View Poll Results: Was McCarthy Right To Send Keane Packing?

Voters
38. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

20 52.63%
  • No

18 47.37%

Thread: Was McCarthy Right To Send Keane Packing?

It is Micks fault and it shows how he is a bad manager by how his star player has no respect for him.
    This all started a ling time back and should have been sorted back then.

yeah COLM, I was a bit p!ssed off yesterday and I am now... I was abit rash but as far as I'm aware you didn't qualify your statement and I was sick of people here at work stating that McCarthy was wrong cos Roy Keane is the best player in the world sh!te.

I don't listen much to ex-pros, because that was then and this is now....

I don't listen to Grumpy because he has book interests...

I listen to the facts which are:

1. Mick McCarthy was verbally abused beyond a reasonable manner.

2. Roy Keane blasting excerises and facilities which were basically for R&R.

3. Roy Keane stating numourous times that He wasn't there for Roy Keane. If it was up to him he'd be at home.

4. Roy Keane retiring from international football and saying he's going home only days before the World Cup.

Why didn't he act injured and save face...
    Last edited by Xlex; 24/05/2002 at 4:04 PM.
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Can I add one more:

4. Roy Keane retiring from international football and saying he's going home only days before the World Cup.

Shows how much the World Cup and his teammates mean to him. Most people would give their right arm to play in a World Cup, Keane is prepared to throw it all away on a whim. Some professional he is. Also I don't buy this crap about how we've no chance now. So we would have a chance with a half-fit, disinterested, team-morale poisoning, anywhere-but-here Roy Keane would we? This rubbish that some hysterics are spouting about begging him to come back and getting the Taoiseach to intervene is absolutely sickening. Does the rest of the team not matter to them?

By the way, antone see on Sky News I think they showed Keanes front gate in Manchester and somebody has attached a babys soother to it. Quite funny really.

Cheers MikeW... meant to add that to my post..
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Unhappy the books ???

some members of the squad and backroom are going to make a mint writing books about all this after the WC

Amoan Grumpy knows this will make great copy for the autobiograhy so he is milking it for all its worth

Angry Unbelievable

Originally posted by COLM
    Xlex, I am just stating my opinion, which I am entitled to do. I think it was the wrong decision to send Roy home, I feel that had Jack Charlton or Alex Ferguson been in charge they would have handled the situation in a far better way. At USA 94 Roy had a row with Maurice Setters, Jack sorted it out and then made them both appear before the press and deny that the whole thing ever happened.

Roy has been in trouble a fair few times at United and Alex always sorted it out without having to leave things go this far.
    Paul McGrath said today that he often said much worse things to big Jack and that he felt Roy was treated unfairly.
    Dont get me wrong, I am a big fan of Mick McCarthys but I just feel he handled this situation very badly.

Xlex, it looks to me like you are very angry about the whole sorry mess and that you decided to direct all your frustration at me!!
    But thats ok I understand you need a way of releasing your anger!!!

You heard what Jack had to say last night on the Late Late Show and he made it quite clear that he wouldn't just have sent Roy home but he would have "kicked him out the door". No manager would take that sh!te apart from Ferguson. Him and Keane are well met....

Mc Grath seems to be of the opinion that Jack was abused even worse then Mc Carthy and Big Jack stood for it. He's not called Big Jack for nothing. He stated his case clearly last night. "I'm on Mick's side....Roy was wrong"
    I have found men who didn't know how to kiss.
    I've always found time to teach them.

he was right. It's regrettable but he was. No one denies that keane had a point in his complaints, but that does not excuse him throwing a wobbly and absuing mccarthy like that. I'm more and more convinced ferguson had a role in this to be honest. keane should NEVER play for ireland again unless he publicly apologises to mccarthy his teammates and the country.
    grow up roy

Originally posted by Éanna
    I'm more and more convinced ferguson had a role in this to be honest.
    Yeah, yesterday Ferguson came out and said that he never wanted Roy to go and play in the world cup in the first place.
    I bet hes sitting at home right now with a big smug grin on his face.

"The balls are sh*t. The pitch is sh*t. This place is sh*t. Why are we here? What are we doing? We are getting injuries. I have an ankle injury and I am really unhappy"
    Who said this?
    It was Edmilson, talking about Brazil's prepartion for the WC, and their match in Malaysia.
    Was he called before a squad meeting to explain himself?
    Was he sent home?
    Is he being called a "prima donna" in Brazil?
    The answer to all these questions is NO.

Who is in charge of the Irish management, which repeatedly makes a f*ck-up of simple things like kit organisation?

Which international team manager has a journalist travelling with him, at all times, to ghost-write his WC diary, a journalist who has repeatedly written anti-Roy Keane stories and encouraged Irish supporters to boo Keane?

Which international team manager choose an island, that did not have a football pitch, to prepare for the WC?

Which international team manager is "at the the WC to enjoy himself" ?

Mick McCarthy. This is the man who got us here, did he?

Originally posted by oddboy
    "The balls are sh*t. The pitch is sh*t. This place is sh*t. Why are we here? What are we doing? We are getting injuries. I have an ankle injury and I am really unhappy"
    Who said this?
    It was Edmilson, talking about Brazil's prepartion for the WC, and their match in Malaysia.
    Was he called before a squad meeting to explain himself?
    Was he sent home?
    Is he being called a "prima donna" in Brazil?
    The answer to all these questions is NO.
    I don't see any comments in there calling his manager a w*nker, questioning his personal or professional integrity, so thats probably why he wasn't sent home.

brine2
    If Edmilson was called before the entire Brazilian squad and accused by Scolari of letting his country down and faking injuries in previous matches, then perhaps he might call Scolari a w*nker, or whatever the Portuguese equivalent of the word is. And who could blame him.

Thumbs down Keane has shamed us all.....

Firstly I think Roy should have been sent home & he disgraced both himself & his country.

The Irish Times interview was a superb interview & while Keane had some valid points the whole list of them just made it sound like he a moaning prima dona. Like it or not McCarthy is the manger & if Keane wants to play international football he got play under him.

- If the pitch is a little hard is it such a major thing considering that island to be used as an accimtisation base which IMO looks like a good choice since they were (supposed) to be away from the media glare & relax & get the squad bonding.
    - Its not good players out til 5am partying but leaving the WC because of that is like a kid going home & taking his ball with him.
    - Roy moaned about having to mix with press & fans at Dublin Airport - jeez i'm sorry for him havinmg to mix with ordinary people.
    - Sure the squad could have flown direct like england but does anyone think the FAI can afford to charter a jumbo jet like england?
    - Late training gear is hardly a vital matter in the run up to the WC when they sqiad be resting for a couple of days after a long flight.

Roy Keane has apparently been like that for years, rooming on his own & not mixing well with the rest of the squad. He may be captain on the pitch but he clearly unable to captain a squad off the pitch for a few weeks together prior to a tournament. If Roy had a room-mate maybe he could have taken his gripes out on him instead?

IMO McCarthy made a bad decision to have a team meeting but then again he hardly expected the level of abuse Roy is reported to have delivered. McCarthey had no option to sent Roy home as he would have lost any respect the rest of the squad had if he accepted the abuse.

Do we hear African players from top european teams abusing their national team manager when they giving poor training facilities? Do you think the Cameroon team have as good facilities with thei national team as when playing for top european team? I doubt it.....

Re: Keane has shamed us all.....

Originally posted by pete
    - If the pitch is a little hard is it such a major thing considering that island to be used as an accimtisation base which IMO looks like a good choice since they were (supposed) to be away from the media glare & relax & get the squad bonding.

ok and this is only a small point on the matter
    roy keane is a winner, alays gives 100% etc etc

all i have heard in interviews b4 and after have been how the other lads are having a laugh out there, enjoying themselves..
    its the world cup finals lads... whats all this enjoying yourselves and relaxing lark about.. keane is one of the best players in the world and wanted to show this on the greatest stage the WC finals..

i beleive the term is 'if you want fun then you should go to the circus'

and as for away from the media glare, well if only this was the case we might not have had any of these problems or at the very least they wouldnt have been in the media spotlight so much.
    there was media all over the place in Seipan... i mean the lads had this stupid BBQ and a few beers with the press, the same press that had slated keane on several occassions in the past , and only a week earlier at the quinn testimonial..

- Sure the squad could have flown direct like england but does anyone think the FAI can afford to charter a jumbo jet like england?
    yea why the hell not.. where is all the money they have made since euro 88 goneto??

IMO McCarthy made a bad decision to have a team meeting but then again he hardly expected the level of abuse Roy is reported to have delivered. McCarthey had no option to sent Roy home as he would have lost any respect the rest of the squad had if he accepted the abuse.
    definately and this is what ****es me off so much, mccarthy and keane have a long running thing going on for years, and i think keane was baited by McCarthy at this public meeting.
    mccarthy is an international football manager
    he manages a national country because he is supposedly the best man for the irish job
    part of his position is football - which i dont agree with some of either (ANOTHER STORY) but the other is Management
    ~ the mangement of men

how the hell he let a roy keane that was so aggitated situation develop is beyond me.. this could and should of have been smoothered long ago, and sorted man to man by the 2 of them or at least left to sort after the WC

Originally posted by Éanna

I don't see any comments in there calling his manager a w*nker, questioning his personal or professional integrity, so thats probably why he wasn't sent home.
    Scolari did not call a team meeting, wave the interview in his face, and accuse Edmilson of feigning injury.
    If McCarthy had a problem with the interview, he should have approached Keane privately.
    Keane has been accused of "running to the press".
    MaCarthy has a journalist with him all the time to write his WC diary. The journalist is Cathal Dervan, the f*cking w*nker who has had it in for Keane for years. McCarthy has two newspaper columns and at least 5 other players have as well. Mattie Holland, said in one of his columns that now that Roy is gone, he "was happy when he got on the bus, singing We're on the one road, and start enjoying himself again". Well good for him, that he gets a good holiday and is paid for it.
    The only player who really wanted to try and win is at home, while we have a package holiday representing us......

Oh and pete, can you explain to me how "he has disgraced his country" ???

Because we are a joke now. Being out of the country i had the displeasure of listening to every two bit radio presenter in the UK have a laugh Keanes tantrum & us indirectly. Plus Roy has left the squad short 1 player now.

Btw after seeing the irish insults The (London) Times wrote on its front page i'm not buying the Sunday Times again.

I would speculate that McCarthy had a team meeting as Roy Keane criticised (i agree with most of it) his team mates too in the IT interview.

I read Hollands diary piece & he didn't say it like that:

Make no excuses, we have lost our best player but next morning the famed Irish atmosphere was back as we sang lots of songs on the team bus, including our favourite "We're on the one road", and now the saga's over there is a definite sense of relief at Keane's departure. He had been his usual brooding self since our arrival in Saipan.
    Matt Holland in the Independent

I don't think the players should be up til 5am less than 2 weeks before the WC but when the squad stuck with each other for probably a month its impoirtant they get on together. I'd expect the team to concentrating & training hard this week as no point peaking too soon?

Because we are a joke now. Being out of the country i had the displeasure of listening to every two bit radio presenter in the UK have a laugh Keanes tantrum & us indirectly. Plus Roy has left the squad short 1 player now.

Btw after seeing the irish insults The (London) Times wrote on its front page i'm not buying the Sunday Times again.
    Surely it's "every two bit radio presenter in the UK " who are the disgrace? Irish insults, or any insults about any race, disgrace the people who make them.
    Not the people who are the butt of them.
    So again, how has Roy Keane disgraced us????

Matt Holland has written more than one column in the Independent and is a dab hand at giving interviews.
    Poor Mattie is relieved, and is glad to be rid of the brooding presence. Well, Mattie baby, 100 of you are not worth one Roy Keane, with all his bad humours, brooding presence, tantrums or anything else...
    Last edited by patsh; 27/05/2002 at 2:45 PM.

I don't think he disgraced his country- he only disgraced himself and anyone who doesn't realise that is either blind or stupid.

Yeah not really disgraced more like let the country down. That doesn't mean other people didn't leave us down either.