Page 8 of 47 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

Trip sorted for €210 each (flights and accomodation for 1 night). All we need now are match tickets!

flights

I notice loads of the best available flights have been snapped up. Me and the lads got a lovely deal from www.swiss.com, flying from dublin to stuttgart via Zurich. Very short stopover. 2 night stay. Flights cost €230.70 each not bad considering it'll cost you about €300 to get to Frankfurt and then have to get a train. Jump on this one quick!

Going Dublin - Heathrow on Thursday morning(11.15am) with Aerlingus, meet up with the London based clan and then direct to Stuttgart with BA arriving at 6pm. Plenty of time to suss out the town and find a good boozer. Return flight to Heathrow leaving Sunday evening at 18.40 and flight back to Dublin at 21.25. €270 in total.
    If anyone knows the best part of Stuttgart to stay in post in up before I go and book something.
    There'll be snow on that one.

german wings from stanstead looks decent

if you know someone in london - stay there thursday night and get early stanstead flight on friday.

coming back 7pm flight from stuttgart to stanstead and you can be back in dub late sunday night all for about 160 euro.

only need to take friday off work

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    german wings from stanstead looks decent

if you know someone in london - stay there thursday night and get early stanstead flight on friday.

coming back 7pm flight from stuttgart to stanstead and you can be back in dub late sunday night all for about 160 euro.

only need to take friday off work
    I'm sure there'll be a few bench occupiers in the airport wrapped in tri-colors that night

just booked

160 euro return

Out
    dub - stanstead thursday night @ 8.15pm (Ryanair)
    friday morning stanstead - Stuttgart @ 8.00am (German Wings)

Back
    sunday evnin stuttgart - stanstead @ 7.15pm (German Wings)
    stanstead - dublin @ 10.00pm (Stanstead)

Roll on deutschland

Lads & Lasses,
    Let's hope you all learn a verse or two cause you have plenty of time.

Joxer Goes To Stuggart
    Artist - Christy Moore
    Album - Various Songs
    Lyrics - Joxer Goes To Stuggart

IT WAS IN THE YEAR OF '88 AND THE LOVELY MONTH OF JUNE
    WHEN GADFLIES WERE SWARMING AND DOGS HOWLING AT THE MOON
    WITH ROSARY BEADS AND SANDWICHES FOR STUTTGART WE BEGAN
    JOXER PACKED HIS GERMAN PHRASE BOOK AND JUMPLEADS FOR THE VAN.

SOME OF THE LADS HAS NEVER BEEN AWAY FROM HOME BEFORE
    TWAS THE FIRST TIME WHACKER PUT HIS FOOT OUTSIDE OF INCHICORE
    BEFORE WE LEFT FOR EUROPE WE KNEW WE'D NEED A PLAN
    SO WE ALL AGREED THAT JOXER WAS THE MAN TO DRIVE THE VAN.

IN GERMANY THE AUTOBAHN TWAS LIKE THE LONG MILE ROAD
    THERE WAS EVERY MAKE OF CAR AND VAN ALL CARRYING THE FULL LOAD
    THERE WAS TRANSITS AND HI-ACES AND AN OLD BEDFORD FROM TRALEE
    WITH THE ENGINE OVERHEATING FROM LONG HAULING DUTY FREE.

THERE WAS FANS FROM BALLYFERMOT, BALLYBOUGH AND BALLYMUN
    ON THE JOURNEY OF A LIFETIME AND THE CRAIC WAS NINETY-ONE.
    JOXER MET A GERMANS DAUGHTER ON THE BANKS OF THE RIVER RHINE
    AND HE TOLD HER SHE'D BE WELCOME IN BALLYFERMOT ANY TIME.

AS SOON AS WE FOUND STUTTGART WE GOT THE WAGONS IN A RING
    SEAN OG GOT OUT THE BANJO PETER PLAYED THE MANDOLIN
    THERE WAS FANS THERE FROM EVERYWHERE ATTRACTED BY THE SOUND
    OF THE FIRST FLEADH CEOIL IN EUROPE, AND JOXER PASSED THE FLAGON ROUND

BUT THE SESSION IT ENDED WHEN WE'D FINISHED OFF THE STOUT
    THE AIR MATTRESSED INFLTED AND THE SLEEPING BAGS ROLLED OUT
    AS ONE BY ONE WE FELL ASLEEP JOXER HAD A DREAM
    HE DREAMT HIMSELF AND JACK CHARLTON SET DOWN TO PICK THE TEAM.

JOXER DREAMT THEY BOTH AGREED ON PACKIE BONNER STRAIGHT AWAY
    AND THAT MORAN, WHEALAN AND MCGRATH WERE CERTAINLY TO PLAY
    BUT TEMPERS THEY BEAGAN OT RISE AND PATIENCE WEARING THIN
    JACK WANTED CASCARINO BUT JOXER WANTED QUINN

THE DREAM TURNED INTO A NIGHTMARE, JOXER STUCK THE HEAD ON JACK
    WHO WANTED TO BRINK JOHNNY GILES AND EAMONN DUNPHY BACK
    THE **** CREW IN THE MORNING IT CREW BOTH LOUD AND SHRILL
    AND JOXER WOKE UP IN HIS SLEEPING BAG MANY MILES FROM ARBOUR HILL

THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE EXPERTS GAVE US THE SLIGHTEST CHANCE
    THEY SAID THE ENGLISH TEAM WOULD LEAD US ON A MERRY DANCE
    WITH THEIR UNION JACKS ALL THEM ENGLISH FANS FOR VICTORY THEY WERE SET
    UNTIL RAY HOUGHTON GOT THE BALL AND HE STUCK IT IN THE NET

WHOOO HOOO!

WHAT HAPPENED NEXT IS HISTORY BROUGHT TEARS TO MANY EYES
    THAT DAY WILL BE THE HIGHLIGHT OF MANY PEOPLES LIVES
    JOXER CLIMBED RIGHT OVER THE NET AND THE LAST TIME HE WAS SEEN
    WAS ARM IN ARM WITH JACK CHARLTON SINGING REVENGE FOR SKIBEREEN

NOW WHACKERS BACK IN INCHICORE HE'S LIVIN WITH HIS MAM
    AND JACK CHARLTON HAS BEEN PROCLAIMED AND HONORARY IRISH MAN
    LISTEN.. DO YOU REMEMBER THE GERMANS DAUGHTER FROM THE BANKS OF THE RIVER RHINE??
    DIDNT SHE SHOW UP IN BALLYFERMOT LAST WEEK AND.....

DE DO DO DOO.....
    There'll be snow on that one.

Question Info

So the general consensus is not to book with a travel agent? So without being a block booker the best bet is to try get a ticket over there?

i dunno bout this trip

reckon the demand could exceed the allocation. some of us blockbookers might not even be guaranteed tkts.

you should hold out until the german fa announce tkt details (i.e might be sold over internet)

Yeah cheers.
    Any idea when the german fa announce the ticket details? The official allocation to us will only be about 5000 anyway so without being a block booker its goin to be quite difficult to get your hands on a ticket

57 Posts
    I think the Germans have made a massive mistake. Emotion, history everything rolled up in a pilgrimage to Stuttgart. They apparently tried to minimise the travelling fans by picking a city without direct flights to Ireland but forgot about Euro88.

Anyway 48,500 won't even be close enough to satisfy the demand for tickets particularly if the Germans want to keep a few for themselves.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    I think the Germans have made a massive mistake. Emotion, history everything rolled up in a pilgrimage to Stuttgart. They apparently tried to minimise the travelling fans by picking a city without direct flights to Ireland but forgot about Euro88.

Anyway 48,500 won't even be close enough to satisfy the demand for tickets particularly if the Germans want to keep a few for themselves.
    if this is the case they obviously didnt do much research. no direct flights to Basle but about 14,000 of us turned up in 2003. tickets will depend on how the germans wc goes..... if they do very well then tickets will be hard to get but if they have a poor wc we could end up getting a better than expected allocation.

for amsterdam 2000 the dutch had a bit of a euro championship hangover and the stadium wasnt full that night. seem to remember tickets going on sale on the day to Irish fans. obviously wont have as big a support traveling as paris but i'd still say about 10,000 will want to go.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    if this is the case they obviously didnt do much research. no direct flights to Basle but about 14,000 of us turned up in 2003. tickets will depend on how the germans wc goes..... if they do very well then tickets will be hard to get but if they have a poor wc we could end up getting a better than expected allocation.

for amsterdam 2000 the dutch had a bit of a euro championship hangover and the stadium wasnt full that night. seem to remember tickets going on sale on the day to Irish fans. obviously wont have as big a support traveling as paris but i'd still say about 10,000 will want to go.
    I would put the figure wanting to go to this one as 20,000+. I think the Stuttgart factor will encourage more to attend. It is a wekeend game in early September and the weather should be great. Munich, Frankfurt, Dortmund or Berlin would be more accessible but in reality any German city is relatively easy to reach these days.

The key question really is how will the tickets be sold. If they go on public sale then they will be snapped up.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    I would put the figure wanting to go to this one as 20,000+. I think the Stuttgart factor will encourage more to attend. It is a wekeend game in early September and the weather should be great. Munich, Frankfurt, Dortmund or Berlin would be more accessible but in reality any German city is relatively easy to reach these days.

The key question really is how will the tickets be sold. If they go on public sale then they will be snapped up.
    we've always found ways of getting tickets before. i'm sure thare are lots of german contacts that we can call upon!! not sure more than 10,000 of us will go to be honest. depends on how our friendlys go etc before sept. i think munich or berlin would have been far bigger draws to the day trippers

Of the figure for Paris, you can pretty much take out 60/70% of partners

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie
    In light of the above can you tell us where the stadium is in relation to the city centre?.....also maybe you could tell me where my hotel (Kongress Hotel on Siemensstrasse) is in relation to the stadium and the city centre? Cheers.
    You're well enough placed. The stadium is in Bad Cannstatt north east of the center and about a 10 minute journey on the S-bahn from the main train station in the centre of the city (Hauptbanhof). Your hotel is in an area called Feuerbach which is about two minutes from the Hauptbanhof by U-bahn (streetcar). All the public transport is good and very frequent.
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"

Good man Greenbod. Cheers for the information.

Greenbod, thers a load of us staying in this hotel, they claim to be 500 metres from the nightlife - any ideas if this is true?

Hotel Espenlaub Telephone: +49 (0) 711 210 910
    Charlottenstrasse 27

Quote Originally Posted by Forever Dreamin
    Greenbod, thers a load of us staying in this hotel, they claim to be 500 metres from the nightlife - any ideas if this is true?

Hotel Espenlaub Telephone: +49 (0) 711 210 910
    Charlottenstrasse 27
    Depends on what you're looking for, but it's true this is very central.....so you are close to all the city center nightclubs and bars....some are open till 5:30am.........However (and again it depends on your tastes) I would stay away from here until very late and just go to the pubs within walking distance of the stadium ie Bad Canstatt and Stuttgart Ost. The crack will be much better and authentic Stuttgart pubs. You can still hit the center at 1 or 2am if you're still up to it!

ps.....quite a few "rote Lichter" within short walking distance of this hotel too.
    Last edited by Greenbod; 20/02/2006 at 3:52 PM.
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbod
    ps.....quite a few "rote Lichter" within short walking distance of this hotel too.
    As if he didn't know already

Staying in 'Mercure City Center Stuttgart', 69Euro per twin room.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Page 8 of 47 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast