Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Young Irish players to watch in the UK in 2006/07

148 Posts

Young Irish players to watch in the UK in 2006/07

A young centre halve that is on the bench for Norwich.Hes only 16.Came on against west ham in the cup and looked excellent.Think hes also captain of their youth team.Also believe it or not Norwich fans believe that Gary Docherty is their player of the year so far.He,Robert Green and Paul McVeigh have all been excellent in an otherwise dismal season!!!

Btw imo McSheffrey would be a great addition to the Irish squad.He has scored something like 13 league goals this season and is still extremely young.

I really do think that if we get a very favourable draw this Friday,we have a decent shout of qualification.We have arguably 3 world class players at the moment:Finnan,Given and Duff.Keano is showing that potential again while there is a host of lads coming up that have unbelievable promise like Doyle,Ireland and O'Brien.Reid is developing and playing like a top player at blackburn also in a position that we really need a bit of bite.People say we lack experience but i think we have a core of extremely experienced players.

148 Posts
    Many countries in pot 2 and 3 dont have any world class players and neither do Greece.

2,693 Posts
    Norwich website says Spillane born in Cambridge. Anyone know anything about him? Is he Irish or does he just sound Irish?

Well according to this:
    http://www.thefa.com/England/U17s/Ne...land_Mar05.htm

He was sent off for fouling Theo Walcott in Ireland U17 match vs England.

148 Posts
    As far as I know hes Engliash but he has played for the Ireland youth teams.Im going to try to make it to the Norwich Arsenal reserve game next Monday so hopefully can see him.My English mates say that hes declared for Ireland and is in their words "**** hot"!!!

148 Posts
    Just found this:

http://www.ncfc-fans.co.uk/yoursay/v...hp?t=253&sid=1

Hes a strapping six footer,just what we need!

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Well according to this:
    http://www.thefa.com/England/U17s/Ne...land_Mar05.htm

He was sent off for fouling Theo Walcott in Ireland U17 match vs England.
    I remember that game alright. I think a few of the posters on this forum went up to it.

If Football Manager 06 is anything to go by, then he will be a class act!

thats what they say about fm05 in that thread!

82 Posts
    He wrote the Mike Hammer seires as well...

Jack of all trades, is our Mickey!!!!

131 Posts

Young Irish players to watch Next Season in the UK

There seems to be an enormous amount of talented young Irish players around at the moment. The following is a list of players that I think could be ones to watch over the coming season.

Owen Garvan
    Position: Central Midfield
    Club: Ipswich

Has been a regular starter for Ipswich this season and along with Supple has been one of the few positives for the club in an otherwise fruitless campaign. He's a central midfield player with a wide range of passing and an eye for goal. Apparently he's already attracted the interest of West Ham and the general view is if he continues to progress at the current rate it won't be long before he's snapped up by a Premiership team.

Shane Supple
    Position: Goalkeeper

A young goalkeeper who's exceptionally agile and a great shot stopper. Along with Garvan he has also been a regular starter at Ipswich this season keeping Lewis Price the Welsh International keeper out of the team. Looks to be the natural successor to Given.

Billy Clarke
    Position: Striker

One of the stars of the Ipswich Youth team's FA Cup win last season Clarke is a small but fast and skillful striker who has made a handful of appearances for Ipswich this season. He should get more first team outings next season but considering he's only just turned 18 he has time on his side.

Shane Long
    Club: Reading

Transfered from Cork City with Doyle in the summer Long is a lightning quick and powerful striker who has made a number of appearances for Reading's first team this season scoring two goals. Might find it harder next season to get regular first team action due to Reading's imminent promotion to the Premiership but a loan spell to a Championship team could do him the world of good.

Jonathan Hayes
    Position: Left Midfield
    Club: Reading

A very highly rated and talented winger who has struggled to make an impact at Reading this season mainly due to the form of Bobby Convey. At only 19 he has time on his side and a loan move to a lower league team next season as with Long could afford him his chance to impress.

Chris McCann
    Position: Left or Central Midfield
    Club: Burnley

A young midfield player with a thunderous left foot McCann has been a regular starter this season and has scored two goals. Should have the opportunity to flourish at Burnley as he'll no doubt be given the time to develop in the absence of resources to buy a ready made replacement.

