Page 33 of 39 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Hunt

3,501 Posts
    going to be out for a few weeks after a hip operation: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-3247199.html

634 Posts
    This sums up Stephen Hunt for me.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Wants to get back in the Irish team and first team football and is taking 36 slimming tablets a day in his quest!!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...327142932.html
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

229 Posts
    Newstalk had a decent interview with him there the other night........

http://podcasts.newstalk.ie/newstalk...mp3/2611fs.mp3
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

358 Posts
    Mick supposedly after Hunt - would bea good move for him!

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/...-Stephen-Hunt/

1,159 Posts
    Quite a predictable link with McCarthy, but could work very well for Hunt, particularly in his quest for regular and international football.

I really enjoyed that Newstalk interview. He's a real bubbly and determined character and spoke very honestly in saying that he doesn't like to see someone like James McClean playing well or grabbing headlines when he isn't which is refreshingly honest coming from a footballer. The joke among Ken Earley and the lads was that Hunt would walk himself into trouble with a few manipulatable quotes and you could sense that Hunt was aware of this reality, but really couldn't care less.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Yes I enjoyed that too, straight talking, got to respect that, a lot of time when you hear other players talk
    you hear what they are saying but you know they probably do not mean it, so you may as well say what is
    on your mind and get some respect for that. I mean I don't think James McClean would be offended at what he
    said, he would know that anyway as it is pretty much the same for everyone, if you want to play it means some
    one else not playing.
    I think he made some good points about the team not losing when he did play, I think it was similar with Reading,
    the team played better when he played I seem to remember. I don't know if he would have made a difference in
    the Euro's but he could hardly have made things worse!! He is the kind of player who can make and impact on the
    game, raise expectations, it give you a lift when he is brought on, where as with some other players I don't get
    that feeling, you just kind of think it's a waste of a substitution. With Hunt it's more the exception he does not make an
    impact, with other players it's the norm, if nothing else he will bring a bit of madness to the game!!!

130 Posts
    Hard to see how he cant get back in the Wolves team now that he is fit. They are on a shocking run right now

http://www.soccerway.com/teams/engla...-wanderers-fc/

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Well sure it would be easier if they are on a shocking run?
    However they are 0-4 up so the run is ended,a brace for doyle. (not for his teeth)

61 Posts
    Guess Stephen might get a second life at Wolves now with Solbakken gone. Who appoints these guys FFS! You just knew when the likes of Solbakken, Berg etc... were appointed to their respective clubs that it wasn't gonna work!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Grafter View Post
    You just knew when the likes of Solbakken, Berg etc... were appointed to their respective clubs that it wasn't gonna work!
    Spot on ! Its funny to see clubs pay guys, quite probably more than most of us on here will make in a year to source and appoint managers who are at a glance obviously wrong, and have no business there. And I wonder where Sean O'Driscoll will have to go do rebuild after having done a very good job at Forest I thought.

Why was Solbakken obviously wrong?

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Why was Solbakken obviously wrong?
    I remember seeing an interview with him just after he was appointed and thinking 'oh dear'. And here Wolves are. If they would only listen to me CD, If only ......

Fair enough, but his CV is impressive and I'd say suited to the task of a club like Wolves who should be dominating that division.

130 Posts
    Another of Traps exiles........

Judging by reports he has been playing very well for Wolves in recent games. Hopefully he is overcoming injury and form issues of last couple of years. Many of us would have thought he wouldve been the immediate replacement for Duff on the wing when he retired. Turns 32 this year and probably still has a couple of years to offer Ireland........albeit he always performed better in a sub role.

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Many of us would have thought he wouldve been the immediate replacement for Duff on the wing when he retired. Turns 32 this year and probably still has a couple of years to offer Ireland........albeit he always performed better in a sub role.
    I think he's a bit of a love / hate player. His set piece delivery and work rate is excellent, but technically he's very limited. I'm much happier to see players like McClean and Brady being given a chance on the wings in the absence of Duff — they're both as good as Hunt, if not better, and have time on their side.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Another of Traps exiles........

Judging by reports he has been playing very well for Wolves in recent games. Hopefully he is overcoming injury and form issues of last couple of years. Many of us would have thought he wouldve been the immediate replacement for Duff on the wing when he retired. Turns 32 this year and probably still has a couple of years to offer Ireland........albeit he always performed better in a sub role.
    hardly, he's been injured for most of the season, that's only his third start

610 Posts
    He scored yesterday and Doyle won a penalty
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

49 Posts
    heard jamie o'hara on talksport this morning praising "hunty". saying he was the main reason for the revival in recent weeks. couldnt stop praising him. fair play.

1,928 Posts
    And 'Hunty' isn't too put out with getting a bums rush text from Trap. He has a maturity beyond what you might reasonably expect.
    It's good to see him back playing.

Page 33 of 39 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast