Page 12 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Hunt

3,500 Posts
    Hunt came into the Man City changing room afterwards to apologise as well

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    There was no venom in it, he's not that kind of player.
    Are you mad?

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Wonder if he asked Stephen Ireland about his hair when he was there?!
    Pointless comment there. Build a bridge!

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Hunt came into the Man City changing room afterwards to apologise as well
    Stephen O'Halloran was telling me Hunt is is a unbelievably nice fella off field, hes not a scumbag lads, just a hot headed bad tackler, paul scholes is the same.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

He's a very committed player that has worked very hard on his game but there is no doubt that he is prone to doing things like this. When he came on as a sub against Wales I said to my mate that he'd probably be sent off after 10 minutes for a two footed lunge on the ref.

Jaysus it was rough enough alright. Have we a team full of "not right in the head dept" fellas or what? Between Ste Ireland running around in his superman knickers and the hatchet that we've just seen there i think it's like something out of that film One flew over the cuckoos nest. Off topic i know but what a strike by Ireland for City's winner.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Impact sub for us at times of crisis.Full Stop.
    DOUBLE IMPACT

He's not a malicious player....he's just a nutjob

Dunphy/Giles/Brady on "Young Hunt"

Anyone else think they go way "over the top" about him...???
    He looks like a fella with no football but a lot of heart to me. Wouldnt start him barring a real crisis
    Think they are spot on about McShane tho

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    He the only Irish player, apart from Richard Dunn, who I can recall puttiing in a tackle this season. And probably the only one I can recall winning a ball back in the last 10 years!!

What a hat he was wearing this evening on Match of the Day. Maybe Stephen Ireland should get one
    In Trap we trust

funniest thing i've seen in a long time what the hell had he on his head. you'd know he was irish anyway

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    What a hat he was wearing this evening on Match of the Day. Maybe Stephen Ireland should get one
    I think he was going for the elusive Quiet Man/P Diddy look.

God love him but he's some character.

reder
    If Hunt leaves Reading and I hope he does, he has to chose Everton if he looks at it from a professional viewpoint. If he choses Sunderland he needs his head examined.

However, he is a red so he might chose to avoid the BS.

Everton - European football, doing very nicely in the PL (back in europe next season), possible carling cup final at wembley.

Sunderland - relegation battle and possible championship football next season.

Reading - football in the lower half of the PL with the danger of getting dragged into the relegation battle.

Agree. Realistically the best Sunderland can hope for is a 17th place this season and a move there would definitely be a step down the food chain regardless of the Roy Keane influence.
    Hunt is going to become a legend for Ireland in the next few years and if some of the other members of the current squad showed half an ounce of his commitment maybe we wouldn't be down with the likes of Slovakia, Cyprus and Wales.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    If Hunt leaves Reading and I hope he does, he has to chose Everton if he looks at it from a professional viewpoint. If he choses Sunderland he needs his head examined.

However, he is a red so he might chose to avoid the BS.

Everton - European football, doing very nicely in the PL (back in europe next season), possible carling cup final at wembley.

Sunderland - relegation battle and possible championship football next season.

Reading - football in the lower half of the PL with the danger of getting dragged into the relegation battle.
    Is everton a realistic opportunity???

Everton aside... He should choose Sunderland... Sunderland are by no mean relegated. They have more ambition and potential than Reading. And most importantly for the sake of his future. He's relatively late bloomer and hasn't got the financial security of his peers. Sunderland can offer him more money plus a signing on fee.... I'm all for medals & Standards before cash, but there has to be a happy medium for players at his level. He'd be crazy not to punt for the move out of some misplaced loyalty to Reading. If a club out grows a player they've no problems shifting him along.. Same applies when a player outgrows a club. Look at Kinsella when Charlton go relegated. Stayed out of loyalty to the club when Spurs and Villa wanted him at his peak. When Kinsella came back from injury (never fully recovered if you ask me) Charlton got rid of him. Quite rightly too, but no more right than Kinsella would have been had he went to spurs. Point is loyalty is seldon reciprocated at that level of football.. Sure some of the big clubs have the ability to absorb the SOlksjars of this world, but at the level we're talking about it doesn't happen.

Hunt should go, with the blessing of reading gratefull for 4.5m clear profit and years of effort.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

75 Posts
    how much is hunt on at the moment? im sure he'll be on at least 15k per week, so how can his 'financial security' come into it. at that money he is making 780k per year (before tax admittedly), so for 3 yrs at that money he makes 2.34 million. hardly poverty now is it? I don't think any one playing for an established PL team (which reading are in my opinion) needs to worry about their back pocket
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

2,796 Posts
    I think I heard 30k a week was what Reading have just offered him.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    how much is hunt on at the moment? im sure he'll be on at least 15k per week, so how can his 'financial security' come into it. at that money he is making 780k per year (before tax admittedly), so for 3 yrs at that money he makes 2.34 million. hardly poverty now is it? I don't think any one playing for an established PL team (which reading are in my opinion) needs to worry about their back pocket
    Jeese... No one's saying he's gonna starve... Comparitively for a 26 year performing like he is... He is way behind his peers on what he has earned to this point and what he's currently earning. He has about 5 years earning power left. He shoudn't forsake a 300k signing on fee and double his wages out of some misplaced loyalty to Reading...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

he should stay at Reading if Sunderland are the only team interested. He would be mad to be sucked into the rotation vortex that is Sunderland. I don't think Reading are going to be dragged into the relegation scrap but Sunderland are definitely going to be there or thereabouts come the end of the season.
    Now if Everton were looking at him on the other hand I think he should jump at it and I think he would be a great signing for them, providing excellent left-wing crosses for the likes of Johnson/Yakubu/Cahill to thrive on. Would be a great move for all parties imho....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

75 Posts
    suppose so, let him earn more money and get involved in a scrappy relegation battle, that'll improve his career no end!! If he stays at Reading til the end of the season and keeps the form up, there will be plenty mid-table teams willing to take him on board.
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Page 12 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast