Thread: Where do Germany play their home games?

Where do Germany play their home games?

Howya lads, does anyone know where Germany play their home games? I'm thinking of making the most of the fine European train system, don't fancy getting fleeced like Paris. Apologies if this is common knowledge and I'm just an eejit, I have no idea where there game will be on.

I think they move games around Donal

Cheers Cowboy.

well a few of the regulars over on soccercentral, who live there strongly beleive its going to be in dortmund, if flights you are thinking of.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    well a few of the regulars over on soccercentral, who live there strongly beleive its going to be in dortmund, if flights you are thinking of.
    Yep it seems there are many in germany who think it will be dortmund

Hope it's Dortmund - brother worked in an Irish bar there for a few years and been over many times - some great boozers there!

Though Munich is a real possibility as well....& just as good!
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

539 Posts
    hope its dortmund too. less attractive to the one off travelers i'd say so tickets may be gettable

They do indeed move their games around the country, so it may be a while before we know where the venue is going to be.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

176 Posts
    dortmund is grand, a two hour drive for me

plus the westfalenstadion is a fantastic football venue, possibly the best in europe

When will actual location be announced???, it would be nice to start booking accomodation and flights to destination or nearby cities, I hope its Munich, the new stadium looks spectacular..

30 Posts
    They have 1 month to decide as far as I know

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    They have 1 month to decide as far as I know
    1 month before the game is played, isn't it I remember the Swiss keeping us guessing right up until the game was nearly upon us. Unless they've changed the rules.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

I thought it was up to 6 weeks before the date of the game. But i might be wrong

the german fa said yday that they will let the fai know where the game is within a month of yday ....

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites
    When will actual location be announced???, it would be nice to start booking accomodation and flights to destination or nearby cities, I hope its Munich, the new stadium looks spectacular..
    From Gerry McDermott in today's Indo: The Germans hope to inform the FAI next month where they intend to stage the match. Because the Irish supporters are likely to travel in large numbers, the FAI are pushing for Dortmund (65,782), with Berlin (74,220) and Munich (66,016) the other preferred options.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

176 Posts
    with terracing dortmund can hold 80,000

i'm not sure if they are allowed to use it in terracing mode for international matches though

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    with terracing dortmund can hold 80,000

i'm not sure if they are allowed to use it in terracing mode for international matches though
    no they're not. terraces banned for competitive fixtures. croke park will be 70,000 rather than 82,500 for this very reason

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    no they're not. terraces banned for competitive fixtures. croke park will be 70,000 rather than 82,500 for this very reason
    though they are planning to use bucket seats on the hill which will bring it to 75,000

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites
    No point in booking anything now, tbh. However, if I was a betting chain CEO, I would put unbackable odds on the game being played in Munich, as I can't see why/how the Germans will put us up somewhere else, plus the fact they'll want to show off the Allianz Palace also.

Can't people just have the patience to wait until the venue is announced?

If you want to book a trip now, you're better off booking Ayia Napa/Larnaca/Paphos, for the trek to Cyprus in October.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    No point in booking anything now, tbh. However, if I was a betting chain CEO, I would put unbackable odds on the game being played in Munich, as I can't see why/how the Germans will put us up somewhere else, plus the fact they'll want to show off the Allianz Palace also.

Can't people just have the patience to wait until the venue is announced?

If you want to book a trip now, you're better off booking Ayia Napa/Larnaca/Paphos, for the trek to Cyprus in October.
    most people just dont want to wait till the prices for flights have gone up to book !