Thread: France v Ireland (6 Nations)

France v Ireland (6 Nations)

EOS has named an unchanged side. For me this is proof that he doesn't have a clue whats going on and is afraid to make changes. 3 or 4 players should have been dropped. If we lose to France the number of people calling for him to go will increase dramatically.

EOS Out!!

ya im begining to agree pete made a good ponit, if the players are playing well provincially surely its got something to do with the manager if he cant get the same out of the players on the international stage. I know though that we have more internationals in our provincials side so it isnt a fair reflection in a way, but surely they should be performing better than they are?!?!?!

Thumbs down

When playing for Munster or Leinster these guys have much more of a bond...they seem prepared to die for the jersey. Unfortunately this does not transcend to the National team. I have tried my best to like Eddie O'Sullivan, I really have, but now the thin patience that was remaining has vanished.

O'Sullivan said he's picking players on form: Let's see-

Geordan Murphy: Any good form shown for Leicester is at left wing, not full back where he has yet to play a half decent gane for Ireland.
    Tommy Bowe: Not a left winger for starters, and has shown zilch for Ulster, or in the Autumn internationals.
    Peter Stringer: I feel sorry for this guy- he's pretty sh1te yet theres nobody within a country miles distance of being anywhere near international standard to replace him.
    John Hayes: Same as Stringer, although in slightly better form of late.
    Malcolm O'Kelly: Need I say anything???
    Simon Easterby: Doesn't quite know what position he should be playing in, and as a consequence spends 80 minutes running around the field trying to find out.
    Any one named Best: "Oh", says Eddie, "I'll pick ye as subs, but ye haven't got a hope of getting a run cos ye're not good enough, so ye're here in case any of my front row get shot by a passing sniper during the match"
    Johnny O'Connor: Better than Keith Gleeson my arse !!

Girvan Dempsey is in the form of his life, and playing him would allow Murphy to return to his best position, and also allow Hickie return instead of that 6ft 4" crock of lard that stands out on the right wing. It now looks like Leamy will be suspended for a while, and thankfully that will allow Foley back in. That in itself displays O'Sullivans mental weakness and ineptitude. His persistence with O'Driscoll as captain amuses me greatly. He's no more a captain than David Bloody Beckham. O'Connell is the only man for that job now that Eddie has prematurely ended the International career of probably the greatest number 8 to ever play for Ireland. Donncha O'Callaghan must be wondering what he did, or has to do to displace the pillar of salt that is Big Mal.

Jesus Eddie, give us a break....
    Last edited by joeSoap; 07/02/2006 at 1:53 PM.

foley is ****e, always has proved that for ireland joe soap. agree with the rest though. i have never seen foley reproduce any form for ireland that he has shown for munster. and he hasnt had that many good games for munster either.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    foley is ****e, always has proved that for ireland joe soap. agree with the rest though. i have never seen foley reproduce any form for ireland that he has shown for munster. and he hasnt had that many good games for munster either.
    A comment like that tells me one of two things:

1). You're a complete idiot that knows absolutely nothing about the game or
    2). Youre having a good old wind up. fair play to you.

I'm presuming and hoping option 2 is the answer. If not, then I feel sorry for you and wonder what you're doing posting in a rugby thread.

If it's option 1, did you watch Ireland beat England back to back in Twickenham and Lansdowne Road a few years ago? Ask Jason Robinson who Anthony Foley is. Did you see his hat-trick of tries against Biarritz in the 1/4 final of the Heineken Cup?? A sh1te rugby player doesn't happen upon 62 caps, and over 109 Heineken Cup appearances. When Ireland beat Australia in 2000 just after the world cup, who was man of the match? I'm not going to go on any more.

As I said, I'll presume its answer 2.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 07/02/2006 at 3:27 PM.

I think the time is right to drop Foley but O'Kelly should have went with him.

I see few player options but believe they are bored of EOS now. The squad almsot trains as much as a club team & it hink this might be introducing boredom amoung the squad. When they train together so much a rusty 1st outing is unacceptable.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I think the time is right to drop Foley but O'Kelly should have went with him..
    Its ok to drop someone if you have a surplus of talent in that specialist position to replace them. Donncha O'Callaghan is a better player at this current time than Mal, and therefore deserves his place ahead of him. Mick O'Driscoll, Bob Casey and Leo Cullen are also playing very well and could also replace him.

The only specialist number 8 in Ireland bar Foley at the moment is Jamie Heaslip, and he's still too young. Leamy, Wallace and Easterby would all only be converted stop-gaps to a position that is not truly their own. I agree with you that Foleys best days are done, but he's still only 32 and the best out and out number 8 playing in Ireland today. For those reasons he should have been retained until next season when Heaslip can come in, or even to give a convert like Leamy more time to accustom himself with the position. The step up to Internationals from Heineken Cup is immense, and O'Sullivan should have thought of that in his 'team-building for the World Cup' process. We still need Foleys experience in that position this campaign imo.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    A comment like that tells me one of two things:

1). You're a cpmplete idiot that knows absolutely nothing about the game or
    2). Youre having a good old wind up. fair play to you.

I'm presuming and hoping option 2 is the answer. If not, then I feel sorry for you and wonder what you're doing posting in a rugby thread.

If it's option 1, did you watch Ireland beat England back to back in Twickenham and Lansdowne Road a few years ago? Ask Jason Robinson who Anthony Foley is. Did you see his hat-trick of tries against Biarritz in the 1/4 final of the Heineken Cup?? A sh1te rugby player doesn't happen upon 62 caps, and over 109 Heineken Cup appearances. When Ireland beat Australia in 2000 just after the world cup, who was man of the match? I'm not going to go on any more.

As I said, I'll presume its answer 2.

I'll second that, you only realise it when he's gone. How many times do we have to learn this lesson? We only got back to somewhere near competitive when we brought Foley and Galway back.

Whatever happens with Leamy is irrelevant now, EOS has already shown thats he's an idiot. The man is the best 6 we have and is not an international no. 8. Easterby was brutal last week while O' Kelly may have been the worst player out of all 90 players who started last week. Its really pathetic by now and I've given up on this team. Roll on April and the Heiniken Cup, this is a waste of time and money.

My team v France

Girvan Dempsey; Geordan Murphy, Brian O'Driscoll, Gordon D'Arcy (last chance saloon) Denis Hickie; Ronan O'Gara, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes; Paul O'Connell(captain) Donncha O'Callaghan; David Wallace, Keith Gleeson, Anthony Foley.

I reckon that side would give anyone a run for their money in the six nations....But Eddie doesn't seeing as Dempsey, Hickie and Foley aren't even in the squad.

I would have picked Reddan ahead of Stringer, but not for a first cap against a wounded French team in Paris...

David Wallace, Keith Gleeson,
    2 specialist open siders. French backrow would destroy either of them at near at no.6

France brought back 6-7 players into their squad all of which would get in the irish team.

Ireland will either pull off shock win or get trashed.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Girvan Dempsey; Geordan Murphy, Brian O'Driscoll, Gordon D'Arcy (last chance saloon) Denis Hickie; Ronan O'Gara, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes; Paul O'Connell(captain) Donncha O'Callaghan; David Wallace, Keith Gleeson, Anthony Foley.
    Great selection. That would be my first choice team as well. I particularly like the back row - all three men have experience and character.

Is Dempsey still injured? I've always been a fan of his. An interesting stat is that in the world cup year of 2003 and the triple crown campaign of 2004, Dempsey knocked the ball on once. That's once in two years of international rugby. He might not be in same mould as recent French full-backs such as Brusque and Poitrenaud, but Dempsey is a model of consistency. This season, he has been playing the rugby of his life.

Most Irish fans were delighted last season when he lost out to Murphy at full-back for the opening game against Italy. Why? It appears to me that Murphy is lost at full-back. He was poor in last year's Six Nations and he had a poor Lion's Tour. The place for Murphy is on the wing where he might do some damage.

As for our half-backs, ROG and Stringer are just so predictable. However, they are still better than the alternatives.

Following Ireland is a bit frustrating at the moment. We appear to have so much talent. The Leinster and Munster lads are playing great with their provinces, a few young Ulster players are beginning to emerge and we have some players in great from in England. However, we just seem to be lacking in ideas. We have no creativity and the team seems to have lost that fighting spirit that you associate with Irish teams.

Saturday's game will tell us a lot about the character of this team and how committed they are to Eddie O'Sullivan.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    2 specialist open siders. French backrow would destroy either of them at near at no.6
    Wallace is a specialist blind-side. Its where he learned his rugby, and has played all his best rugby.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Is Dempsey still injured? I've always been a fan of his. An interesting stat is that in the world cup year of 2003 and the triple crown campaign of 2004, Dempsey knocked the ball on once. That's once in two years of international rugby.
    Sadly those are statistics lost upon those 'in the know'. Dempsey, in the form of his life for Leinster can't get a sniff. He's not injured, just dropped. Murphy has been outstanding on the wing all season for Leicester....it's not rocket-science.

Joe

I think most of your selection will be playing by the end of the gamne on Sat. More by accident than design which is the worrying part. Leamy I am afraid will get a suspension today, so incomes Foley. Easterby will dissapear again and will be replaced be replaced by Gleeson. Doonacha will come on for Mal (as stated a great servant but one six nation too many). That really only leaves your switch for Murphy and Dempsey.

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock
    Joe

I think most of your selection will be playing by the end of the gamne on Sat. More by accident than design which is the worrying part. Leamy I am afraid will get a suspension today, so incomes Foley. Easterby will dissapear again and will be replaced be replaced by Gleeson. Doonacha will come on for Mal (as stated a great servant but one six nation too many). That really only leaves your switch for Murphy and Dempsey.
    But Gleeson isn't even in the squad or replacements,so that rules that one out. Substituting O'Kelly is a jike...he shouldn't be in the squad any more...and don't get me started on Foley !!

Leamy cleared

Leamy just cleared of stamping offence...free to play on Saturday.

ok that ends my theory, for some reason I though Glesson was in and stand corrected. Ok now I am offically worried. Still agree with your selection.

France have made 5 changes. At least Laporte isn't afraid to wield the axe when necessary unlike a certain EOS.

C Dominici (Stade Francais); A Rougerie (Clermont Auvergne), D Marty (Perpignan), F Fritz (Toulouse), C Heymans (Toulouse); F Michalak (Toulouse), JB Elissalde (Toulouse); O Milloud (Bourgoin), R Ibanez (London Wasps), P De Villiers (Stade Francais), F Pelous (Toulouse, capt), J Thion (Biarritz), Y Nyanga (Toulouse), J Bonnaire (Bourgoin), O Magne (London Irish).

Horan out!!

just spotted this on IRFU web site

"Marcus Horan has been withdrawn from the Ireland team to play France in the RBS 6 Nations Championship this Saturday (12th February). Horan has been struck down by the winter vomiting bug and will be unable to travel with the squad to Paris.

Leinster prop Reggie Corrigan has been called into the match 22 as cover for the unfortunate Horan and will be travelling with the squad following this morning’s Ireland training session"
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Thats a blow...maybe not as big a blow if he puts Reggie straight in instead of Best, but if he starts Best......