Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast

Thread: Wales Away (17th November 2007) - Match Thread

have just cancelled the family room in travelodge city centre for saturday night -not economically feasible for just myself

-also have 1 spare ticket for sale in the irish end.(will have access to this site before 3pm today if you pm me)
    am travelling belfast-bristol easyjet flight tonight, so i'll likely be in the airport from 18:30 onwards if anyones interested in it..

84 Posts
    Latest weather doesn't look too good for people like myself using the ferry

Sea Crossings
    State of sea until 0600 Sunday 18 November 2007
    Dublin - Holyhead Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
    Rosslare - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
    Cork - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Latest weather doesn't look too good for people like myself using the ferry

Sea Crossings
    State of sea until 0600 Sunday 18 November 2007
    Dublin - Holyhead Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
    Rosslare - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.
    Cork - South Wales Slight, increasing moderate and later rough.

Looks like there won't be quite as much beer consumed in Cardiff as was first thought......better make sure your eggs are WELL cooked on Sunday morning....you don't want to be shaking hands with your breakfast on the return ferry trip!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Weather for the landlubbers in Cardiff now looks better (for saturday anyhow )http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424:)

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Weather for the landlubbers in Cardiff now looks better (for saturday anyhow )http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1424:)
    thank god!

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    thank god!
    I hope you, Babysis and the rest of your reprobates have an enjoyable ( trouble-free) and safe journey...........see you in the capital of Sheepland!

best wishes from "the riff raff"

I hope you, Babysis and the rest of your reprobates have an enjoyable ( trouble-free) and safe journey...........see you in the capital of Sheepland!

best wishes from "the riff raff"
    Cheers, we will, on the 20:00 flight from Shannon tonight, so i am leaving work
    in half hour or so!

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Cheers, we will, on the 20:00 flight from Shannon tonight, so i am leaving work
    in half hour or so!

Will they notice when you're gone?

The place will collapse

Hopefully not, I'm sneaking out a bit earlier than planned

Last of the last minute decisions and I'm away. hope its worth it it!!!

come on you boys in green!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

84 Posts
    Story of the trip was getting to Holyhead and asking for two return tickets to Cardiff
    The ticket guy politely asks

"Would you like the 1.30am train that changes in Crewe or the 4.30 am direct to Cardiff""
    We reply "We will take the direct route to Cardiff as we can get a bit of sleep on the way down"

Direct route turned out to be Holyhead - Chester, wait 15 mins there while they changed engines. Then back the way we came to Shrewsbury where we got a bus to Craven Arms and then back on a train into Cardiff.

Then on the way back we were told the train would return at 7.35PM but I took a walk up to the station after the match and was informed that train was cancelled and it was leaving at 6.50 instead (wonder how many missed that train)

Then a good journey by train, bus, train, bus with the Wrexham supporters even though as Ash said on another post some guy got on the train and shat himself a few times and stunk the carriage out. He was abandoned by all in Llandudno Junction

Schloomp was lucky to still be on the train after enticing the fella who sh*t himself to walk up and down the carriage a few times to give everybody a good smell. People weren't happy with that and blamed Ash for encouraging him

Had a good weekend and had the pleasure of meeting the following

Green Tribe - Apologies for thinking you were male reading your posts
    Bluebeard - Mr G&T himself and the first person I have ever heard saying to an Athlone Town fan that a strong Longford Town team are needed for the league but he quickly redeemed himself and I accept it was the Gin and Tonics
    Babysis, Schloomp, AidoM, Philo, Ireland4Ever, Citizenerased and the one and only Bear11

There were probably a few more that I can't remember

Looking forward to another trip that doesn't clash with an Eircom League match.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

im back...way hey...great weekend, the result and the penalty with 3 minutes to go really typified the campaign...

met a good few of the foot.ie crew who were mocking me about my pathethic grovelling last week..

unfortunately a few scumbags around again, dublin knackker tried to attack the bouncer in o'neills on friday with a bottle after being thrown out for flashing his genitalia to women. apart from that good weekend

roll on the draw next sunday
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Had a great little trip. Thought Cardiff,from what little we saw, was a great spot to go out,spent all Saturday in Walkabout.We couldnt get over how the night is in full swing so early, all the people were out on the dancefloor and on the hard stuff by 9 whereas Ireland wouldnt be til earliest 12.
    Needless to say in the end,this very long night took its toll, with the bro waking up the whole hostel by setting off the alarm trying to remember the security code
    Couldnt believe the Millenium Stadium is smack in the middle,probably the equivilent of Marlborough Street in relation to our city centre.Handy as fook.

Ferrys are so much less hassle than airports.No security checks,passport checks, check-in desks or 2 hour prior arrival times, a welcome change.
    <insert witty remark>

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    Had a great little trip. Thought Cardiff,from what little we saw, was a great spot to go out,spent all Saturday in Walkabout.We couldnt get over how the night is in full swing so early, all the people were out on the dancefloor and on the hard stuff by 9 whereas Ireland wouldnt be til earliest 12.
    Needless to say in the end,this very long night took its toll, with the bro waking up the whole hostel by setting off the alarm trying to remember the security code
    Couldnt believe the Millenium Stadium is smack in the middle,probably the equivilent of Marlborough Street in relation to our city centre.Handy as fook.

Ferrys are so much less hassle than airports.No security checks,passport checks, check-in desks or 2 hour prior arrival times, a welcome change.
    Agreed, enjoyed the couple of days, apart from the result.

Would have been nice if ALL the Irish players could have shown some sort of acknowledgement towards the good travelling support at the final whistle.

Keane,Given,Hunt & Doyle only one's who bothered showing their appreciation towards the Irish crowd

Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    Agreed, enjoyed the couple of days, apart from the result.

Would have been nice if ALL the Irish players could have shown some sort of acknowledgement towards the good travelling support at the final whistle.

Keane,Given,Hunt & Doyle only one's who bothered showing their appreciation towards the Irish crowd
    Perhaps the others were getting cold...it was quite chilly at the end!

72 Posts
    Perhaps the others were getting cold...it was quite chilly at the end!
    Agreed, it was much warmer in Witherspoon's

Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post

Possibly there were a few players who were not happy with abuse they got against Cyprus and understandably so. Given always claps the fans at away games,regardless.He knows the effort made by fans because his family regularly travel.
    Decent atmosphere in the irish area for the game.About 20 minutes to go a group of about 20-25 gathered over towards behind the goal who went randomly into party mode.Was anyone apart of this? They must have all simultaneously downed their hip flasks or something cos they were all of a sudden having great craic.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    Possibly there were a few players who were not happy with abuse they got against Cyprus and understandably so. Given always claps the fans at away games,regardless.He knows the effort made by fans because his family regularly travel.
    Decent atmosphere in the irish area for the game.About 20 minutes to go a group of about 20-25 gathered over towards behind the goal who went randomly into party mode.Was anyone apart of this? They must have all simultaneously downed their hip flasks or something cos they were all of a sudden having great craic.
    And all the others who took off their jersies to wave around their heads.....too feckin cold for me to do that!

The Villain Itenerary

Friday:

Kildare-Sandyford-Nassau St-Rosslare-Fishguard-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Bristol. Yay Booze!

Saturday:

Bristol-Cardiff-Scared the bejaysus out of unnamed female in Wetherspoons (Babysis) -Bristol. Yay Booze!

Sunday:

Bristol-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Fishguard-Seventh Circle of Hell in the sea where boat was thrown 30 feet in the air, and contents of several very green stomachs followed-Rosslare-Rushed the bus driver at the traffic lights in Stillorgan-Sandyford-Kildare Yay Bed!
    Last edited by Bondvillain; 19/11/2007 at 3:17 PM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    The Villain Itenerary

Friday:

Kildare-Sandyford-Nassau St-Rosslare-Fishguard-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Bristol. Yay Booze!

Saturday:

Bristol-Cardiff-Scared the bejaysus out of unnamed female in Wetherspoons (Babysis) -Bristol. Yay Booze!

Sunday:

Bristol-Bottom of Welsh Mountain covered in Irish wee wee-Fishguard-Seventh Circle of Hell in the sea where boat was thrown 30 feet in the air, and contents of several very green stomachs followed-Rosslare-Rushed the bus driver at the traffic lights in Stillorgan-Sandyford-Kildare Yay Bed!
    So just another quiet relaxing weekend!

Page 15 of 17 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 LastLast