Thread: FC United game off

FC United game off

Galway Uniteds friendly against FC United scheduled to go ahead at at Wycombe Wanderers training ground at 1.00pm on Sunday 12th February, has been called off at the request of the Manchester based side, who are apparently unable to field a team.

Galway United are presently trying to source alternative opposition.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 11/02/2006 at 5:47 PM.

That seems very short notice by FCUM.Unfair on the GUFC officials,players and supporters who travelled.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

That's ridiculously short notice to give. Anyone who was travelling would have paid for flights at this stage. Very unprofessional by FCUM.

Update

GUFC will now be playing a Wycombe Wanderers XI at the same time and same venue. Twelve supporters had travelled on Friday, more today.

GUFc were in contact with FCUoM on Thursday and there was no indication of
    any problems from their side.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    GUFC will now be playing a Wycombe Wanderers XI at the same time and same venue.
    They're probably a better team anyway so it's worked out better for Galway.

Ya that's what we were saying today.Despite the amatuer behavior of FCUM we have probably a better fixture against Wycome.

Europe's Big Club.

Jill just told me we won 2-1.

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Jill just told me we won 2-1.
    Yep,
    Wycombe took the lead with an early penalty. United equalised from penalty spot through Alan Murphy. Frawley scored a header from a corner to give us a half time lead. No second half goals.

Typical Galway weather. Photos will be up in a little while.

Exiled Gufc Fan....

....Did you meet up with the GUFC fans who went over there?

Europe's Big Club.

The Wycombe team was mainly reserves and youths (their youths team had no game this weekend). I was chatting to some of their youth team's players parents while watching the game - one of their second half subs was only 15. Apparently Wycombe did a ring around their players last night to put a team together. Fair play to them.

They have a nice set up there for a League Two club mind.

Nice pics

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan
    The Wycombe team was mainly reserves and youths (their youths team had no game this weekend). I was chatting to some of their youth team's players parents while watching the game - one of their second half subs was only 15. Apparently Wycombe did a ring around their players last night to put a team together. Fair play to them.

They have a nice set up there for a League Two club mind.
    Nice pics Exiled_gufc_fan...Playing firstly against FC United of Manchester I knew they were not to play in Old Trafford but what a field !! hehehe
    Great pictures anyway
    "A Spanish Tribesmen since 1999 confirm Galway´s Latin Soul ... "

That place looks like mervue?

Anyway, fair play Wycombe. Hopefully it was a good work out for the lads.

Now cork tomorrow! EASY !

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Now cork tomorrow! EASY !
    We've played 4, won 4, scored 21 and conceded 0
    Are you sure you're up to it?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Tomorrow it'll be played 5, won 4, lost 1 scored 21 and conceded 5
    We're well up for it...
    Revenge for you robbing us in the cup last year

Lally will probably field a weak team to give ye a chance, plus to rest the lads that were playing in England.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Lally will probably field a weak team to give ye a chance
    In our second game yesterday, we started 3 trialists and 8 youths. We won 4-0.

It will be interesting to hear the excuses tomorrow night. Terry obviously wants to get his in early.

I think it will be EASY! for who I havent yet said!

43 Posts
    Wher's all the FCUM Irish supporters club guru's to explain their clubs shocking behaviour?

It's not taken them long to morph into a southern-based outfit like the other lot, eh?!!
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

The Kildare and District League and two pub teams, as well as Limerick FC.
    You really know how to test yourselves down in Cork. All the big clubs have had friendlies overseas