Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Hunt

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Pat Dolan says Hunt and Long "honest country lads" don't fit the image to make the international team.
    Thats an absolutely outrageous statement, completely nonsensical. I never knew it was the Republic Of Dublin National Team.

Dolan is a man not to be listened to.

Dolan was being sarcastic and critical of Stauntons selections
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Pat Dolan says Hunt and Long "honest country lads" don't fit the image to make the international team.
    I think Staunton would be happy to describe himself in the same bracket.

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    Dolan was being sarcastic and critical of Stauntons selections
    I think he geniunly believes being from the country has affected Hunt's international career. Why he mentioned Long I don't know.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 22/01/2007 at 11:38 PM.

Maybe if you are from Waterford play now and again for Man utd and are utter s*ite then you will get away with it.

I think he geniunly believes being from the country has affected Hunt's international career. Why he mentioned Long I don't know.
    Surely its the fact that he only broke into the Reading first team this year and not too long ago was playing in the English third tier for Brentford that has affected his international career??
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Yeah this sort of thilng about a Dublin bias is rubbish. Harte was in the team when he was rubbish so too O Shea. It never held back Roy Keane at all. Hunt only made his first Premiership appeartance this season against Chelsea so he can hardly be expecting a call up before then. He should be in the next squad though.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Isn't Waterford a city?
    He's from the county.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

131 Posts
    There are only two reasons why Dublin players dominate and have dominated Irish squads.

1. About 2 million people live in Dublin by far greater than any other county in the country.
    2. Football (soccer) is by far the most popular sport in many of the larger working class areas of the city whereby it's generally the third most popular sport outside the city.

All these bias assumptions are paranoia gone mad. I wish we had a Dublin bias then maybe O'Shea and Harte as previously mentioned would have never sullied the team in the first place. Also by extension Staunton mightn't have been selected as manager.

P.S. Hunt has never been in an Ireland squad because until very recently he was playing for Reading reserves and Brentford in League 1.
    Last edited by youngirish; 23/01/2007 at 2:27 PM.

A Dublin bias? Now that really is laughable.

Jonathan Douglas is the first player that I can remember coming from Monaghan and making the senior squad. This is either bias or simply reflective of how few good players have come out of Monaghan (I can't think of one other than Douglas).

Maybe there is a subtle bias at juvenile level, however, when an international scout will do the rounds of Home Farm and Cherry Orchard every weekend but will rarely venture down to see some teams playing in Wexford, for example.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Give me a hungry player any day of the week. In the past year we have seen no end of contented millionaires.
    Wasn't it great when the Irish used to have a passion and a hunger about us?
    We have been lacking someone like that on the pitch for sometime now, bar Given and Dunne.

Greedy Hunt?

Reading ace Stephen Hunt has called on the club to give him a new improved deal.

The Republic of Ireland international is seeking parity with the rest of his team-mates after an impressive first season in the Premier League last term.

Hunt was one of the biggest successes at the Madejski Stadium last term with a number of stellar performances.

The 26-year-old only signed a two-and-half-year deal six months ago, but he believes he deserves a new contract for his outstanding form last season.

"I spoke to Steve Coppell and he understands where I am coming from," Hunt told The Mirror.

"I'm not asking for anything silly - just to earn the same as my team-mates."

I never like to see this sort of talk from a player who has really just established himself on the premiership radar and I don't want to get him too far ahead of himself.

Whether he deserves the wage increase or not, it puts him under tons of pressure to perform next season which isn't good if he wants to stay in the Reading team, especially with Convey back on his tail.

Though I am surprised to hear this from a player who in certaijn parts of the media have said that he is a true genuine good lad!
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Could be the work of his agent, he is setting himself up for a fall though if he doesnt go as well next season. He might have been as well off holding off for a little while longer seen as he only signed the last contract 6 months ago.

Dead right
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

It was always going to happen at reading, they were all happy last season but as soon as transfer talk and praise are heaped on them, money becomes the main point,
    We'll never die!

He's dead right and of course he deserves to be paid the same as his team mates when he's a first team regular. Everyone gets a raise when they improve their performance - doesn't matter what industry.

steven hunt deserves every penny hes looking for.
    he should be at least on the same money that doyle is on if not more,
    id rather have hunt in my team before doyle anyday.

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    steven hunt deserves every penny hes looking for.
    he should be at least on the same money that doyle is on if not more,
    id rather have hunt in my team before doyle anyday.
    Dont believe the Hype, Hunt is a good solid player ... Doyle is pure class.

Greedy?? thats a joke right, fair play to him

Page 7 of 39 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast