Thread: Limerick FC 2 - 1 Dublin City

Limerick FC 2 - 1 Dublin City

Just seen the result on aertel, can anyone give a report on the game, team selection, players in etc. Waters and Rose were the scorers on 6 and 9 mins.
    Would be interested to know how we performed, also what was the attendance!!!!
    Ps. Was Robbie there.............
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

the match

Noel Mooney, Anthony Wolfe, Paul Finnucane, Ken? Keily, Pat Purcell, Dave Ryan, Colm Heffernan, Tommy Barrett, Ger Burke, Paul Rose,Joe Waters. Subs used were Steven Conway (bro of dave), Derick McCarthy, Shane Guiren and John Healy, unused sub Tomas Clarke. Attn was 55, no sign of Robbie and no sign of a pitch either as there was 20 floodlight pylons in the way The team was way more phisical then last (purcell, waters, keily) but played football due to having footballers on the park (Heff, Bourke,Rose and later carthy) good workout overall, but i tell ye that jacks is depressing we never want to go back there even if we're stuck.

For the new season id start with a 4 4 2 of Mooney, (RB) Wolfe/Conway, Keily, Purcell, (LB)Buckley, Ryan/kelliher, Barrett and Finnucane in the center, Heff on the wing, up front Waters/Rose/Kelliher.
    Tobin, Guiren, Bourke, McCarthy, Healy, Molem, and other 21s.
    Last edited by gael353; 05/02/2006 at 3:32 PM.

no buckley?

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    no buckley?
    Working, conor molan was there too.

Would that be Dave Ryan???????????
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

Heard from Noel Mooney that Robbie will be back!
    I'm here to chew gum and kick ass. And I'm all out of gum!

It was a good performance by the team. The new signings have certainly added a more physical side to the team which was lacking last season. Our defense did well with Kiely and Purcell forming a good partnership. Both were vocal which was good. I think Finny won't do at full back. He did cut out a share of attacks but does lack the pace required for the position. Maybe, as gael suggests midfield might be better. Gerard Burke seemed ok in midfield. Was quiet in the first half but got more into it in the second. Doubt if he'd be first choice at the moment. Tommy Barrett had a quiet game. Colm Heffernan showed what a great asset he'll be with some lovely touches and passes. The ball to Kevin Waters for the first goal was excellent. Waters did very well up front with Rose. And if we have Robbie along with Derek McCarthy we should have plenty of fire power this season. Davy Ryan, Shane Guerin and Stephen Conway will need more experience but it's good to see potential in these young players. Things are looking promising on the field at the moment. Just hope NOC doesn't ruin it!
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Great result - even if it was a friendly.

Jaysus gael, if only it was Joe Waters. And don't go claiming credit for putting Finny in midfield. http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=425602#post425602
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Anyone know why Donnellan, Bakic, Tobin, and Jones were not around for this fixture, were they working or have they not re-signed for this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Westside
    Anyone know why Donnellan, Bakic, Tobin, and Jones were not around for this fixture, were they working or have they not re-signed for this season.
    Bakic is still in the kerry league, Tobin and jones are re signed but Jones is back in england with an illness. And yes LFC in Exile i would never claim credit for putting finni in midfield its just hes not a left back but a decent footballer he is. Oh and i just heard we got our licence.
    Last edited by gael353; 06/02/2006 at 7:44 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Bakic is still in the kerry league, Tobin and jones are re signed but Jones is back in england with an illness. And yes LFC in Exile i would never claim credit for putting finni in midfield its just hes not a left back but a decent footballer he is. Oh and i just heard we got our licence.
    And what about Donners!!!!!!!!! and why is Bakic still down in Kerry if Conway is up with us
    Last edited by Westside; 07/02/2006 at 3:53 AM.

And what about Donners!!!!!!!!!
    What about him indeed

Now that Heff's back he can take his ultra-voilent temprement elsewhere as far as I'm concerned

25 Posts
    And what about Donners!!!!!!!!!
    Hopefully he's found a level where he looks comfortable......

I'd certainly keep Donnellan. I know Heffernan is an absolute gem of a player but it's a bit much expecting him to play down both flanks at once...

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    I'd certainly keep Donnellan. I know Heffernan is an absolute gem of a player but it's a bit much expecting him to play down both flanks at once...
    Lets just be hopeful that he will be on one of the flanks.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Why not play Heffo on the left and Donners on the right(afterall he is right footed and has the ability to go past players), ok I know his temper got the better of him last season but hey he did contribute on the goals front. I would keep him.

Ah jaysus lads, I was only messin'