Bray is the eight biggest town in Ireland.Originally Posted by sligoman
http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.ph...c&va=&srt=pnan
Sligo is sixteenth.
In favour
Meh
Against but would probably still go to matches
Against and would probably not go to as many matches as before.
Regardless of the outcome, I will support my team wherever and whenever they play. Thats what a supporter is.
Bray is the eight biggest town in Ireland.Originally Posted by sligoman
http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.ph...c&va=&srt=pnan
Sligo is sixteenth.
Well I think it should be down to the competence of the board of directors
In which case there would only be about 5 teams in the Premier Division and UCD would be one of them![]()
You're dealing with the FAI here.Originally Posted by REVIP
"If a club who can get under 200 for games as Galway did last year - despite giving season ticket holders more value in vouchers than the value of their season ticket, effectively paying people to go to games"
Where u came up with this figure is beyond me and just shows why people are getting fed up with you and your fellow UCD and DC fans rantings.Our average gate last season was 650 and we had over 1,400 people at our game versus Athlone. What was UCD's average gate last season in the "Premier Division".I have been going to el games for over 35yrs and i have never seen more than 350 max at UCD/United game in Belfield,
The season Ticket Campaign that we run has been very succesful fundraiser for the club which has seen over 400 Tickets Sold before the season starts and this season we hope to make it over 500.
The decision has now been made and its time you stpped ranting and got off your high horse and did some work to ensure your clubs future rather than burying your head in the sand.
187 official attendance against Kilkenny given by a Galway fan to the attendances thread. Another three or four games under 400. This sort of jumping in to push your argument down people's throats without checking facts just shows why people are getting fed up with you and your fellow Galway United fans' rantings.Originally Posted by gufct
lads, don't make it personal..
for our away game against Kilkenny. I am involved in running Match days in Terryland so I think I should have a better idea of our attendances over the last 20 odd years.
Did I say Sligo is bigger?Originally Posted by REVIP
What is your point anyway, what you're saying is actually making Bray Wanderers look worse cos you're saying Bray is a bigger town so they should have bigger support than Rovers, which they don't, so I'll ask again, apart from a geography lesson there, what is you point?.
Originally Posted by REVIP
One of Bray's biggest problems is that the Carlisle Grounds have no covered seats (part of the licensing requirements). Are there plans to change this?
Lads (and ladies![]()
)! All this fighting over who is the candidate to stay in the league, or in what division, is just what the muppets at the top of the banana tree want. We are all in here kicking each other in the shins over this - is Galway a better choice than UCD, is Bray is a better choice than Sligo. Everyone is gossipping over who should be looking over their shoulders. John Delaney must be chuckling to himself in that really disturbing self congratualtory fashion he has.
Our focus should be firstly on whether this is a good or bad thing for the league. If we differ, fair enough: but those in favour of it should try to explain why they are, as should those against, for the benefit of those who are unsure what to think. Fair play to those of differing opinion who have given their reasons, but don't badger the poor folk who have said something that you disagree with, ffs.
If most of us are against, (as appears to be the case) we should be doing something about it - contacting our clubs, etc. AFAIK, the four abstinant clubs were Waterford, Dublin City, Mon Utd and Bray(??). The rest of us need to find out why our club thinks that this is in their best interest, report back here, so we can assemble some kind of idea of what is really going on here, and then do something in a unifed and coherent manner - it isn't completely ratified yet.
Yes, I am against, vehemently against, and amazed that it was passed. Personally, I think that this is potentially taking even more of the little power that supporters have in this league, and removing it to the possibly the single most compellingly incompetent organisation in a country that has a surplus of incompetent organisations as is (the league itself being counted among them). The flesh of the proposal doesn't seem (to my naive eyes) to actually exist yet, so the vote should have been on whether the matter should have been further researched, not bleerin' implemented at the end of a season that will be half over before the parameters be decided upon.
Those goons in Merrion Square are laughing at us with our silly infighting when we should be intelligently discussing this.
That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.
Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!
Originally Posted by Dodge
Pineapple Stu neatly sums up the proposals as follows:Originally Posted by sligoman
"An invitational league with acceptance based on crowds, marketability, facilities and (to a much lesser degree) league placing and ability"
Bray is a major potential market area - the most affluent and most rapidly growing area in the country is on the doorstep, Cherrywood alone will have 20,000 people.
Suggesting that people in south Co Dublin and north Wicklow might travel to Phibsborough or Tallaght is pointless - if Bray were not given the chance of playing at top level the potential fan base would simply be lost to Sky Sports
but pineapple stu is struggling badly to back up these doomsday prophecies....Originally Posted by REVIP
Yeah, I've only give quotes from national media, FAI documents and eL personnel...![]()
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
but you havent really
Which is why in the words of Groucho Marx " I'm Against It".Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
But I am in favour of the smoking ban![]()
I leave it up to you folks about the format 'cos you know more about it but I refer back to my points in the "new clubs" thread.
What's the point of the FAI hoping that some people in Tralee, Mullingar, Letterkenny etc etc MIGHT enter a club.
As the organisation in control of all football in the Republic they have to join with all levels of the game and take a completely new course toward the senior game in this country.
Look, one way or the other, the FAI will probably end up with some hotch-potch of a 12 twelve team Premier and a 10 team First Division.
Then what?? Don't see any difference TBH. Ok, we'll have better financial controls, better grounds but where is the future thinking for, say, 10 years from now?? The Dutch, Norwegians and Danes did that when they had sh!t leagues back in the 60s and 70s. Look at how they improved.
I repeat my post from that thread.
The word that comes to mid about the FAI "plans" at the moment is
"Tinkering"
"Presuming the Irish League and EL don't ever amalgamate how about this......eh....fantasy league in.........eh.........2012? - based on today's data
Premier
Cork City, Derry City, Shelbourne, UCD, Bohemians, St. Pats., Longford Town, Sligo Rovers, Waterford United, Dublin City, Drogheda United, Bray Wanderers.
First Division North:
Athlone Town, Finn Harps, Monaghan United, Galway United, Dundalk, Meath County, Mayo County, Roscommon County, Mullingar/Westmeath X!.
First Division South:
Cobh Ramblers, Kerry County, Tipperary County, Wexford County, Laoise County, Kilkenny City, Limerick, Shamrock Rovers, Kildare County,
Leave the smaller competitions - Provincial Cups, League Cups for pre-season mini-tournaments to help get clubs match fit for Europe and the upcoming season.
All Divisions: One home and one away game for each club, plus FAI Cup no replays of games in that - on the day results.
Top Two teams in Div. 1 North v Top Two teams in Div 1 South in a mini-league - home and away games.
Top two teams in this mini-league promoted/Bottom two in Premier demoted.
Third and fouth play third and fourth from the Premier in two semi finals and a final. Winner occupied remaining Premier Division spot.
Simple formula and leaves out an overdose of league games in all divisions.
The above county teams then have six years to improve facilities with the help of FAI and government monies, planning advice from economists, marketeers and with an active role given to the local football associations who'd have local knowledge.
There's a true nationwide league and the new county clubs have the opportunity to play in the FAI Cup too.
Just a thought at 2.50am in the morning but I feel, if the FAI REALLY want to generate a true nationwide league then the above makes it simple for even them to understand.
One last thing, if, say, eg. Tipperary couldnt make it, then you have St. Michael's or Clonmel as an alternative.
Like Australia, this would take leadership from the top, have local associations and clubs in full involvement and cut out the need to drop any club unless that club starts to break the licence rules already established since Genesis.
We're not such a small poverty ridden country that we couldn't rise to that challenge and put away any petty differences to do the above. It's completely achieveable."
Re my above post. Have a question for you folks involved in the game - CollegeTilIDie, Magicme etc etc.
What if that idea was introduced as a discussion document by a league or club??
Is it too late to do so now??
For example, if I was to chat to my mates in the Ros.League, Athlone Town FC and if they were to (agree to it at first) bring it via the Connacht FA or something like that, could it be done??
I'm not going above my station, so to speak, just thinking out loud here and wonder could it be done via the usual channels??
Help me out here.![]()
no comment.
But the Monaghan public don't give a toss about Senior football.Originally Posted by monutdfc