Get a life coming from you?![]()
Cop on pal this is an internet forum. If you dont agree with someone you dont have to resort to abuse like your pals dummy and traitor............
Enjoy your weekend listening to the radio![]()
Are you having a laugh?
its a woeful cliche ridden piece. it made me sick as a parrott reading it.
was it written by owlsfan himself?
its almost as good as his "riposte" to Tom Humphries.
Just cause you happen to subscribe to some of the sentiments expressed within doesnt make it any better as a piece of "journalism".
it doesnt bother me what you think of dunphy/keane/quinn/brady et al.
But I think its a bit pathetic throwing terms like traitor around. if you feel "betrayed" by some footballer not wanting to play in a world cup then you are a sad little man. people have a right to do what the hell they want to do regardless whether the likes of yourself will be moved to ring Joe Duffy to complain about it. get a life.
Get a life coming from you?![]()
Cop on pal this is an internet forum. If you dont agree with someone you dont have to resort to abuse like your pals dummy and traitor............
Enjoy your weekend listening to the radio![]()
Thanks for the compliment but it wasn't written by me. Delighted you thought it was almost as good as my reply to Tom Humphries. I am flatteredOriginally Posted by klein4
I used that article because it reflected my views on NeilMc's comparison of Brady = Dunphy. It wasn't meant to drag the Keane Saga (Traitor/Hero etc)into it because that has been talked about ad nauseum. However, I disagree that it is a "cliche ridden piece". I appreciate it mightn't reach the erudite standards you have shown in your writings, but it is well put together even if the views propounded would clearly not be shared by some people.
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Originally Posted by OwlsFan
very funny. wasnt tryin to be personal(well maybe a little...) just didnt think it was a good article. wasnt balanced and was a bit hackneyed. cant remember your humphries one all I remember is I didnt agree with it. so maybe it was a masterpiece.![]()
NY Hoop I wasnt resorting to abuse. I just said someone who still feels bitter about the whole saipan thing 4 years on is a bit sad and needs to get a life. And I would include brady and dunphy in that. Or "baldy" and "dummy" if it makes it any easier for ya.
back on thread....why has there never been a documentary on brady on Irish telly? its not as if we have a load of players who went to Italy....
There was a documentary sort of. It was about the 4 lads who went to Arsenal at the same time: Brady, O'Leary, Stapleton and Murphy but it concentrated more on Murphy as the one who hadn't "made it".Originally Posted by klein4
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
yeah and there was a couple a clips of brady at juve that left you wanting to know a bit more about that period in his career.
Has anyone else gone to the blog that "opinion piece" was from and read the author's latest ignonorant, adolescent rant? I know I shouldn't, but I've an awful habit of following links to sites I know are going to annoy me - this one's a real shocker though. I'm almost tempted to waste my time posting a nasty comment (or I would be if I thought anyone read it).
"Some times the smallest of minds appear to have the biggest, loudest and foulest of mouths". Indeed.
Last edited by czarner; 20/02/2006 at 10:27 AM.
Originally Posted by nedder
True great article. And Brady was harshly treated...but does anybody agree with me in that John Sheridan must have been one of the unluckiest Irish players of all time. He was not far behind Liam in terms of class but won very few caps and was one of the most gifted players we ever had
Originally Posted by Den Perry
Sheridan was an excellent passer of the ball. Would be a shoe in for centre midfield if he was around now. He had a good bit of competition in his day for a green shirt. He was more gifted than Townsend, but in fairness to townsend he got through an awful lot of work on the pitch.
I'm sure he'd be delighted Den, to be mentioned along with Brady, but Brady was different class. He could beat a player at ease and open up defences at ease. had a bit more trickery than Sheridan.
P.S welcome back Den!
I'm a big fan of Sheridan and I've listed him in my Ireland XI several times on this board. He was not, however, in Brady's class.
That said, we could certainly use him now.
There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.
Brady turned up for a mickey mouse tour of the Caribbean and South America in 1982 where we were beaten 7-0 by Brazil and 3-1 by Trinidad and Tobago.
Keane failed to turn up for the WORLD CUP FINALS ! NY Hoop is correct with his labellage of the Dork from Cork !
Now one last word about Brady... this is a song that was first sung at the USSR match in Hannover.. to the tune of Lord Of The Dance:
" Dance , Dance wherever you may be/ We lost Mark Lawrenson and Liam Brady/ But we don't care and we don't give a f**k/ Cause we beat the Brits in the Nations Cup "
Sheridan obviously has a warm place in my heart (Ireland and winning goal for Wednesday in League Cup Final in 1991 vs Man U) but his main draw back was his lack of pace. Great passer of the ball but wasn't a box to box midfielder and lacked bite in the tackle. I would always have had Whelan, Keane and/or Townsend in ahead of him. A midfield of Keane and Townsend - sigh. Those were the days.
Class player Sheridan. I remember his super finish against Bolivia and his chip that should have beaten Norway in 94.
I remember being at the game where we beat Turkey 5-0 and Aldridge scored a hatrick. Sheridan gave what I believe was as good an attacking performance as I have ever seen from an Irish midfielder
Thank you Nedder....it was a I thought a very harsh suspension. But I have learned my lessonOriginally Posted by nedder
Not to mention his crucial goal at home to Spain. Quality player, would have been far more appreciated under any other manager than Jack.
Anyone have the other parts of the Brady piece from the Tribune? The Trappatoni piece and at least one other tribute haven't been posted and they're not on the Tribune's website any more.![]()
You can't spell failure without FAI
the trappatoni piece wasnt on the website the day after.
dont think there was anything else.
tributes from giles,don howe and trappatoni. and a piece about missing a penalty against valencia.
I have the Trapattoni tribute, no harm in repeating the key notes of his praiseOriginally Posted by John83
Professional, great professional, gentleman, leader at 24, important leader, will always remember his class, professional in every sense, left foot, winner, hero. Gave us all a lesson in professionalism, one of the few times I have cried, gentleman in the face of adversity, class, modest.