Page 10 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: San Marino Away (7th February 2007) - Match Thread

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    I spent a few weeks travelling around Bologna, Ancona, Pesarò and Urbino in 2003. In terms of travelling, if you stay in Rimini you will be fine, as its about a 20 min cab ride or 30 mins on the bus to San Marino (town center). One thing is that the town itself and nearby areas are very hilly.

Train from Bologna to Rimini is about an hour or so (Italian trains are pretty cheap (unless you get the express ones but that wont be a factor here) and very good in terms of being on time). Rimini is a lot like Blackpool in terms of nightlife, Bologna is q.good too, like you would expect of most towns of that size. If youre under 26 (like me ) you can get discounts on lost of things as the area is very studenty. Think you can also get a discount on trains.

Bologna can be an expensive place to stay in, whereas Rimini is cheap esp out of season. If youre there for a couple of days its def. worth checking out the town of Urbino, in the hills above Rimini and Pesarò, it's the nicest place in Italy.

I speak Italian (very badly) so if you have anymore questions I'll try and answer them.
    Sounding good! Grazie!
    These pages might help out a few!

http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel...de-Rimini.html
    http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel...e-Bologna.html
    http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel...an_Marino.html

It will be sound. A few people all posting sensible reliable info, and the trip is sorted. Should have the name of the hotel shortly. then its just a match ticket to find

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis View Post
    then its just a match ticket to find
    What's the story with tickets for this? When are they out and do ya apply through the FAI or what?

As you can see Im far too organised and knowledgable to work for the FAI

I dont know to be honest. Im sure as with everything ticket news will filter out. .

Here's a link which shows you in detail where San Marino, Rimini and Bologna are situated. Are there any flights direct to Rimini from Dublin or UK.

http://www.big-italy-map.co.uk/map-o...omagna-map.htm
    There'll be snow on that one.

Quote Originally Posted by Reddladd View Post
    Here's a link which shows you in detail where San Marino, Rimini and Bologna are situated. Are there any flights direct to Rimini from Dublin or UK.

http://www.big-italy-map.co.uk/map-o...omagna-map.htm
    no direct flights from dublin but uk fly to rimini thru easyjet but the prices are not out yet..At moment best bet is to go dub-lon stn-bologna forli with ryanair..can come back friday direct to dublin as that route starts that day.prices very cheap at moment till monday night.

This is the lastest i have found out regarding travel.

There are trains every 30mins from Bologna to Rimini and this journey takes about 1 hour.

According to some sites There are no trains in San Marino - Need to check as some say you can get a train so far then a cable car will take you the rest of the way

Depending on the time of year etc there are up to 9 buses a day from Rimini to San marino

This journey is about 23Km and takes on the bus about 45mins-1 hour.

One site seemed to be quoting a round trip as costing E6.
    However it would seem the last bus out of San Man is at 18.30/19.00
    But we can deal with that later.

It would seem a taxi from san man to Rimini is about E40 - So maybe not the end of the world.

For those thinking of driving, there are no cars allowed inside the walled part of the city - so its either find a parking space somewhere else or use one of the expensive car parks.

Im going to try contact the san man tourist board/consulate and the tourist information in Rimini - they might be able to rpovide info regards to special buses they could lay on etc.

im still going to stay in rimini - waiting for sylvo to let me know the name of his and Lopez's hotel so i can see how much it costs. If we dont stay in that one it will be an affordable one nearby.

Will post all the websites I looked at - please dont take my word for this (although I am telling it exactly as i read it)
    Babysis

Just think about making flights home when you are getting places to stay. Remember its about 40 minutes from Bologna to Forli Airport and the further from Bologna you go (i.e Rimini) the earlier we'll have to get up on the Thursday morning. The flight leaves @ 10.45 with check-in closing @ 10.00. It looks like a 2 - 2 1/2 hour trip from Rimini to Airport. But I'll leave it in the more than capable hands of the Foot.ie 747 travel agent

Beware of strongly worded letter if it goes pear shaped
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by murtybyrne View Post
    Cheers Aido, reckon i'll be looking into headin the Bologna way seems to make sense and then san marino aint to far if i need we need to make our way there! any1 else stayin in the Grand Hotel ?? in San Marino www.grandhotel.sm
    Murtybtrne

There are 5 of us booked into the Hotel Regina in Bologna. Arrive on the 6th. Hopefully we can tie up with the rest to get some transport into and out of SAN MARINO.

3,491 Posts
    Another option is Stansted to Ancona, flights daily. Ancona seems a bit closer to San Marino than Bologna - map.

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Babysis

Just think about making flights home when you are getting places to stay. Remember its about 40 minutes from Bologna to Forli Airport and the further from Bologna you go (i.e Rimini) the earlier we'll have to get up on the Thursday morning. The flight leaves @ 10.45 with check-in closing @ 10.00. It looks like a 2 - 2 1/2 hour trip from Rimini to Airport. But I'll leave it in the more than capable hands of the Foot.ie 747 travel agent

Beware of strongly worded letter if it goes pear shaped
    ye of little faith. Just to put your mind at ease i have emailed 2 bus companies that run shuttle buses out of Forli ariport, as well as the italian rail company office based in the UK. Its all good. yep it will be an early start, but everyone will reach their final destination early enough to be able to sleep it off.

put the strongly worded letter on hold - think you need to post your copy to let everyone else in on the joke

Quote Originally Posted by casso36 View Post
    Colie,
    Me and mate on same flight from stanstead - Bologna Forli, hows yous getting into city centre? let us know and we may share expenses with you.
    Don't know how we're gonna do it yet but seriously considering renting a car after the hectic 12 hour travelling marathon that was coming back from Stuttgart.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

like i said earlier, you can get a direct flight with ryanair to pisa from dublin(about 2.5 hours away by train)/ still undecided as to where to stay
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Talking

ye of little faith. Just to put your mind at ease i have emailed 2 bus companies that run shuttle buses out of Forli ariport, as well as the italian rail company office based in the UK. Its all good. yep it will be an early start, but everyone will reach their final destination early enough to be able to sleep it off.

put the strongly worded letter on hold - think you need to post your copy to let everyone else in on the joke
    yeah, we can't be up partying til 07:00 after beating san man 13-0 cos we need to be up bright and early for that flight. I'm not one to miss flights u know

You can write a strongly worded letter to the FAI rce! if you like. I am hoping they will send me an applic for tickets, so i will get some that way and any spares i will offer here to the list!

3,491 Posts
    Italian league fixtures the weekend after the game, for those still around then -

Serie A
    Round 23
    [Feb 11 (Sunday)]
    Atalanta - Lazio
    Cagliari - Siena
    Chievo - Inter
    Fiorentina - Udinese
    Messina - Catania
    Milan - Livorno
    Palermo - Empoli
    Roma - Parma
    Sampdoria - Ascoli
    Torino - Reggina

Serie B (Saturday)
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Modena Albinoleffe
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Brescia Bari
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Spezia Bologna
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Crotone Cesena
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Arezzo Frosinone
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Rimini Genoa
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Vicenza Juventus
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Pescara Mantova
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Napoli Piacenza
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Triestina Treviso
    Feb 10, 2007 Serie B Lecce Verona

The Sammarinese league will also be up and running by then.

Quote Originally Posted by murtybyrne View Post
    any1 else stayin in the Grand Hotel ?? in San Marino www.grandhotel.sm
    3 of us staying there on the Tuesday and Wednesday nights.

Below is an email I received from one of the tourist offices I contacted.

Dear Louise,
    Thanks for your mail.

Referring to your requests I've sent you here attached the winter-timetable
    for the bus from Rimini to San Marino and return.

What about the Flybus from Forlì trainstazione (because you have to take the
    train Rimini-Forlì), at the moment we haven't the winter-timetable but I'll
    give you the website where you can have a look later in the next season:
    www.atronline.it.

The train-trip, Rimini - Forlì, takes about 30 minutes. For exact timetable
    you have to ask in our Information-office during your stay here in February
    because the timtable we have at the moment will change in December 2006.

At last - have a look at our web-site www.riminiturismo.it where you'll find
    all information about Rimini as itineraries, events and much more.

I'll remain at your disposal for any other information you may need.
    This office will close on Saturday 16th of September so if you'll write again
    please address your mail to infostazione@comune.rimini.it or
    infomarinacentro@comune.rimini.it

Best regards
    Monika Larsson-Ricci
    Ufficio IAT Rimini-Miramare

Below is an email I received from one of the tourist offices I contacted.
    Looks like there is just a handful of us posh feckers staying in Rimini by the sea then...

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Looks like there is just a handful of us posh feckers staying in Rimini by the sea then...
    but dahhling its the only place to stay in Rimini - everyone knows that

So it is so it is!

Page 10 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast