I used to watch that over on Australia ... flippen deadly show
Its a Friday dammit, but simple question, favourite quiz/game show?
At the moment, finding myself strangely addicted to Deal Or No Deal on Channel 4. It's all random luck, with no questions, but it's bloody gripping, no idea why...
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
I used to watch that over on Australia ... flippen deadly show
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
The idea is so simple but completely dramatic. You find yourself really rooting for the person. A girl yesterday played the game perfectly, and walked off with £33,000. But she dealed at the right time and she avoided winning what she would have won if she carried on. 1p! great show though...
'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'
Its a load of rubbish. It's originally an Australian show but the British have taken it and butchered it. They managed to drag it out to be an hour long when it could all be over easily in 30 mins, as it is in Oz. Also whats the deal with the stupid phone call and Edmonds (who I'll get onto in a minute) talking to someone we can't hear. In Oz they just put the amount offered on a screen and thats it.Originally Posted by PAURO 7
As for Edmonds - what a complete tool that man is. He's trying to revive his dead career with disatorous results. Back to the scrap heap Noel.
EDIT: Forget to add my favourite. It has to be Where In The World. Asia 7 please Theresa!
Last edited by finlma; 20/01/2006 at 1:58 PM.
Anyone remember Murphy's Micro Quiz M? big money!Originally Posted by finlma
I can't stand that deal or no deal,just find it way too slow,too much talking and that bit where the banker phones in his offer,just think it would be better if we could hear what he has to say.
Love Eggheads,hasn't been on in a few weeks though,hopefully it'll be back soon as I miss it.Like Mastermind and University Challenge too.
MOT
Blackboard Jungle anyone![]()
I quite like Deal no Deal tbh
Or Larry Gogans ... just a minute, the 60 second quiz
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
An ex student of mine was one of the "hostesses" on that - Tuohy was her name - can't remember her first name. Very full of herself as I can recall. Her younger sister Ann was much nicer - they were originally from Canada.Originally Posted by PAURO 7
Deal or no deal is on now!
I use to abuse my mate for watching this but right now I find myself with 7 others watching it in the common room in college![]()
Who Cares?!
Ah memories!Originally Posted by finlma
I prefer quizzes which actually concentrate on asking questions rather than having some sort of gimicky premise like Weakest Link and others. So that'd be University Challenge, 15-to-1 (if it's still on?), Mastermind (The Simpsons was a specialist round there a while back - aced that one!!) and a few others. Question of Sport is a bit of craic (also vaguely remember Sporting Triangles).
Game shows - Countdown springs to mind. Also bring back The Krypton Factor and The Crystal Maze - superb shows. There was a word quiz with Paul Coia on Channel 4 years ago which involved making really big words which had three certain letters in them in that order among other things - can't for the life of me remember the name now.
I used to like that show called, "Pass the buck" I think? It was presented by an Irish guy, O'Leary I think?
The Weakest Link and Who want's to be a millionaire were good at first but now I'm just fed up of them, although, they are much better than the Irish version(Gay Byrne and Dunphy)
Yeah, Millionaire - that's another one I don't particularly like. Just ask the f*@!ing question!!!
Anyone remember Masterteam, hosted by Angela Rippon back in the mid- to late-80s? Blockbusters too, though Liza Tarbuck ruined it on Sky One...
Jepordy with Alec Trebeck,best quiz show ever![]()
Treasure Hunt on BBC.....although some of the clues.....![]()
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
Best name for a quiz show has to be Al Murray's (The Pub Landlord), 'Fact Hunt'! In daytime telly land, on Channel 5 in the UK, theres some word game presented by some blonde bit of stuff, (think its 'Brainteaser') and half the contestants cant flipping spell!!!! as for memories, 'Blockbusters' with the speccy nerds and Bob Hopeless and 'Bullseye' brings them all flooding back....
Going for gold was great. Im now coming round to deal or no deal, but think you should be able to hear the banker. Not a fan of weakest link, but i did like 15-to-1 when it was on.
where in the world was alright .
going for gold was good too.
that one with paul ross was fun
blackboard jungle really good back in the day
[QUOTE=finlma]
As for Edmonds - what a complete tool that man is. He's trying to revive his dead career with disatorous results. Back to the scrap heap Noel.[QUOTE]
Yes finlma what is Edmonds up to? trying to resurrect his career by hosting a show which has been an unbelievable success since coming onto our screens, a show which has made a mockery of all its compeitiors with regard to viewing figures!what is he up to!
Jaysus give the man a break he's doing a great job and is a great tv presenter, would love to see a return of Noels house party, a show which sculpted Saturday night tv to what it is today. Think of Ant and Decs Saturday night takeaway ... its Noels house party without mr blobby and more adbreaks!
Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!
"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991
2005 - a great year for Irish football
i think edmonds has delibrately been out of the limelight for the last 10 years i think he moved into business or something like that