23/02/2006 at 3:28 PM.

94 yeah i wish we had more irish born lads. 7 irish born from 22 is pretty poor by all accounts but agree with garykelly, the rule is there and we should use it.

however saying that its not much use to us when we get sh ite players like macken/bruce and then have the gems like mcgeady/steven reid ignored (still baffled by this under kerr).

but people are always going to want to debate this because it is worth talking about/its controversial and its good to moan. sometimes.
    Last edited by as_i_say; 23/02/2006 at 3:39 PM.
    I

if him declaring for us and got us to a world cup would we still be having this argument, sorry discussion?

eh me no think so, and me think that ye lot would be extremely happy and revelling with all the other revellers and fair weathers...

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    if him declaring for us and got us to a world cup would we still be having this argument, sorry discussion?

eh me no think so, and me think that ye lot would be extremely happy and revelling with all the other revellers and fair weathers...
    But not all of us. Some of us would still be saying its a joke, and that results aren't everything when it comes to the national team
    Last edited by Dodge; 23/02/2006 at 7:51 PM.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia
    I think that is very decent of you indeed.
    Thanks, but really I think it's the least I can do.

Quote Originally Posted by totalfootball
    'erhn'

You need to move your left hand one key to the left.
    Top tip.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast