Alrite Lads
Anybody made travel arrangements for this trip yet??
Or anybody have any ideas regarding where the game will be played
Thinkin of the trip from Dublin - Stansted then on to Bologna(Forli) with Ryanair as an option ???
Then make my way to san marino by train and get a hotel there??
Any help would be much appriecated!
Murty
Prices on Ryanair are as cheap as you could get them (it's the taxes are the b*****d)
OK as far as getting a hotel in San Marinobut Bologna would be a good bet for a bed as it could be the venue or if it's played in San Marino its not too far. Bologna IMO is better suited for getting the return flight with Ryanair.
Read the thread the options are there. Post your route
AidoM
Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa
Nah, I'm not into that kind of stuff, regardless of GT's interests![]()
Here, just checked Ryanair there, they don't have any available flights going out the week of the game but they have a flight coming back on the Friday evening(9th) for 67.94euro(incl. taxes). That's good value aint it?
i have hotel booked in forli but if a bus is organised from bologna, would stay there..can cancel hotel up to 24hrs before arrival..sent san marino fa e-mail to see could they tell me where game was(no harm in trying)..if its in san marino it will be long bus journey..
Was doing a bit of looking yesterday. Weould seem its a 50min bus from San marino to Rimini. think thats where Im going to look at a hotel. Rimini and bologna are next door, so it shouldnt be too much of a problem getting back for the flight on the Thurs morning. Also there are a good few going that way, so if i can get us into the same hotel there will be good craic and everyone will be sorted for a room/room mate.
Rimini looks the safe option, only one way into san marino,but sure you can book hotel in Bologna and Rimini and always cancel one when you know where game is..You on 10.45am flight thurs back to stansted..thats the one were on..whatever you book,we will do same and at least there will be a few in hotel![]()
This is the lastest i have found out regarding travel.
There are trains every 30mins from Bologna to Rimini and this journey takes about 1 hour.
According to some sites There are no trains in San Marino - Need to check as some say you can get a train so far then a cable car will take you the rest of the way
Depending on the time of year etc there are up to 9 buses a day from Rimini to San marino
This journey is about 23Km and takes on the bus about 45mins-1 hour.
One site seemed to be quoting a round trip as costing E6.
However it would seem the last bus out of San Man is at 18.30/19.00![]()
But we can deal with that later.
It would seem a taxi from san man to Rimini is about E40 - So maybe not the end of the world.
For those thinking of driving, there are no cars allowed inside the walled part of the city - so its either find a parking space somewhere else or use one of the expensive car parks.
Im going to try contact the san man tourist board/consulate and the tourist information in Rimini - they might be able to rpovide info regards to special buses they could lay on etc.
im still going to stay in rimini - waiting for sylvo to let me know the name of his and Lopez's hotel so i can see how much it costs. If we dont stay in that one it will be an affordable one nearby.
Will post all the websites I looked at - please dont take my word for this (although I am telling it exactly as i read it)
Last edited by Babysis; 09/09/2006 at 11:55 AM.
Cheers Aido, reckon i'll be looking into headin the Bologna way seems to make sense and then san marino aint to far if i need we need to make our way there! any1 else stayin in the Grand Hotel ?? in San Marino www.grandhotel.sm
No its defo no the easiest. but I fugure if I got info for the Faroe Islands trip and that went ok, then we should be sound. Ive emailed the San marino tourist office and the italin tourist office. also contacting the italian embassy. Also emailing STA travel (UK version of USIT sort of) see if they can point me in the direction of train/bus timetables and info on tickets.
Also contact italian bus/train service.
think thats it for now![]()
Ive just contacted the irish embassy in Italy - so who knows
I spent a few weeks travelling around Bologna, Ancona, Pesaṛ and Urbino in 2003. In terms of travelling, if you stay in Rimini you will be fine, as its about a 20 min cab ride or 30 mins on the bus to San Marino (town center). One thing is that the town itself and nearby areas are very hilly.
Train from Bologna to Rimini is about an hour or so (Italian trains are pretty cheap (unless you get the express ones but that wont be a factor here) and very good in terms of being on time). Rimini is a lot like Blackpool in terms of nightlife, Bologna is q.good too, like you would expect of most towns of that size. If youre under 26 (like me) you can get discounts on lost of things as the area is very studenty. Think you can also get a discount on trains.
Bologna can be an expensive place to stay in, whereas Rimini is cheap esp out of season. If youre there for a couple of days its def. worth checking out the town of Urbino, in the hills above Rimini and Pesaṛ, it's the nicest place in Italy.
I speak Italian (very badly) so if you have anymore questions I'll try and answer them.