Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast

Thread: Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread

I've ordered some Slovakian/Czech money to bring with me. In theory, there is no reason why your card shouldnt work out there but to be on the safe side, i'm going to take some with me. For San Marino in Feb i thought it would be fine to just bring myself along and get some cash out on my arrival in Bologna. It was just my luck that my card wouldnt work in the bloody machine (the chip on the card had become slightly damaged in my wallet). Fortunately i had taken some sterling with me just in case so i was able to get by. I'd have been seriously fecked otherwise as i was travelling alone.
    As i say, theres no reason why your card shouldnt work out there, but i dont think its a bad idea at all to get your money before travelling.
    thats really funny, cos it sounds like something that would happen me. I am still sure though the panic buttons set in when the card wasn't working

Can ye imagine going up to someone ( paddy) saying, is there any chance you could give me some money?

ATM's in Prague will be fine just try to use them the once do as every time you use them you get hit with a nice charge as i found out the hard way.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Will ATM cards work as normal in Slovakia and Prague or should we be getting money changed?
    Been to Prague many times and never had a problem using my AIB Banklink card there. I am sure Bratislava will be the same.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    I think I might have the second set - will check and post. Happy Bear if Daniel played
    No luck with second set
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebel11 View Post
    ATM's in Prague will be fine just try to use them the once do as every time you use them you get hit with a nice charge as i found out the hard way.
    Standard charge, I assume? About E3 per E100 withdrawn?

is there a meet up place organised for all the fans in bratislava??

Follow the link for location...Its called Hviezdoslavovo Square...

Quote Originally Posted by KoemansCC View Post
    Is this the place recommended by Mento
    AidoM

Yep...also recommended in YBIG
    Last edited by KoemansCC; 03/09/2007 at 8:48 PM.

Yep...also recommended in YBIG
    Mento = YBIG
    AidoM

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Mento = YBIG
    D'oh

I'm terrible with maps but the ground looks a fair distance away from the city centre.

The Department pf Foreign Affairs have published advice for fans travelling to this match on www.dfa.ie
    AidoM

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    I'm terrible with maps but the ground looks a fair distance away from the city centre.
    About 4km using the distance tool, so closest tram/bus will do it...

just checking the weather for bratislava and it seems to be taking a turn for the better on Friday and Saturday!! Might hits the highs of Stuttgart yet!

Its been ****ing rain all day here in Bratislav

Better bring your rain coats as its not due to stop till tomorrow.

Lovely sunny morning in bratislava! (well early afternoon - twas a good night last night) Should be a great day. Come on you boys in Green!!

Lovely day today on the Danube, see yiz in the old square for the pregame session
    <insert witty remark>

jst back, some weekends craic

disapointing result though

duff and houghton were on the plane back from brat to stanstead

Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast