Aw feckers. Yeah tis a rip off...but I still love it.
Originally Posted by A face
It gets worse this year, compliments of http://www.oxegen.ie/tickets/
Free Car Parking - 4 or more Park Free
Compliments of OXEGEN, the environmentally friendly festival, fans will receive a free car parking ticket when they purchase 4 or more weekend camping tickets together. Let’s travel with our friends and enjoy a weekend without traffic jams! Otherwise a car parking ticket will be available from Ticketmaster outlets for 20 euro when you buy your Festival tickets.
Park N Ride – Day tickets and Two Day tickets without camping
In order to reduce traffic around the local communities of Punchestown and Naas, protecting our environment and saving time for fans – OXEGEN this year introduces an innovative Park n Ride shuttle service which will operate from Goffs on the Naas road. Parking for all One day ticket and Two day ticket (without camping) holders will be located exclusively at Goffs on the N7. Cost of parking including shuttle service is 20 euro. Parking tickets are available when purchasing your festival ticket.
Dublin Bus Details
Plan your quick getaway with Dublin Bus! Oxegen goers can avail of a specially negotiated discount with Dublin Bus when you buy your tickets before 31 March. See press and website for details.
Aw feckers. Yeah tis a rip off...but I still love it.
Its a rip off in two ways, its trying so hard to be Reading/Leeds and its just too damn pricey.
I also hate the clientelle/atmosphere it creates, see clapping to anything whatsoever and annoying hands in the air to Kaizer"omfg the are super"Chiefs, hello people welcome to two years ago.
The Red Hot Chilli Peppers [Who I rate lower than Maggie Thatcherr] draw every much savage from North Cork that ever was [Ya biiiy i was at slane like, awesome like] *yes I'm from Cork.
I will end up going, if only to see The Who and be beligerant.
j'accuse!
Originally Posted by ccfcman
Its strange how certain bands are popular in certain areas of Ireland.
Saw Doctors always attract an amazing amount of Galway jerseys(easy to explain i suppose)
but more amazing is
Every-one i know from Wexford
'totally loves the Counting Grows. They're amaaazing'
UB40 are fecking huge in Cork.
Golden Discs has their old albums up front with the new releases and they're constantly requested on ninety-**** FM.
What's that about like?
Red Hot Chilli Peppers are the perfect foil for the casual music fan which Oxegen attracts.
Californication is dragged out of the cd rack at every half-arsed house party.
Last edited by Risteard; 24/02/2006 at 12:59 AM.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
...and therein lies the problem with our little country.Originally Posted by Magicme
Never mind our conspiratorial media who'll airbrush out the one third of Madonna tickets unsold and label it "a huge success" so more of us go "oh it must be acceptable to pay 140 bucks to see an ageing tart kid herself"...
never mind that Irish people pay over 60 quid to see Metallica when Spanish people pay less than 30 quid within a few days of the dublin show,
never mind that providing adequate, clean toilet facilities don't double a promoters cost base and never mind that more food outlets than Feile should bring the price down -not send it up....
...the problem is we hand over the wad.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
UB40 have long been quite popular with the sticky headed shams here in Limerick too. Christ I fcukin' hate UB40. I find something deeply unsettling, patronising and downright racist about a pair of white guys from Birmingham feigning jamaican accents.Originally Posted by Risteard
If Al Jolsen was wrong for "Maaaaaaaaaam -eeeeeeeeeeeee" ............
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Take it you're not going to Stuttgart then?Originally Posted by finlma
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
Heard one or two rumours about Smashing Pumpkins reforming and playing Oxegen? Any vague truth in that one?
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
I'm 43 . I am too old for outdoor concerts per se. I don't have the patience to sit through hours of music by bands I either can't stand or do not know just to hear the main event. I watched Live 8 but it was on TV and I was in the comfort of my own gaff.
Disaster - never realised it was the same weekend. Maybe I'll have to go to Oxegen then instead cause I will be going to Stuttgart.Originally Posted by Kingdom
disaster is bleeding right. Was really looking forward to EP this year. Only down the road too as I've boughgt a gaff close to it. Would have been my first time too as I'm a festival virgin. Ah well, I'll be kicking the real virginity to touch in Stuttgart instead![]()
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
Placebo, James Brown, Paul Weller, The Charlatans, Pharrell Williams, Editors, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, The Go! Team, Eels and The Kooks are the latest acts to be confirmed for OXEGEN. Line up so far is:
SATURDAY 8 JULY
The Who
The Strokes
Arctic Monkeys
James Brown
Richard Ashcroft
Primal Scream
Editors
Eels
The Magic Numbers
The Go! Team
David Morales
Timo Maas
SUNDAY 9 JULY
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Kaiser Chiefs
Paul Weller
Franz Ferdinand
Bellx1
Pharrell Williams
Sigur Ros
Manu Chao
Placebo
Damian Marley
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
The Kooks
Felix Da Housecat
Errol Alkan
Starting to look really good and, I'm starting to consider going. The main thing that putting me off is the fact the Red Hot Chilli Peppers are headliners thus attracting all the idiots of the day
54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
Following Harps Home & Away
https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC
Its a very impressive line-up and with EP being on the same weekend as Stuttgart I'll probably go to Oxegen. I'd prefer if the Chillis weren't playing but they have to pander to the masses.
There's no way I'm camping with all those little scumbags though.
Fcuk me, I never thought you were that old!!!Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
Sitting pretty!!!
And i thought repeating one year of college was bad.![]()
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
am i reading that parking thing right if you dont buy 4 camping ticket s parking is 20 euro so a camping ticket is actually 180 odd euro , and if you dont buy a camping ticket you have to park else where and get bussed to the gig .
there goes my plan of going sat getting ****ed sleeping in the car and going home sunday .
even though there are 4 or 5 bands id like to see they are ripping people off way too much for me to bother it will cost me well over 200 euro before i even get there then add the over priced beer & food it could top 400 euro for a weekend![]()
as my granny used to say "bol_locks to that"![]()
Originally Posted by Neish
we can just stay at the bar during the chilli peppers so Neish
after seeing the lineup im thinking of changing my mind too, well prob buy me a ticket this weekend, just in case i really really wana go later and its sold out
life is random
ive heard rumours its selling fast , ive no facts but i heard sat is sold out .
a lot of people are buying up to flog them on ebay for 300 odd euro later
I heard all the day tickets for both sat & sun are sold out.
Not surprised the Sunday tickets sold out always happenes with the RHCP. They are the greatest band of all time afterall, . heard they were queuing all night hope it was good and cold like it was in Donegal and the idiots all froze.
My money is mostly tied up with several other things at present, if there still are camping tickets in a few weeks I'll get one then. I'm won't be too disappointed if I don't get one.
54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
Following Harps Home & Away
https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC
yea i drove past all the idiot s queing up freezing this morning in my nice warm car went into my nice warm office and bought them in under 5 mins sitting on my nice comfy chair !!!Originally Posted by Neish