Page 12 of 29 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread

how are people making their way out to Trnava for the game .. I see they have regular trains out but prob have to wait till first train back following morning think its around 5 to get back !!! Trnava better be ready for a few thousand irish spending a night drinking there till first train !!! the train out be great crack the train to game in stuttgart was great crack germans on the train thought we were all mental with the signing on the trian .. cant wait.

maybe kick off time will be early on the saturday zinedine and we will be able to get back to bratislava for the saturday night session ?
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Flights to Bratislava are 179 euros one way.

******. Alternative transport maybe.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Flights to Bratislava are 179 euros one way.

******. Alternative transport maybe.
    go to expedia, fly into vienna on the friday and back from prague on the following thursday. only £150 (so €225) all in, taxes and all. vienna is only about 15 miles from bratislava.

Or you could try interrailing if you want to combine the whole thing into a holiday.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

last train out of dodge is at 22.40 , hopefully the game kicks off good and early.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    last train out of dodge is at 22.40 , hopefully the game kicks off good and early.
    Agreed!!......Does anyone know whether Slovakia play a "regular" time ( i.e. afternoon/evening ) for Saturday International matches?

3,488 Posts
    They kicked off against Slovakia at 8:15 local time on Saturday 2 September last. Same time against the Czechs the following Wednesday. 8:45 kick off against Germany on Wednesday 11 October. 8:15 means a bit of a rush for that last train, but should make it. 8:45 and you won't get there.

Thanks for the info Stu......assuming it's looking likely to be 8.15pm, can we nominate your goodself to leave the stadium five minutes before the end, in order that you can buy the beers and hold the train doors open for the rest of us?

3,488 Posts
    Nuts to that - I'm renting a car.

Now to find a sober driver...

ahh foock that i know im goin to miss that,,,joe maxi!! Maybe, just maybe they have extra trains on match nights, it would make sense...or maybe Green Tribe, and babysis will organise a bus :-)
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Ah feck it. Stay in Trnava on the lash until 5 or 6 in the morning. I'm sure theres a bar of some sort there and as long as there are numbers, we won't get hassled.

I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

thats true, not a bad plan really ...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    ahh foock that i know im goin to miss that,,,joe maxi!! Maybe, just maybe they have extra trains on match nights, it would make sense...or maybe Green Tribe, and babysis will organise a bus :-)
    We'd be tempted

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    We'd be tempted
    No we are not

Trnava is only up the road from Bratislava, horrible town with a team that is followed by knackers! be warned these guys like to fight, and fight they will.

Talk is that this game will be played in the Tehelné Pole Stadium, Bratislava, home ground of Slovan Bratislava which has a capacity of 30000, where as the Malatinsky Stadium in Trnava only has a capacity of 18500.

I think Slovakia are playing France in a friendly in Bratislava on 22 August.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Talk is that this game will be played in the Tehelné Pole Stadium, Bratislava, home ground of Slovan Bratislava which has a capacity of 30000, where as the Malatinsky Stadium in Trnava only has a capacity of 18500.

Where did you hear the game was being played in Bratislava? Good news if it is the case .
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy View Post
    Where did you hear the game was being played in Bratislava? Good news if it is the case .
    This would indeed be "good news" on two fronts......firstly a significant increase in the number of tickets likely to be available ....and secondly, not having to worry about missing the last train from Trnva after the match!!

sent SLovakian FA an e-mail about getting tickets and they told me that tickets for internationals are dealt with through this website : so ill keep an eye on it anyway!!

www.marstravel.sk
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post

Really hope this is the case

Page 12 of 29 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast