Page 45 of 47 FirstFirst ... 354344454647 LastLast

Thread: Germany away (2 September 2006) - all info in this thread

No, but going from Heathrow on Fri afternoon & have a few hours (read: beers ) to kill before catching the flight ....

Going London Stansted tonight. Will probably stay in the airport and on to Stuttgart in the morning. Anyone else in a similar boat? Any ideas of hotels near enough?

Heathrow Friday

Quote Originally Posted by Roys Rolls View Post
    No, but going from Heathrow on Fri afternoon & have a few hours (read: beers ) to kill before catching the flight ....
    We are also flying from heathrow on friday night....leaving belfast at 1.15 fri afternoon...a few hours in the airport bar in heathrow and then onto stuttgart...cant wait
    ' you will never beat the irish...not at drinking anyway'

Quote Originally Posted by SuperSaints View Post
    Going London Stansted tonight. Will probably stay in the airport and on to Stuttgart in the morning. Anyone else in a similar boat? Any ideas of hotels near enough?
    Baa has a site for airport hotels.might be pricey though
    If not might be worth looking at hotels in bishop stortford, not really too far from the airport Hope it helps

Anyone gone through Heathrow lately? How bad is it - allowed to bring anything on to the plane (arrivals/departures from LHR)?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Exclamation

Very important INFO! Especially if you are flying from a UK airport please go to the BAA website and click on security info on right hand side of page.................

http://www.baa.com

No cosmetics or toiletries at all allowed, no cans! No liquid unless bought after security.

:-D

75 Posts
    Try the holiday inn express stansted we got a room for 3 cheap enough there is a shuttle bus from the airport.

Radisson hotel in Stansted airport(2 mins from airport), we are booked in for Friday night and cost us £79 for the room. www.radisson.com

Quote Originally Posted by scousedub View Post
    Radisson hotel in Stansted airport(2 mins from airport), we are booked in for Friday night and cost us £79 for the room. www.radisson.com
    5 of us staying there tonight also and then flying to Munich on easyjet at 8am on Friday morning. Train to Stuttgart on Saturday morning.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

75 Posts
    the holiday express is booked out try this link http://www.expedia.co.uk/pub/agent.d...1157023636280& or go to expedia direct

Packing up now all, See you in stuttgart tomorrow evening in O'Reillys!!!!

Dont forget your green tops!! And most importantly your Beer Money!!!

Come On IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!

the weather for stuttgart..leave the sunglasses!!

http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/10738.html

Goin thru stansted 2moro FRI night. staying in Hilton stansted r.o. £64.50 (booked a while ago so could be dearer now) they have shuttle bus to/from airport.
    Out sat morn 7.45am to stuttgart with german wings

I hope no-one forgets to bring something important like your German phrasebook. Or jumpleads for the van...

It was in the year of '88 in the lovely month of June
    When the gadflies were swarming and dogs howling at the moon
    With rosary beads and sandwiches for Stuttgart we began
    Joxer packed his German phrasebook and jumpleads for the van

Some of the lads had never been away from home before
    'Twas the first time Whacker put his foot outside of Inchicore
    Before we left for Europe we knew we'd need a plan
    So we all agreed that Joxer was the man to drive the van

In Germany the autobahn, 'twas like the Long Mile Road
    There was every make of car and van all carrying the full load
    Ford Transits and Hiaces and an old Bedford from Tralee
    With the engine overheating from longhauling duty free

There was fans from Ballyfermot, Ballybough and Ballymun
    On the journey of a lifetime, and the crack was ninety-one
    Joxer met a German's daughter on the banks of the river Rhine
    And he told her she'd be welcome in Ballyfermot any time

As soon as we found Stuttgart we got the wagons in a ring
    Sean Og got out the banjo and Peter played the mandolin
    There was fans there from everywhere attracted by the sound
    At the first Fleadh Ceoil in Europe, and Joxer passed the flagon round

But the session it ended when we'd finished all the stout
    The air mattresses inflated and the sleeping bags rolled out
    As one by one we fell asleep Joxer had a dream
    He dreamt himself and Jack Charlton sat down to pick the team

Joxer dreamt they both agreed on Packie Bonner straightaway
    And that Moran, Whelan and McGrath were certainly to play
    But tempers they began to rise and patience wearing thin
    Jack wanted Cascarino but Joxer wanted Quinn

The dream turned into a nightmare, Joxer stuck the head on Jack
    Who wanted to bring Johnny Giles and Eamon Dunphy back
    The **** crew in the morning, it crew both loud and shrill
    Joxer woke up in his sleeping bag many miles from Arbour Hill

The next morning none of the experts gave us the slightest chance
    They said the English team would lead us on a merry dance
    With their Union Jacks all them English fans for victory they were set
    Until Ray Houghton got the ball and he stuck it in the net!!!

What happened next is history, brought tears to many eyes
    That day will be the highlight of many people's lives
    Joxer climbed right over the top and the last time he was seen
    Was arm in arm with Jack Charlton singing 'Revenge for Skibereen'

Now Whacker's back in Inchicore, he's living with his mam
    And Jack Charlton has been proclaimed an honorary Irishman
    Do you remember that German's daughter on the banks of the river Rhine
    Well, didn't she show up in Ballyfermot last week and ...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Anyone gone through Heathrow lately? How bad is it - allowed to bring anything on to the plane (arrivals/departures from LHR)?
    As mentioned before, no liquids etc. allowed in hand-luggage. Small (laptop size) bag allowed, but no big roll-ons. No gels etc. allowed either. Checks the bag, and carry the liquid inside you .

myself and green tribe are all packed. Cab is booked for 5am (god help us). Time now to relax with a glass of wine.

bout to hit the road 2 stansted, yes boy!

Dublin or lost in a backwater called England
    Setting off at 3am
    'It's not because I'm uncouth, it's because I'm Irish. The English language is a wall between you and me and f**k is my chisel.' - Tommy Tiernan

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Talking

Sitting in the hotel bar, slightly worse for wear with Babysis. Have met AidoM, Poor Student the grumpy fecker and sleepy friends. Paul "Gay" O'Shea , Saint Tom, Concha , Maribore and One Red Army, Sylvo, Lopez Deadlyyyyyyyyy

Need a hospital for 2 weeks now!!!

Tchauss!

Did anyone read the "strongly worded letter" doing the rounds in Biddys after the all ireland final?? written by an irish fan, very funny
    Last edited by Babysis; 06/09/2006 at 8:00 PM.

Page 45 of 47 FirstFirst ... 354344454647 LastLast