Thread: Lease is secured

Guys, correct me if I'm wrong but haven't we got a 4 year lease already, add that to the 21 year lease and it makes up the 25 year lease DD spoke of from the outset.As regards the lease though I am as sceptical as everyone else, until I see it on paper, I won't believe it, but here's hoping da priest and all concerned are true to their so-called verbal agreement.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

While its great that our short term future is secured once more it seems to be nothing more than a band aid to prevent the club from bleeding to death. Now I'm disappointed about the way things have turned out especially in regards to last year when it was indicated to us that we actually owned the ground (and not forgetting it was unveiled to the public media our ambition in 5 years time to have built a 7,000 seat stadium). It is disappointing the mind games that have ensued in recent weeks with Fr. Joe, but the more I think about it, it occurs to me that this club is spinning around in circles. We now have Fr. Joe and Michael O'Sullivan back on board in the club despite the negative feelings held towards them for their mismanagement of the club previously. Are we to believe that these are the men to lead Limerick FC into the future and secure its place amongst Cork and Shels. I doubt it very much. It is a case of the same short term promises being made to us again and again each season whether it be we own Hogan Park or John Purcell's marketing plan to raise hundreds of thousands of euro (now would be an appropriate time to say the rosary in hope John won't be coming back onto the board,Amen).

As for Pat Dolan, its not simply a question of what he will do because when it comes to Limerick FC talk is cheap but rather how long will he stay at the club. Limerick is nothing more than a one trick pony for him to trumpet his achievements and boost his ego. Of course I recognise the benefits that come with Pat and no doubt there will be financial benefits but allowing for his recent track record what will be the ultimate cost to Limerick. All we need now is Roddy Collins to become our team bus driver and the glory is all ours. But to get back to Dolan, as the season progresses there will be tension between himself and NOC. A working relationship similiar to that of our international team and how many people can claim to be happy with that arrangement.

With the players signed and all the talk about Dolan, this clearly is a sign of intent by the club whether they realise it or not. Finishing the upcoming season mid-table and playing disgraceful football will not suffice, its either first or nothing. No excuses. I think if NOC fails to get the team to perform this season then he really must stand aside or Danny makes the hard decision. Either way both should take note of the quote below from Casey Stengel.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

again lads just wanna point out that the idea of a 21 year lease, came in this press story of the last two days. Its author cant be trusted and should have been put out to grass many moons ago. The story broke after his radio show on RLO. Upto that show all the storys were of a 23 year lease, then suddenly a 21 year lease is announced by this "mystery" writer. Fr Joe has been agreeing to sign the lease for the last year and a half, so it was nothing new when he said it on the radio, but doing it? thats another story. As for our present agreement, we have a "playing agreement" of 5 years (4 to go) with the tennent club Hill Celtic, so no we do not or are not in the middle of any sort of lease of any kind. DD is abroad this week so it wont be till next week before we hear anything from the club which only adds to this unsurity, which again that so called journalist played to. Couple of years ago he said Kenny Dalglish was comming to manage, a stand was starting "next week" on the Town end of the ground, that Frank Hitchmough (aka Fran Hitchcock) had signed. And Jarome O'Connell at the leader, i was wrong in posting Joe Waters instead of Kevin Waters, LFC in Exile spotted it and fair play for leaving out his name in my...sorry your report in last nights leader

Quote Originally Posted by Nempton
    We now have ....Michael O'Sullivan back on board in the club despite the negative feelings held towards them for their mismanagement of the club previously.
    I thought you were pining for the Pike days?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

If this turns out to be another one of above mentioned semi-comatose "journalists" lies we should petition for his putting down like some kind of rabid vermin. As for that Muuuuunster lovin' rag sheet (that I urge everyone on here never to buy, or even steal for that matter) stealing gael's story it says it all that even Monday's first ever Irish Daily (Rag) Mail had the names right

The lease a year too short?? In fairness, surely even Limerick F.C. aren't that stupid

i think that the lease is the best thing that can happen to the club because now we can move on an put this team back together were it should be in the top division with top players like finny purcell an robbie why shouldnt we be der. best game last year was against waterford the boys in the stand were in great voice roll on 06. make sure of busses dd

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Its author cant be trusted and should have been put out to grass many moons ago...............................Couple of years ago he said Kenny Dalglish was comming to manage, a stand was starting "next week" on the Town end of the ground, that Frank Hitchmough (aka Fran Hitchcock) had signed.
    This is the same "journalist" that "writes" the 'At The Movies' page for the Limerick Post. I nearly fell off my chair laughing at his movie "review" of the latest Final Destination movie, which is in the cinemas at the moment. The latest is Final Destination 3. However, our esteemed "journalist" writes a review of Final Destination 2, a movie that is at least two years old! He even "reviews" it as Final Destination 2, completely oblivious to the fact that it's FD3 that's out at the moment. What a fcukin plonker.....At the end of the review he says "This rather daft movie is packed with gruesome deaths". What about the daft journalist who doesn't know his @rse from his elbow?
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 12/02/2006 at 2:03 PM.

Originally by LFC In Exile
    I thought you were pining for the Pike days?
    Ah I think your doing a Jebus...by confusing me with Jebus
    I've never made any statement pertaining to a return to the Pike days I demand a humble and heartfelt apology
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Quote Originally Posted by Nempton
    I've never made any statement pertaining to a return to the Pike days I demand a humble and heartfelt apology
    Absolutely. I sit abashed. I appreciate all the pain you suffered during the dark days of the previous regime and I apologise humbly and heartfeelingly.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair