Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Colin Healy

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    And out of your well researched list, how many exactly were/are up to international standard?
    maybury, kernighan, coyne, healey, (you mean healy) miller. None of these are international players. don't get too personal now, the strength of the scottish league was shown today, celtic 8, dunf. 1, its a mickey mouse league and if he wants to play for ireland again, he needs to be aiming higher than that. Although thats the view of my "anglocentered arse". But i find it interesting that people seem to agree with me...
    you are changing the subject. they were all 'international players', kernighan and coyne went to a world cup, coyne was our main striker in 94. we are not brazil ffs.

celtic have provided more players to the senior irish side than anyone else over the timeframe you chose. your dismissive attitude to all things non-english premiership is bizarre. its not as if arsenal or manure have never won league matches by 7 or more?

but thats not the point. where do you recommend he goes? its not about aiming anywhere, the guy hasnt played at all for 3 years. chelsea might be a bit too ambitious, despite your snobbery. the SPL would be a good enviroment to re-establish himself and good luck to him.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    you are changing the subject. they were all 'international players', kernighan and coyne went to a world cup, coyne was our main striker in 94. we are not brazil ffs.

celtic have provided more players to the senior irish side than anyone else over the timeframe you chose. your dismissive attitude to all things non-english premiership is bizarre. its not as if arsenal or manure have never won league matches by 7 or more?

but thats not the point. where do you recommend he goes? its not about aiming anywhere, the guy hasnt played at all for 3 years. chelsea might be a bit too ambitious, despite your snobbery. the SPL would be a good enviroment to re-establish himself and good luck to him.
    negativity to all things non-english..... i find that insulting, im a celtic supporter and had an extended trial at linfield, which i enjoyed very much and learnt a lot about the game in ireland. The thing is, that he aint gona go anywhere if he goes to livi, and thats my honest opinion, whether you like it or not, you have no right to get personal about it, i'm entitled to my beliefs and if he does go there i fully expect to be proven correct. Its only a couple of weeks ago that people were saying what a terrible move Falkirk was for patrick cregg, and now, a full irish international is wanted by some people to join an equally poor side.

i said non-english premiership.

where else could/should he go?

26 Posts
    i said non-english premiership.

where else could/should he go?
    i feel that if we are talking about him as an international player then the very least he wants to be looking at is championship. I'm sure there are many teams in that league who would take him on a non-contract basis, pay as you play and take it from there. He has more chance of being seen by either staunton or robson playing in england and thats the harsh reality.

the the harsh reality. he is a long way off professional fitness, nevermind international standard.

and is the SPL that far behind the championship?

26 Posts
    the the harsh reality. he is a long way off professional fitness, nevermind international standard.

and is the SPL that far behind the championship?
    i think the SPL is behind in terms of quality if u take cel. rang. hts. out of it. Also, he needs to be watched regular and i just dont think that he will get that in scotland.

i think the SPL is behind in terms of quality if u take cel. rang. hts. out of it.
    Ye well the reality is celtic, hearts. hibs, and rangers ARE in the league

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joema
    Ye well the reality is celtic, hearts. hibs, and rangers ARE in the league
    which incidentally is something that livingston won't be next season

if celtic beat dunf. 8-1 and livi ate 6pts behind them, god knows how poor they are

26 Posts
    I play for a good saturday side, maybe healy could come join us for a bit of fitness etc and then if he proves himself that that level then maybe he could get a move back to a higher level??

now i know you are a joker.

you are actually recommending he play 'saturday' football with you rather than take a professional contract in scotland, because that would get him spotted quicker?

and what would he eat while he is kicking a ball around a park with you?

cop on, he at least will make a living at livi while he sorts his fitness out.

utter madness livehead some park team is a better option than the SPL.

which incidentally is something that livingston won't be next season

if celtic beat dunf. 8-1 and livi ate 6pts behind them, god knows how poor they are
    So that means that Arsenal should beat Sunderland 48-0 if they were able to beat Middlesboro 7.

i feel that if we are talking about him as an international player then the very least he wants to be looking at is championship. I'm sure there are many teams in that league who would take him on a non-contract basis, pay as you play and take it from there. He has more chance of being seen by either staunton or robson playing in england and thats the harsh reality.
    i'm sorry but you're talking ****e. if healy had the option to play in the championship, i'm sure he'd take it. as it stands he's probably going to livi because its the best/only offer he's got.

you keep talking about the guy's international career. well right now he's barely got any sort of career, and i reckon playing for ireland isn't his main concern. its playing football fullstop. so to suggest that he should turn down an offer from a professional side and hold out for an offer from somewhere *better* is delusional. he'll be lucky to pick up a few more bob over the next few years before its all over for him.

by the way, why did you bother with a trial with linfield when you could have held out for one with man u? shouldn't you have been "aiming higher"?

1,928 Posts
    you keep talking about the guy's international career. well right now he's barely got any sort of career, and i reckon playing for ireland isn't his main concern. its playing football fullstop.
    I agree with you there. Its a remarkable achievement both mentally and physically for Healy to be even training at a professional standard.

26 Posts
    alrite then, well, we will see just how far is career progresses if he goes up there. for god sake sunderland have given sadlier, someone who retired nearly 3 years ago, a chance to prove himself, there would def. be clubs who would let a former international footballer train with them

yes, livingstone. if there was a better offer, im sure he would take it. but there isnt. and arent sunderland in a worse position than livi?

but you are right, he would be better off playing pub football with you.

so you think colin healy actually has better offers on the table than the one from livingstone but for some bizarre reason he isn't taking them? or you think that rather than take a firm offer from livi, he should ask around at a few championship clubs and offer to train with them for nothing? either argument is complete crap.

livi is the best he's got, so he's taking it. good luck to him. i hope he survives a few more seasons and makes a few quid.

If colin is on trial with Livingston, then IMO this career would be best served coming to the Eircom League with either Cork, shels or Derry.

If he wants to get back on track then he should consider EL football. He is on trial over there too late in the season and even if he gets a contract, alot of chopping and changing could happen in summer and he'd be out in the cold again. Not only that, he'd only have started back playing when the season ends so it would take him ages to get going as next August is a long way off. He should play in the EL for the summer and assess how well he is doing then come august. His main concern is to get back playing and build from there and would be great seeing him in the EL.

Quote Originally Posted by garykelly
    If colin is on trial with Livingston, then IMO this career would be best served coming to the Eircom League with either Cork, shels or Derry.

If he wants to get back on track then he should consider EL football. He is on trial over there too late in the season and even if he gets a contract, alot of chopping and changing could happen in summer and he'd be out in the cold again. Not only that, he'd only have started back playing when the season ends so it would take him ages to get going as next August is a long way off. He should play in the EL for the summer and assess how well he is doing then come august. His main concern is to get back playing and build from there and would be great seeing him in the EL.
    Would love to see him myself in the Eircom League, do you think Cork or any of the others could afford to pay him a reasonable wage? I suppose the best thing to do would give him a basic wage plus a very good bonus if he plays. However it would be very risky for Eircom clubs to give him a six month contract and then for him to get injured again.

[QUOTE=garykellyIf colin is on trial with Livingston, then IMO this career would be best served coming to the Eircom League with either Cork, shels or Derry.

QUOTE]

excellent thought and would love to see it. if he went to shels i might even buy my first ever EL match ticket!
    Last edited by as_i_say; 24/02/2006 at 12:07 PM.
    I

Quote Originally Posted by bawn79
    do you think Cork or any of the others could afford to pay him a reasonable wage? I suppose the best thing to do would give him a basic wage plus a very good bonus if he plays. However it would be very risky for Eircom clubs to give him a six month contract and then for him to get injured again.
    good point, although i dont think it would be too much of a risk for a top EL club to take on a 6 month deal. Obviously his wages would be large but not near what he would have been on. His motivation should be to first get playing and put himself back in the shop window. I think your right, a basic wage deal + appearance with a probable agreement on not getting paid if he's injured for more than a set period of time. I think it would be good all round. He has as much chance,if not a better one, of getting his career back on track in the EL than a bottom SPL club than any of the top three/four in the EL could more than compete against.Also the top EL clubs can offer him European football. All hypothetical I know, but worth a mention i thought

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast