We'll see how quick he is to speak his mind when Trap/Venables doesn't automatically pick him.
1st of all McGeady was not that outstanding the other night he made a few good runs using his pace and not much end product.
Then you can add in his performances in Slovakia and Czaech Republic, our 2 most vital matches of Stan's reign, they were absolutely shocking. And who's place did he take in them games? the man who is not afraid to speak how he feels, the truth, no bull****, no mollycuddling a **** that has ruined our U21s and has taken the life of a tortoise to appoint a manager due to his fiddling around with coaching courses and having an agenda to manage the team against Brazil.
Hunt has a right to speak his mind, especially when he has looked pretty good in the games he's played for Ireland, and gives his backside for the cause. Look at what he did in Prague before the sending off.
He deserved his place the other night and I agree with him speaking out about it.
By the way, can't wait to see McGEady lighting up the next world cup, with him being the best winger in the world and all![]()
San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.
We'll see how quick he is to speak his mind when Trap/Venables doesn't automatically pick him.
I think mcgeadys not a patch on hunt, and the list of awards mean **** all, stokes proved the spl is a joke, mcgeady would struggle to get into most epl teams. He certainly wouldnt displace hunt at reading. And i thought hunts form would have guaranteed him a start. Its doyle that should have been worrying. Back to form and clinton morrisson, form obviously means nothing to don givens.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Yep, I noticed that too. He obviously felt hard done by not starting which is good as it shows hunger. He wasn't having a go at McGeady though as he spoke about not playing players "in form" and I think he meant for the Brazil game anyway Duff getting in ahead of him.
My God, the slightest criticism of McGeady and the Celtic mob are in quicklyEirebhoy, quoting Dunphy doesn't help your case!!
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Hunt was fairly dreadful in last game against Cyprus, but is playing well for Reading this season.
Jury still out on McGeady. Playing ok in a very mediocre league (remember - the one where Anthony Stokes was leading scorer ?) but had a reasonable game on Wednesday.
Good to see players looking to get their place. Fair play also to Hunt for having a go against Don ("I should really be the gaffer even though I'm a lousy U21 manager") Givens
some people really dont have a clue, and it makes me think and wonder if thats what managers think no wonder some of them are so poor.
Duff: Is the best winger we have, no matter what he does for club ( he might not be the same player we had ), but if you watch him for Ireland he always stands out, dont be looking at duff thinking everytime he gets the ball he has to do magic, thats looking back at the really 2 good seasons he had, world cup and the season after that. He is still our best winger at the moment. we missed him dearly in the last qualifying campaign, cos we created very little once he wasn't there - even less than normal, which admittedly isn't much anyhow!
Hunt: keep your mouth shut and get on with the game, Kingdom, you called it rightly in your assessment of the current crop, I think it has something to do with the change in Irish society in general as well. I like watching Hunt, but he is limited and he should know this and be thankful for where his determination and self-belief have got him, but keep shtump. Decent impact sub thats about it.
McEddy ( can ye lads start spelling his name right btw ) - as brady calls him -Im with Bill on this one, he hasn't done a great deal for ireland yet, look what stokes was doing up in scotland, awards in scotland mean nothing, so dont start throwing used toilet paper as though its valuable. One good night does not a sweet prince make...i.e. one game does not mean anything...
BigCas: are you seriouslly not a Celtic fan, or do you just have a massive boner for Mcgeady?!
I read this thread and I would say everyone has given one good part of a post, and then the next one is completely irrational and illogical. One or two have been somewhat sensible on this, mainly you Kingdom and Bill!!
Last edited by paul_oshea; 08/02/2008 at 5:38 PM.
Well McGeady is still young and he has had some credible perfomances in the Champions League against some very strong teams. He hasn't been great fro us but other than Prague I can name players who have been a lot worse. He's young and he has plenty of time on his side. I do think a move away from Scotland would help him as would a manager who gives him a specific task.
All in all, he's a decent player who I really think will get better.
Hunt is a good impact sub and I am glad we have him. I'm guessing his comments had more to do with his dislike of Givens than anything else.
There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.
One question - when was the last time Duff put in a truly excellent performance in a competitive game for Ireland?
2002?
I believe he was our motm on Wednesday so of course I'm gonna reply to those saying he wasn't great (I hope people realise by now that I stick up for Duff just as much when he gets criticised). We must have much, much, much higher standards than Celtic fans. And believe me, Celtic fans have high standards. In fact, the only players in the current squad regarded as good enough by most are Boruc, Brown, McGeady, Naka and McDonald (as well as Hinkel who has hardly played yet).
As for Stokes. Play him the way Falkirk played him and he'll get you goals. I don't even think he's played 1 game in that role for Sunderland.
"I do think a move away from Scotland would help him as would a manager who gives him a specific task."
I couldn't ask for a better coach than Strachan to get the best out of him. If they're still working together for the next few years he's going to turn into an excellent attacker imo. There's many a manager that would have told him to play as a winger, beat his man and get crosses in. Strachan has him using his brain more. Basically doing what Mourinho tried to do with Duff but is having a lot more success.
I'm over the moon that he played well on Wednesday as there's no excuses now with regards his confidence. He has done it in front of 70,000 Irish, the Irish players and against a quality team. That'll really kick him on now and I'd be surprised if he's not a regular in the team now for years.
Last edited by eirebhoy; 08/02/2008 at 7:14 PM.
When has any one of our wingers put in a truly excellent performance since then? Off the top of my head he played well at the March home games last year, and also against the Faroes at home in the World Cup Qualifiers. If he can stay fit for the whole campaign, I'd fully expect him to put in at least one exceptional performance in the next qualifiers.
My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.
Good work Paul, thanks for giving us all the heads up, it saves me having to read all the other "illogical" posts,you are some tickets I will say that. If I could have also your take on climate change and the US Elections it will save me buying the papers. Thanks in advance
He was pretty damn good against the Czechs at Lansdowne Rd.
Also, in that game he set up Kilbanes goal and in the last minute put it on a plate for Keane who steered his header wide at the back post.
Now when Hunt starts making that kind of contribution for Ireland his supporters over Duff can get back to me and we'll discuss if he merits a place over Duff
Duff has been by far and away our best play along with Given since the '02 world cup imo. Pity we hadn't got motm polls going on this forum before now. Too many people have very bad memories. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Duff was our best player in close to 50% of the matches he has started since the world cup.
Hunt is a Kunt....he started thelling Steven Ireland to "be a man" in the paper a few months back. what a t osspot
hunt has made a great career for himself through sheer hard work and guts even though his talent is limited and for that i commend him. people say he is modest and down to earth but he is an arrogant fella and is extremely mouthy. you cant even try to put him in mcgeadys class he wouldnt hold a candle to him. people have been listening to the likes of brady sayin he is average when he knew nothing about him. after the benfica game it was like who is this fella those pundits sa things sometimes for the sake of controversy after all ronaldo is just hype. wouldnt mind a hype player like that in the green jersey! mcgeady is a quality player who like all pros has had a few bad games but no one tell me kick and run hunt is any where near his quality.
The new manager should impose a gag order on his players as first order of business.
Players should be seen and not heard. Players coming out and saying that the delay ion appointing a new manager is x,y,z is riduculous. Hunt's remarks on Givens were way out of line. I think it's all down to the money and the 7x24 media coverage of football in the UK, these guys are divorced from reality on their inflated salaries and egos.
If talk & bitching could win games our players would be world class, right up there with the Dutch. Shut up and play already...![]()