Page 10 of 39 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Hunt

161 Posts
    He was been Readings best player this year. Against United and Chelsea he was moving from left to right and back again throughout the games. I feel that if Stan plays him on the left he will be told to stay out there. Kilbane had an OK game on Saturday and I would leave him out on the left. Have Hunt play on the right instead of McGeady but give him license to roam around. Or just go with Kilbane at left back and let Hunt play wide left but as he plays for Reading. Free to change wings and run around like a madman in midfield and get in their faces.

1,928 Posts
    I don´t watch the epl games, Hunt was totally outshone by McGeady in the friendly.
    If the pitch is better nick I don´t mind which one of them starts as long as one subs the other.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Stan would be unwilling to start Hunt as he was very poor against Denmark. That's why probably why Kilbane started ahead of him on Saturday. He has to start though- if Stan had seen him play in the Premiership this season he wouldn't have left him on the bench.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Ye don't even have to play him.... Just stick him on the opposition post like a GAA umpire where he'll whisper sweet nothingsto Peter..

"Here Cech!... Taste my pain, b!tch!"
    Brilliant! He can be our 12th man so to speak! Come to think of it, with the amount of Irish fans that will be at the game, we'll have 13 players!
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Why not play him and play kilbane left full. He has been a consistent performer for Reading for 2 seasons now. And i think were forgetting that mcgeady cant even get a game for Celtic.

1,928 Posts
    McGeady? I think you are forgetting that he has just played against a Spartak Moscow team full of internationals and did just fine.
    Too good to be discarded just yet.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shero View Post
    Why not play him and play kilbane left full. He has been a consistent performer for Reading for 2 seasons now. And i think were forgetting that mcgeady cant even get a game for Celtic.
    I haven't seen him play left full for Wigan, but I saw him play there once for Everton and he wasn't great.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shero View Post
    Yes he can, & he does.

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    Forgive my lack of knowledge lads - but is Stephen Hunt a brother of Noel Hunt? Did I read that somewhere on this forum? Did I also read that Stephen and Staunton had a falling-out over Noel not being asked to go on the US trip??
    Yes, yes and Stephen did make comments in the meedya about Noel not being in the squad.
    Last edited by fergalr; 10/09/2007 at 10:44 PM.
    Together with all our hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    Forgive my lack of knowledge lads - but is Stephen Hunt a brother of Noel Hunt? Did I read that somewhere on this forum? Did I also read that Stephen and Staunton had a falling-out over Noel not being asked to go on the US trip??If this is the case and it is the reason that Stephen didn't get a run on Saturday then its an absolte disgrace. How often have we seen a managers pig-headedness cost a team? Alright if a player speaks out of turn by all means then censure him within the bounds of the club/country code but don't stop him playing because he had the balls to say someting that wasn't toeing the party line. Talk about cutting off your nose to spite your face!!Or did I dream all this- can someone confirm please?
    He is Noel's brother alright. Don't know about all the other stuff though.

130 Posts
    I think Kilbane had a good game on sat but he should start at left back on wed, hunt on the wing and reid partnering carsley in CM. Think thats the team we should've started with on sat anyways.

Considering Ireland is out, stan will probably stick with McGeady on the right. Although it wouldnt surprise me if he tries something daft like douglas in middle with Reid on the right

Brilliant! He can be our 12th man so to speak! Come to think of it, with the amount of Irish fans that will be at the game, we'll have 13 players!
    I reckon only half of what went to slovakia to be honest. a lot went home.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Have Hunt play on the right instead of McGeady but give him license to roam around.

We are not Barcelona and cannot afford the luxury of having a player to roam about. I'm all for playing him but this is one game where everyone will have to do their jobs and artistic license will have to wait until we play Andorra or San Marino sometime in the future.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

2,796 Posts
    Thread redundant. Team named and Hunt's not in it.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Getting a run in the 2nd half is the best he can hope for now. Hopefully the game isn't beyond us by then..............
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Although it wouldnt surprise me if he tries something daft like douglas in middle with Reid on the right
    Don't say that, you'd never know, Staunton could be lucking here

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    What if Stan were to drive a bus over the edge of a clift with the current team in it?

161 Posts

Hunt's comments on Mourinho

"You learn from what he has done as a manager and how he dealt with our situation. He always took the spotlight and pressure off his team. It would be good to have him as a manager covering the team."

The last manager to do that for us was Charlton. Take the pressure off the team.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 22/09/2007 at 12:04 PM.

Thumbs down Stephen Hunt Tackle

Just saw it this morning. One of the worst tackles I've seen in a long time. The lad, for all his ability, is nothing but a scumbag.

He could have ended that lads career yesterday.

71 Posts
    It's up there with Binya's tackle on Scott Brown alright. Why his leg was flying so high I don't know. I doubt there was malicious intent, just him being pure mental when he gets going. I was about to type he's going to hurt someone seriously some day, but well....

Page 10 of 39 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast