Aw sir hamish no offence takin....am as bad meself.
Sorry Ray wasnt slagging ya.
Honest to God, Magicme, AND no offence, I'm really not a flirt at all at all, just friendly too and like sending good, clean vibes without any over (or under) tones intended.Originally Posted by Magicme
I'm harmless, I am.
Apologies if I sounded that way.
BTW watch that Ray - he's an awful man.though he mightn't like the "wee" remark. heh heh.
Hope to Christ Green Tribe doesn't come across this thread 'cos she'll give me an awful slagging.
Was this thread about football??? LOL
Aw sir hamish no offence takin....am as bad meself.
Sorry Ray wasnt slagging ya.
1. I'm not bad at all. I'm very good so my....eh....nurse tells me.Originally Posted by Magicme
(pity there isn't a halo smiley)
2. Oh yes you were.![]()
Magicme, do many people use the United all weather pitches for five a sides and suchlike??? Here in Beeslow we have two floodlit allweather pitches and the club takes in a couple of grand a week from them. Great source for fundraising isn't it and promotes the club too,
When I meant five a sides , I meant, y'know, a bunch of people (from banks, shops, factories etc who may just want to keep fit) getting together for an hour's kick-about as opposed to Monaghan United's under age and other teams using it, if you follow.
Oh fcuk, she's sending me a PM - now I'm in trouble.
Ha ha...the pm is a nice one...(sorta)!
Yeah our Astro Parks get alot of use but they are separate commercial entity, they only rent the ground from us so we dont profit from them except in that our 8 juvenile teams get an hours training each every week and our mini leagues get 2 hours on a sunday morning. Also brings more people about the club and some even come into the bar for post kickabout drinks and to watch footie on the big screen sky sports enabled telly (trying to promote the place a bit!)
Ray knows the high esteem I hold him in so I know he wont worry too much about it. Call him wee coz he is a wee darlin and being a nordy we use that affectionately not slaggingly! (new word invented!)
Ray is dead sound but I've let him away without a slagging for far too long.Originally Posted by Magicme
Do Monaghan United own those astro turf pitches? I don't get the bit about a separate commercial entity?? Does the money raised from customers not go into the club coffers???
BTW you're clubhouse is awesome. Last time I was there was for a schools international v Northern Ireland in February 2000 and I think the new astro turf pitches were being developed then. I was there loads of other times when Athlone played there too of course and we had loads of college (schools) national finals and semi finals there too. Best set up in the EL - seriously.
I remember when the Mons were in the Premier and I think ye got quite a few 4 figure crowds then. If you could just make that breakthrough into the top echelon again, the club will take off like a rocket.![]()
Hamish
No we dont own the Astro Parks. The money goes to the business men who set the place up.![]()
If you thought the clubhouse was good in 2000 you should see it now! Its been re-furbished and is a really comfortable place for a quiet drink, to watch the footie or as has become really popular in the last few weeks (too feckin popular have only had one Sat nite off in months!) 21st 18th christenings and all sorts of other private parties.
Yeah would be good if we could get back up to the top flight again but not sure it will happen and even if it does how much use it will b to us when the new criteria are in place....
Thanks for the compliments, am proud to be a member of a club with such great facilities and the determination to develop football further to include everyone in the community. We are hoping to start work on developing our 3 pitches at the back so that the our teams have a great training area and match pitches for our Womens and Juvenile teams.
That's a bummer about the astro pitches - incredible money spinner.Originally Posted by Magicme
Thought those pitches - opposite the clubhouse - far side - were there when I was up there in 2000??
Don't write off your chances regarding criteria - most clubs have not got the facilities ye have. I knw there are other criteria too though.
Yeah the other pitches were there but we are going on an upgrading buzz and gonna hopefully put in dressing rooms, dugouts, fencing etc to make it one of the best footballing centres in the country!
Yeah the astro are a money spinner alright but who knows maybe some day in the future we will buy them out!
I'll send you a PM later honeyOriginally Posted by Magicme
- the Bealnamulla FC mamager has a new mobile number and the brother in law has it written down somewhere - when he gets it I'll PM it.
xxLOL
.......:d :d :d