Paul McShane
    Position: Central Defence
    Club: Brighton

Currently on loan from Manchester United McShane has had an impressive season at struggling Brighton and has weighed in with a number of goals from defence. If he continues to develop he looks good enough to make it in the Premiership though his lack of pace could be a stumbling block.

Kevin Foley
    Position: Right Back
    Club: Luton

Foley has continued to impress at Luton this season despite their promotion to a higher league. He attracted interest from West Ham during the transfer window following Repka's departure and could be on the move to the Premeriship in the summer. Hard tackling and pacey he looks to have all the attributes required to be a top quality full back.

Jay Tabb
    Position: Right Midfield
    Club: Brentford

Pacey and skillful winger currently plying his trade for Brentford. Tabb has been one of the stars of their season and looks likely to be playing in the Championship next year if Brentford as expected manage to get promoted.

Andrew Keogh
    Club: S****horpe

Has already bagged 14 goals for S****horpe so far this season including a goal against Man City in the third round of the FA Cup. His partnership with Billy Sharp proved to be the most potent strike force in League 1 until Sharp's injury a few weeks ago. Both look likely to attract interest from bigger clubs during the summer.
    Last edited by youngirish; 20/03/2006 at 2:16 PM.

Great post.
    I'd also like to add the names of Darron Gibson of Manchester United and Darren O'Dea of Celtic. Gibson will probably get loaned out to a Championship club next season, a bit like McShane this season. I think if O'Dea is ever going to break into the first team at Celtic, next season is the time to do it. Next season will also be a big one for Anthony Stokes. He'll be 18 this summer and I would expect Wenger to send him out on loan next season. Then we'll see what he's made of.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish
    Owen Garvan
    Position: Central Midfield
    Garvan was mentioned as one of the "bubbling under" names in this month's FourFourTwo's article "50 Best Players Outside The Premiership". Didn't make the top 50, but tipped as one for the future.

I would not be overly confident of Long and Hayes being kept by Reading
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    I would not be overly confident of Long and Hayes being kept by Reading
    I agree. Reading reserves are in no way good enough for the Premiership so expect a lot of changes there.

Are we only allowed look at irish abroad?

FAI.ie woefully out of date but you get the idea...

Stephen Ward (Bohemians)
    Born: 20/8/85 Caps: 2 Goals: 0 Debut: v Poland 27/4/04
    Equally comfortable in midfield or attack, Stephen Ward joined Bohemians from Portmarnock and is currently on the fringes of the first team squad at Dalymount Park. He has previously been capped by the Irish schools.

Roy O’Donovan (Cork City)
    Born: 10/08/85. Caps 2. Goals 0
    Debut: v Northern Ireland 16/08/05

26 Posts
    i thought it seemed to be a common thought that o'donavon will never be good enough to cut it at the highest level? is it the same one who was at coventry a few years back?

Great post Young Irish. In that FourFourTwo article, Jay Tabb also featured. Apparently he's the best player at Brentford, for whatever that means. I think Garvan is the smart money here.

114 Posts
    David Bell at Luton is a real class act, I'd not be surprisped to see him establish himself at Luton and attract attention at an even higher level. Some premiership clubs were closely watching him before he moved to Luton.

Kevin Thornton at Coventry is another I think can make a big impression next year.

Michael Timlin was viewed as the next big thing at Fulham a couple of years back before a number of really bad injury's took their toll. If he can recover his old form, he has huge potential - & talent.

And I'd suggest a make or break year for Darren Potter.

O yeah and Marcos Painter at Birmingham is surely one of our hotest prospects.

Agree Garvin looks the real deal.
    Last edited by Paddy Garcia; 20/03/2006 at 10:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    Great post Young Irish. In that FourFourTwo article, Jay Tabb also featured. Apparently he's the best player at Brentford, for whatever that means.
    Tabb is like a fat(ter) version of Andy reid with less pace and ability.

The point i was trying to make it there will be no attention on the likes of Ward but if he gets a move to the UK suddenly you will be adding to next greatest thing list. Shane Long is only a kid & played handful of 1st team games at any level yet he included in your list...

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    i thought it seemed to be a common thought that o'donavon will never be good enough to cut it at the highest level? is it the same one who was at coventry a few years back?
    He is indeed the same Roy O'Donovan.
    While he has already cut it at the highest level of domestic soccer, his temperament could become very detrimental to his considerable talents.
    Needs to cop on.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast