Page 31 of 47 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast

Thread: Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

Smile Duffman..?

whos the 'dedicated driver' for that journey????????????????????

pegan

Quote Originally Posted by Duffman
    Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train
    Hired a car from there for paris'04. if it's hertz, you'll either want to be at the front of the queue or have your driving licence details etc. given to them on line beforehand, to lessen the waiting time. So, come out of arrivals, don't stop at the hertz stand inside the building, turn right coming out the door and run like bejaysus across the road, its right there!
    On an actually more useful note, if you don't have a full tank when you get back, you get charged preium fuel rates. Thing is, there isn't a petrol station to be seen within miles of Charleroi, so make sure you fill at a petrol station on the motorway, even if its 20 miles away. Now, has anyone hired a car from Karlsruhe-baden before??

Thumbs up Camping stuttgart

Hey lads forget about paying through the nose for a hotel. Check this page out and get your camping boots on http://www.campingplatz-stuttgart.de...sch/Index.html

It´s across the road from the stadium

5 of us are staying
    Pull my finger!!!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_barry80
    Hey lads forget about paying through the nose for a hotel. Check this page out and get your camping boots on http://www.campingplatz-stuttgart.de...sch/Index.html

It´s across the road from the stadium

5 of us are staying
    Probably the one we stayed in during Euro88. Used to be called Bad Caanstat - we christened it Bad campsite. Short walk from the stadium. Actually it wasn't too bad. Although the campsites in Hannover and Cologne were both better.

Haven't camped since Italia90 so those dyas are well gone now.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by casso36
    Any joy?? shaker!!!
    Yep I'm booked!!! Thanks again, I'll buy you a pint for finding it if I see you!

Quote Originally Posted by NOLANone
    What's the craic lads and ladettes!
    15 of us heading to Stuttgart for the big match. Around 11.00AM on the Thursday we're flying Dublin to Amsterdam then catching a connecting flight on to Stuttgart. We are thinking of staying in the Clarion Hotel Dublin Airport on the Wednesday night, hoping to meet the squad before they head off and to give ourselves the chance to relax instead of worrying about catching the early Aircoach from Belfast to Dublin on the Thurs morning. Anyone have similar plans and fancy meeting up on the Wednesday evening? I know that in the past the players have stayed at the Clarion before away matches, but is this likely to continue under Staunton? Would the majority of you recommend the Clarion or The Great Southern?

Thanks,
    Nolan
    Under Kerr the team stayed in the Portmarnock Hotel, not sure if Staunton changed this or not, definitely would recommend the Clarion over the Great Southern any day, use both for business and the GS service is non existent, new Managemnet in Clairion and they are sprucing it up a lot.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982
    Yep I'm booked!!! Thanks again, I'll buy you a pint for finding it if I see you!
    No probs!!! Glad you were sorted!!!

Tickets long since gone sligonproud, once they copped on that was it. Should be plenty of tickets about though out there, be like the french game, everyone will have spares.

try these for rooms also, cheap enough for whats left, saturdays filling up fast though

http://www.laterooms.com/r24_hotels-in-germany.aspx
    http://www.expedia.co.uk/default.aspx
    http://www.hotels.co.uk/index.jsp?temp1=uksearch

for anyone interested theres still flights from manchester to frankfurt (not Hahn in booneyville the proper one) for Stg£84 inc taxes with BA / £89 with Lufthansa then an hour and half by train to stuttgart, thats my route anyway.
    http://ww3.teletextholidays.co.uk/We...x?area=flights

Quote Originally Posted by sligonproud
    f
    myself and a mate are flying out to amsterdam on 30th,with aerlingus for 3e
    I love it when people get caught up in the whole I got my flight for next to nothing lark.

I'm sure the bottom line was a lot more than 3 euro.

Thumbs up To sligonproud

check out www.germany-tourism.ie. page down to Stuttgart - I looked there yesterday and seemed to be loads of accommodation in stuttgart. Might be worth a try - come on the bit o' red!!

pegan

Quote Originally Posted by Rosco
    Tickets long since gone sligonproud, once they copped on that was it. Should be plenty of tickets about though out there, be like the french game, everyone will have spares.
    Maybe not.....................Smaller Stadium, Germans are looking for tickets after a good WC, (their friendly v Sweden in August sold out), supporters that normally get tickets from the FAI, are now posting looking for tickets wait til after the FAI allocation is released then will have clearer picture of availability...............Can see Basle 2003 all over again !!!

Those on the ball got sorted .................... flights / hotels booked once venue confirmed and thanks to Forever Dreamin and Jens for the eventim info.........................................Happy Days !!!
    CAPTAIN MORGANS GREENFORD Welcomes all Irish Football fans, live music every weekend

Thanks - Tickets please

Quote Originally Posted by pegan
    check out www.germany-tourism.ie. page down to Stuttgart - I looked there yesterday and seemed to be loads of accommodation in stuttgart. Might be worth a try - come on the bit o' red!!

pegan
    I just decided to go to Stuttgart having got a reasonably cheap deal
    $613 Canadian Dollars (taxes inc) for Toronto - Frankfurt on the 29th Aug
    Manchester - Toronto on the 8th Sep.

I was worried I would not be able to find accomodation but the www.germany-tourism.ie site has quite a bit. mostly ut in the suburbs but lots on the railway/underground.

Now, all I need is two tickets so anyone out there who ends up with extras please let me know.

Cheers,
    Mick

Kempes 1-0
    I hired a car from there (Baden Karlsruhe) during the world cup. Europcar, Hertz and other desks in airport. Airport is off the beaten track but is well signposted from autobahn. I was charged $75 for diesel cos it wasnt full. Car is best option from here. I travelled to outskirts of Stuttgart and got S-Bahn to city centre. City Centre looked great during 3/4th play off.

Quote Originally Posted by Duffman
    Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train
    I'm travelling by train from Friedreichshafen Duffman and have been in on the bahn website. I don't have German so can you tell me what's the sparpreis rates????????
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    I'm travelling by train from Friedreichshafen Duffman and have been in on the bahn website. I don't have German so can you tell me what's the sparpreis rates????????

Baden-Württemberg Ticket.... you can travel for 27 euro/one way...and up to 5 people are allowed on the same ticket...so means,you and 4 friends can travel for 27,means there is a lot safed for beer...

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    I don't have German either! Have been there several times as I have a mate living out there, used it a few times, it seems to be similar to the old Pex and Apex fares. Once you are booking early and not leaving it up to the day of your travel there are several other price structures available. It looks like that sparpreis 50 and 25 relates to the days before the travel dates that you select.

Quote Originally Posted by pegan
    whos the 'dedicated driver' for that journey????????????????????

pegan
    Thats the $64,000 question! 4 out of 5 of us are all available so I guess its whoever fancies it on the day!

Thanks indeed there Kempes 1-0 for the heads up. That may well prove invaluable on the day, travelling only with hand luggage so will have to be first to the desk!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    im heading over via london, probably the bus eurolines thingy
    will i have any problems with this?

also i really dont know what ye guys are on about with accomodation
    can you stay in the pubs all night?

Page 31 of 47 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast