Thread: Eircom League votes on radical revamp

Why is everyone knocking this idea?
    Is it out of fear your club wont be selected

The league needs to change and while the FAI are a shower of Muppets I think this idea is a good one! Whatever happens you can bet on it that the Premier will be made up of a minimum of 10 teams. So its going to be no use the FAI saying you need 40,000 seats and a fairground out the back is it?

The 10 best placed teams are going to be picked as it gives the marketing people the best possible chance of making a GO of it! Its a fresh start and I think its worth taking a shot?

As was stated there will be ranking 1 to 22 on your final league placing so if Shels finish 13th (i.e. last in the premier) and Athlone 11th (i.e. 1st in the First) and both are equal in other aspects then Athlone will get the nod. Remember that there is no use having 3 teams in the premier so it will come to league placing and the higher up you are the better your chance. Even if people are saying UCD and Dublin City are not in the shake up they can do their chances no harm by finishing as far up the table as possible. There are going to be lots of teams with poor grounds and crowds so the FAI cant set the bar too high.

So Worse Case scenario

Your club doesn't make it into the 10/12 team premier, big deal.. You will then see the criteria used to get into the premier and your club will set out to match or better this and get promoted ? I think you are all being short sighted and thinking of your own clubs instead of the bigger picture for the soccer in this country.

The league badly needs standards and EL clubs are not making money today so without accepting the FAI deal and trying to make a go of it what else do you suggest?

It needs a shake up to capture public attention. Something that can be marketed as a new product and not just going for a 10 to 12 and back to 10 team league every few seasons.

If Shels are not 1 of the 10/12 best placed teams to take the league forward then I'd accept it and support my team in an effort to get promoted.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

1,550 Posts
    I think most people aren't against it, they'd just like to know more detail before the vote. That's a perfectly reasonable position, and it's a total farce that this is going to a vote before people even know exactly what they're voting on. Also, as pointed out before, if the process isn't watertight it could lead to courtcases, rows and yet more bad publicity. I think most people are all for this, they just want it done right, not rushed through in a half-assed manner.

I'm against any factors which cannot be quantified coming into the equation (marketabilty etc)

1,550 Posts
    The more I think about this the more I think it should be voted down. If the FAI want to merge with the league they could have at least got the initial vote right. It's a total insult to the league that they have failed to provide a more detailed description of their plans. The clubs should reject this so that the FAI see that the league won't accept this crap. This is a massive step for the league, and it simply has to be done properly. It really wouldn't have taken a lot to get this right, why didn't they?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Why is everyone knocking this idea?
    Is it out of fear your club wont be selected
    Yes, in a nutshell.

But not only that, it's the possibility that you could be relegated despite winning the league - the FAI are going to pick their favourite ten teams and sod the rest. They are going to pack the eL board with their people so nobody can dissent any more. They have somehow managed to find the only parts of the Genesis Report with any merit, discarded them and gone with the rest. It would kill the 12 teams who don't make the Premier Division, and probably one or two who do make it. In short, it would kill Irish football. How this is good for Irish football, and how some people can't see this, is beyond me.

The support from Galway fans for this is pathetic. The only club to have had a forum with Genesis - even the NLSA has had a very negative reaction to a suggestion of a forum with Genesis. Genesis evidently told them that they were going to be promoted on absolutely no other merits than being based in a city. Short-termism in the extreme.

you may as well have a league based on who can sell the most shirts,such **** ideas,typical FAI!! apart from the playoff teams palying non-league teams

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1
    you may as well have a league based on who can sell the most shirts,such **** ideas,typical FAI!! apart from the playoff teams palying non-league teams
    At a wild guess the 10 clubs would be, based on nothing more than a hunch but also a fair? geographical spread.

Shamrock Rovers
    Shelbourne
    Waterford United
    Cork City
    Limerick
    Galway United
    Derry City
    Athlone Town
    Longford Town
    Drogheda United

Not saying I'd agree with any of it but have in the past few months been sounded out for an opinion by a number of parties into what they were effictively promoting as a "franchise" set-up.

Meet these criteria* and be from these geographic areas and you can join our "elite" club.

*Whatever criteria they decide is in their own best interests.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

3,488 Posts
    Even if people are saying UCD and Dublin City are not in the shake up they can do their chances no harm by finishing as far up the table as possible.
    Just noticed this. That's b0llox. The FAI have quite clearly picked their 10 teams. Everyone else can sod off for all they care.

So Worse Case scenario

Your club doesn't make it into the 10/12 team premier, big deal.. You will then see the criteria used to get into the premier and your club will set out to match or better this and get promoted ?
    How does a club go about increasing it's potential fanbase? We're building 500 more apartments in Belfield, will that help?

As for our marketability, we've recently launched a new crest, I hope that's taken into account during the fair and transparent process I expect at the end of next season.

71 Posts
    What is a fair geographical spread? Something that takes account of demograpics or just sheer hectares?

Higgins, I don't put time, money and energy into my club to see it get relegated for off the field matters. I'm not some blind patriot who would watch my club get fecked over and acquiesce as it's for the good of the Irish game. Not that I consider this for the good of the Irish game. I think it will in fact give rise to stagnation.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    Shamrock Rovers
    Shelbourne
    Waterford United
    Cork City
    Limerick
    Galway United
    Derry City
    Athlone Town
    Longford Town
    Drogheda United
    Quite possible alright. And therein lies the problem. You've got Waterford, who had serious financial troubles the past year, were utter cr@p and were nearly relegated. You've got Rovers, who were relegated. You've got Athlone, Galway and Limerick, neither of whom made an impression in the First Division last season. This league would be far weaker than the current one. Good teams are being actively hounded out. And you've got people who are in favour of this?! People who think we should reduce the quality of the Premier (no offence to any of the teams mentioned, obviously) to improve it?! "Big" clubs are being rewarded despite a hsitory of not being able to take advantage of their bigness. Utter nonsense. Disgrace, in fact, would be a better word.

[QUOTE=Poor Student]What is a fair geographical spread? Something that takes account of demograpics or just sheer hectares?

/QUOTE]

I never said it was a fair geographical spread thus the question mark after fair.

Personally I don't think geography should be considered, clubs should be judged on their sporting merit along with other factors such as financial stability, facilities and resources, short and long term achiveables.

What must be borne in mind here is that there is a perceived rump within the league and those clubs are generally the newer smaller clubs while others believe they have more strength and influence. Not prepared to go on record but I'd be very surprised if further selected leaks do not reach our media in the coming days
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I'm against any factors which cannot be quantified coming into the equation (marketabilty etc)
    i'd have to agree with this. there's no possible equation or criteria that will satisfy everyone. it's impossible to come to an absolute decision about what ten clubs deserve to be in the top tier. matters such as history certainly can not be quantified, shams should defo be considered to be a top 10 side but they are currently in the mire but have fans to eventually take them back where they belong. dublin city might be grand now but u never know what might happy seery&then they could just be a kilkenny or monaghan within months(no offence lads)
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    there's no possible equation or criteria that will satisfy everyone. it's impossible to come to an absolute decision about what ten clubs deserve to be in the top tier.
    Nonsense. 12 teams deserve to be in the Premier next year. They're the 12 teams we spent last season deciding. They are Bohs, Bray, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Dublin City, Longford, Shels, Pat's, UCD, Waterford and Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Yes, in a nutshell.
    The support from Galway fans for this is pathetic. The only club to have had a forum with Genesis - even the NLSA has had a very negative reaction to a suggestion of a forum with Genesis. Genesis evidently told them that they were going to be promoted on absolutely no other merits than being based in a city. Short-termism in the extreme.

Ah the "club" invited Genesis to come down and have an open forum.Don't have a go at Galway fans just because we have been told we will be in the elete leahue.We'll be there on merit as will any other team who gets there.The league needs re-structuring...it has to start somewhere.If you want to talk about getting there on football grounds...GUFC will win the league this year anyway.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Nonsense. 12 teams deserve to be in the Premier next year. They're the 12 teams we spent last season deciding. They are Bohs, Bray, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Dublin City, Longford, Shels, Pat's, UCD, Waterford and Sligo.
    i highlighted the word deserve for a reason refering to what clubs the fai will deem deserving of a place in their fantastic new league
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

With respect pineapple, some of them don't as there is now way they have the facilities deemed neccesary by the club license

1,550 Posts
    Not to burst your bubble Conor but the Genisis bods and their backers seem to have a slight tendancy to tell that to everyone! It suits them to do so- the more clubs believe they'll be in this brave new world that will cure all the ills of the Irish football scene, the more will vote their plans through and hence justify paying Genisis a large amount of money to get a lot of stuff wrong and point out a bunch of obvious stuff.

Incidentally- why the hell would anyone be bothered to watch the first this year is this goes through- it'd be totally pointless. How are we meant to get players to sign if there may be no chance of promotion? Why bother watching Galway play out a meaningless season if they're going to definately go up anyway? If you're in the premier, why bother having a first team budget, spend everything on the ground for a year instead, sure you can't be ranked lower than 14th anyway! The whole thing is crazy.

I do see where your coming from G harps.It will be odd playing in a league knowing that if you win it you might not get promoted.....only in Ireland .But i still am FOR the changes.....the leahue does need a revamp.But if there was an alternative way of doing things then i'd be open to them.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    At a wild guess the 10 clubs would be, based on nothing more than a hunch but also a fair? geographical spread.

Shamrock Rovers
    Shelbourne
    Waterford United
    Cork City
    Limerick
    Galway United
    Derry City
    Athlone Town
    Longford Town
    Drogheda United
    Just curious but why are Bohs out of this. We have the biggest support in Dublin based on the attendances here, not much more than Shels but still the biggest. We own our own ground, unlike Shels, Rovers and sort of Pats who own most of theirs. We are the oldest club and after Rovers probably the best known in Dublin. also to Bohs fans where do these rumours come from that the FAI want us out? Not doubting it but is there not an over reaction to rumours.

Lastly the proposal is a joke. Already fed up with the league but if this happens and we end up in Dalymount with Shels, think I will just forget about this joke of a league.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast