That seems very short notice by FCUM.Unfair on the GUFC officials,players and supporters who travelled.
Galway Uniteds friendly against FC United scheduled to go ahead at at Wycombe Wanderers training ground at 1.00pm on Sunday 12th February, has been called off at the request of the Manchester based side, who are apparently unable to field a team.
Galway United are presently trying to source alternative opposition.
Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 11/02/2006 at 5:47 PM.
That seems very short notice by FCUM.Unfair on the GUFC officials,players and supporters who travelled.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
That's ridiculously short notice to give. Anyone who was travelling would have paid for flights at this stage. Very unprofessional by FCUM.
GUFC will now be playing a Wycombe Wanderers XI at the same time and same venue. Twelve supporters had travelled on Friday, more today.
GUFc were in contact with FCUoM on Thursday and there was no indication of
any problems from their side.
They're probably a better team anyway so it's worked out better for Galway.Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
Ya that's what we were saying today.Despite the amatuer behavior of FCUM we have probably a better fixture against Wycome.
Europe's Big Club.
Jill just told me we won 2-1.![]()
Europe's Big Club.
Yep,Originally Posted by Conor H
Wycombe took the lead with an early penalty. United equalised from penalty spot through Alan Murphy. Frawley scored a header from a corner to give us a half time lead. No second half goals.
Typical Galway weather. Photos will be up in a little while.
....Did you meet up with the GUFC fans who went over there?
Europe's Big Club.
Originally Posted by Conor H
Yep ... Thinking smart, I headed for the Irish pub, where I found them arriving for a pre-match breakfast and pint![]()
As promised....
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1079.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1082.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1083.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1084.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1085.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1086.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1087.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1088.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1089.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1090.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1091.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1092.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1093.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1094.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1096.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1097.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1098.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1099.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1100.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1101.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1102.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1103.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1104.JPG
http://www.alanbrett.me.uk/images/gufc/DSCF1107.JPG
The Wycombe team was mainly reserves and youths (their youths team had no game this weekend). I was chatting to some of their youth team's players parents while watching the game - one of their second half subs was only 15. Apparently Wycombe did a ring around their players last night to put a team together. Fair play to them.
They have a nice set up there for a League Two club mind.
Nice pics Exiled_gufc_fan...Playing firstly against FC United of Manchester I knew they were not to play in Old TraffordOriginally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan
but what a field !!
hehehe
Great pictures anyway![]()
"A Spanish Tribesmen since 1999 confirm Galway´s Latin Soul ... "
That place looks like mervue?
Anyway, fair play Wycombe. Hopefully it was a good work out for the lads.
Now cork tomorrow! EASY !![]()
We've played 4, won 4, scored 21 and conceded 0Originally Posted by Terry
Are you sure you're up to it?
Tomorrow it'll be played 5, won 4, lost 1 scored 21 and conceded 5Originally Posted by Peadar
We're well up for it...
Revenge for you robbing us in the cup last year![]()
Lally will probably field a weak team to give ye a chance, plus to rest the lads that were playing in England.Originally Posted by Peadar
In our second game yesterday, we started 3 trialists and 8 youths. We won 4-0.Originally Posted by Terry
It will be interesting to hear the excuses tomorrow night. Terry obviously wants to get his in early.
Originally Posted by Peadar
I think it will be EASY! for who I havent yet said!
Wher's all the FCUM Irish supporters club guru's to explain their clubs shocking behaviour?
It's not taken them long to morph into a southern-based outfit like the other lot, eh?!!![]()
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.
The Kildare and District League and two pub teams, as well as Limerick FC.Originally Posted by Peadar
You really know how to test yourselves down in Cork. All the big clubs have had friendlies overseas![]()