Page 30 of 47 FirstFirst ... 20282930313240 ... LastLast

Thread: Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

reder
    Lads any ideas on finding the best way to get from Brussels Charleroi (airport) to Stuggart. Mate booked flights with ryanair to it and is looking for trains now.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Its about 200kms. but there is a fairly regular train service from the airport to Stuttgart, some trains are direct, some you have to change once or twice.

Try this link to check train times. Enter Freidrichshafen, Flughaven as your start station.
    Murty, see my post no 166. My flight time from Stanstead was changed by Ryanair and I'm now flying out to Friedreichshafen at 7.15 a.m. on Thursday morning which means I'm overnighting in the Airport on the Wednesday night.

I flew to Friedreichshafen for both the Swiss games.

On the first trip a gang of us waited at the "flughafen stop" but realised that it was better to go into the main railway station as trains were not stopping at the airport. There is a bus (not a Ryanair one) which cost a ouple of euros to get to the station.

I have checked the train times and there are plenty of trains from Friedreichshafen to Stuttgart. The journey takes about 2 1/4 hours by train.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

"It's like deja vu all over again." Yogi Berra

First time post. Istabraq thanks for the info on Baden, we (3) will arrive with Ryanair into Baden at 1550, we can share a taxi with you guys, are you on the same flight? Just heard: Klinsmann quits as Germany coach as reported by the BBC. That might help.

Quote Originally Posted by Istabraq
    My first contribution, so hello everybody.

I hope I'll be able to answer a few queries on here regarding Karlsruhe Baden and Stuttgart. Me and 5 mates flew over with Ryanair to Baden for the England v Ecuador match. It was the best weekend Ive had in a long time. You have to hand it to the Brits, when they behave, like most do, they are brilliant supporters.

Anyway, we flew out at 2ish and arrived over there at 5ish (germ time). There is no train station in the Airport, so we would have had to get a bus to Baden Baden, then a train from there to Stuttgart, and I think you may have to switch trains on the way although I do stand corrected on that. Your talking about 2.5 to 3 hours mesing around, and then you still have to find your hotel once left in the centre.
    We asked how much it would cost for a 6 man yoke to take us direct to our hotel (which was about 5-10 mins outside centre in taxi), and were quoted €175. We got them down to €130 and took your mans hand off. To show us the true cost he put on the meter anyway, and when he dropped us off it was €193. So whatever you do, dont take taxi on meter, agree a price always.
    The taxi took 1hr, and it is deffo the way we are doing it in Sept.

I booked my flights to Stutt the minute I heard the announcement, and got 3 flights for €160 each return. Thats flying out Thurs 31st Aug and flying back the Monday. We booked the same hotel we stayed in which is €125 for a triple room per night (3 single beds).

It looks like I have tickets sorted, and there is a very simple way to get your hands on these for a decent price. I dont want to say anything yet because I havent got my hands on the tickets yet.
    The reason I came across this forum was due to the whole eventim.de debacle. Im sick I missed that. Never heard a whisper until last weekend.

Anybody else flying over to Baden on the Thursday, because there is only 3 of us, but if we got 4 or 5 more we can get an 8 man taxi for between 130-150 euro?

1,928 Posts
    I will be driving down to Stuttgart on the Friday (sometime before midday) from an overnight stay in Traben Trarbach, close by Hahn. We have a couple of spaces available for the intrepid traveller.

Salzburg Salzburg Salzburg!!!

still flights on ryanair,friday to monday for example stansted -salzburg only 47 pound incl.

http://www.bookryanair.com/skylights.../skylights.cgi

from salzburg airport you hire a car for the whole weekend(fri-monday morning!!! incl. all kilometer and fully insured for around 150 euro..if you split that between 5(example) only 30 euro each...

4 hours drive,only motorway,nothing compare to frankfurt hahn etc.

otherwise take a train, "bayern-ticket"(up to 5 people) salzburg-ulm,from there

"Baden-Württemberg"(up to 5) Ticket ulm-stuttgart, tickets around 30 euro(for 5 person)...

any more infos???Will help....

Going Out

Web fare Adult Reg Fare 6.99 GBP Fri, 01 Sep 06
    Flight FR 304 06:45 Depart London Stansted (STN)
    09:30 Arrive Salzburg (SZG)

Reg fare Adult Reg Fare 39.99 GBP
    Fri, 01 Sep 06
    Flight FR 306 18:30 Depart London Stansted (STN)
    21:20 Arrive Salzburg (SZG)

Coming Back

Web fare Adult Reg Fare 6.99 GBP
    Mon, 04 Sep 06
    Flight FR 305 09:55 Depart Salzburg (SZG)
    10:50 Arrive London Stansted (STN)

Reg fare Adult Reg Fare 39.99 GBP
    Mon, 04 Sep 06
    Flight FR 307 21:45 Depart Salzburg (SZG)
    22:35 Arrive London Stansted (STN)

214 Posts
    East Midlands to Cologne - cost me £18 quid 1 way so £54 for the 3 of us. Ireland to East Mids is very cheap with flights leaving from Dublin and Shannon at all times of the day. Might be worth a look if you cannot get going any other way.

Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982
    East Midlands to Cologne - cost me £18 quid 1 way so £54 for the 3 of us. Ireland to East Mids is very cheap with flights leaving from Dublin and Shannon at all times of the day. Might be worth a look if you cannot get going any other way.

Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.
    Try this hotel. Brita Hotel
    Augsburger Str. 671 - 673
    70329 Stuttgart
    Oberturkheim
    Phone: 0049711320230

Only 4 1/2 Kilometers from stadium and free travel pass for lenght of stay
    for metro and buses. Were staying ther for €70.00 each for 2 nights and looks ok!!!

What's the craic lads and ladettes!
    15 of us heading to Stuttgart for the big match. Around 11.00AM on the Thursday we're flying Dublin to Amsterdam then catching a connecting flight on to Stuttgart. We are thinking of staying in the Clarion Hotel Dublin Airport on the Wednesday night, hoping to meet the squad before they head off and to give ourselves the chance to relax instead of worrying about catching the early Aircoach from Belfast to Dublin on the Thurs morning. Anyone have similar plans and fancy meeting up on the Wednesday evening? I know that in the past the players have stayed at the Clarion before away matches, but is this likely to continue under Staunton? Would the majority of you recommend the Clarion or The Great Southern?

Thanks,
    Nolan

anyone staying in the Ibis in Stuttgart

Travelling Dublin Paris Stuttgart x 2 = 457euro

Ibis hotel, Stuttgart Am Loewentor, Presselstrasse 1570191 Germany = 138

total for weekend 595 for two. Compare that to whats available in the papers at moment!!

Any one staying in the Ibis - coming in on the 1st, out after the win on the 3rd!

Anyone staying in the Find Hotel in Stuttgart.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Anyone staying in the Find Hotel in Stuttgart.
    No, Could'nt FIND!! It

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pegan
    Travelling Dublin Paris Stuttgart x 2 = 457euro

Ibis hotel, Stuttgart Am Loewentor, Presselstrasse 1570191 Germany = 138

total for weekend 595 for two. Compare that to whats available in the papers at moment!!

Any one staying in the Ibis - coming in on the 1st, out after the win on the 3rd!
    in some Ibis, don't know if that's the one

[QUOTE
    Anybody know of any hotels left in Stuttgart? I cannot believe so many are snapped up. Have been on google for hours now without much joy.[/QUOTE]

The difficulty in getting hotels is probably not helped by a large Food and Wine Festival being held in Stuttgart the same week-end!!.......I know what you're thinking ...what do germans know about Food and Wine?.......spicy sausage and liebframillich!!!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet
    The difficulty in getting hotels is probably not helped by a large Food and Wine Festival being held in Stuttgart the same week-end!!.......I know what you're thinking ...what do germans know about Food and Wine?.......spicy sausage and liebframillich!!!!
    Do you know Sligoman?
    Yum, German food...

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet

See my post number: 590 this hotel was available yesterday!!!

214 Posts
    cheers Casso. I have tried to make a reservation. Fingers crossed I have got it.

No probs shaker!!!

Did you ring the Hotel? better ringing them because the hotel has block bookings from hotel websites and they can offer room over the phone!!!

Quote Originally Posted by reder
    Lads any ideas on finding the best way to get from Brussels Charleroi (airport) to Stuggart. Mate booked flights with ryanair to it and is looking for trains now.
    Myself and 4 other lads are booked that route as well, in on the Friday morning and back on the Sunday night. www.bahn.de for your trains which take about 6 hours and you want to get in early for teh sparpreis rates otherwise they are quite expensive! We decided to just drive down instead, 150 for a car as against 5 of us at 180 each for the train

Any joy?? shaker!!!

Page 30 of 47 FirstFirst ... 20282930313240 ... LastLast