Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Funniest Moment seen in eL

64 Posts
    When manager of Pats, Dolan running past us in the main stand in Tolka with his arms up, then slipping and hitting the mud

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy
    When manager of Pats, Dolan running past us in the main stand in Tolka with his arms up, then slipping and hitting the mud
    That reminds me of an incident in Finn Park a few years ago. One of their main stewards(always trying to show his authority to the Rovers fans ) was giving out to one of our fans and then when he was finished, he was walking away and slipped and landed on his arse with muck all over him, all of us had a good laugh at that bit

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Aaron O'callaghan kicking a ball at pat fenlon while nutsy and matthews were arguing during our 4-1 demolition of shels last year!
    Think he was aiming for Eamon Collins by all accounts! I also remember Pat Dolan munching his way through about four Mars bars one after the other pitchside one night when with Pats. He started roaring about some decision and somebody shouts "ah shut up and eat a Mars bar Dolan!". He actually laughed if I remember rightly.

The Enda-McGuill Cup final last season in the Carlisle. Maurice Dunne chases down a ball that is going out of play (towards the seats about 10 yards past the halfway line towards the Bowling Alley). Maurice continues chasing 'till the ball is gone over the line (he never looked like getting to it TBH) and he cant slow himself down in thime to avoid a collision with the wall. Legs hit the wall and over he goes, only to re-appear some 5-10 seconds later looking a bit dazed

Funniest moment in EL history for me has to be Dolan getting sent off for Pats against Shels and then hopping over the fence and running around the perimeter of the field doing laps

Two more:

Told to me by a dublin born Harps fan: Pat Dolan was walking along the sideline before a Cork game when he said, "The pitch is a bit soft.", my friend shouted back; "The pitch isn't soft, you're a fat *******.".

During the infamous battle of Belfield, UCD (as we were then known) took the lead against Limerick. Myself, Aberdonian Stu and two supporters not on this forum jumped up, hugged, then fell over and started rolling down the hill in one big 60 stone mass. Pat Dolan and Eoin Hand, below us on the slope, moved faster than I've ever seen a fat ******* and someone recovering from cancer move in my life.

RE: My above post.
    ******* means b a s t a r d

Originally posted by Student Mullet
    Really

I couldn't sleep all night, I was tossing and turning trying to figure that one out!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet
    Ever hear of the EDIT button?.

I started a thread on the same topic not so long ago... [/Nostalgic]

For me when a local photographer suddenly turned around and caltered the linesman was funny (last season against Pat's iirc), and he then had to be replaced!

Against Bray last season (first home match) when a black dog ran onto the pitch escaping everyones attempts to grab it. Some stewards came onto the pitch only to be booed!

When Chris Breen scored in our league match against Galway in 2004 to give us what I think was the winner the heavens poured exactly the moment the ball hit the back of the net!

Paddy McGrenaghan (or Rivaldo as he was nicknamed) was warming up with some free-kicks at half-time (final game of last season versus Bray, and what was also Paddy's last game for Harps) and took one which went a bit wide and ended hitting some woman's soup, which ended up splattering all over her! She spent about five minutes cleaning herself before going back to order another soup!

That match also the linesman was having a bit of a sh*te game and at the beginning of the second half some fan started verbally abusing him all on his own (he wasn't really serious though, more of having a laugh): "F*cking hell linesman could ye not f*cking see the ball was out you f*cking c*nt" or something like that, going on for a good minute. What made it more funny was that the ground was half empty (what with the title decider being on TV / us having F-all to play for). I was nearly in stitches laughing - as was another guy although I could see he was trying his best not to as his wife wasn't too humoured!

Isn't really funny now but at the time about 60 harps fans belting out "You can stick your f*cking treble up your hole *drum* *drum*" when we were playing well against Derry in the league was quite funny.

Quote Originally Posted by monzo
    [/Nostalgic]
    When Chris Breen scored in our league match against Galway in 2004 to give us what I think was the winner the heavens poured exactly the moment the ball hit the back of the net!

Was that the game up in Ballbofey were yee scored 2 goals in the last few minutes too beat us 2-1.That was the biggest sickner!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by monzo
    Isn't really funny now but at the time about 60 harps fans belting out "You can stick your f*cking treble up your hole *drum* *drum*" when we were playing well against Derry in the league was quite funny.
    Hilarious, fans of one of the least succesful eL clubs EVER teeling us to stuff our trophies. You have made my day.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I think it is rose tinted glasses there my friend, the gardai were there an hour an a half after the game, It was Jimmy McGeough coming out into the middle of the crowd pleading with them that sorted that. Connors was no where to be seen either. I have photos of all of that.
    Your worse to repsond to a fella from the Workers Party, probably claims to have seen Stalin knocking down the Berlin Wall!!
    Cork City FC

Bohs v Shels ,, I think '94

One of the Bohs' Stewards running towards our area to scare people from climbing up the Fence in the Connaught Stand.

Only problem being, it was a very wet day and the poor lad lost his footing and went crashing into the Advertising on his Ass to the Delight of all the Shels fans

94? Are ya mad that was only a year or two ago if we're talking about the same incident!

That was definitly not '94 more like '04 - obviously a typo there!

How did I manage to forget that one, what a moment???
    Who Cares?!

30 Posts
    Not on the pitch but I remember chatting to Rovers (Sligo that is) legend
    Johnny Hoakes. He was cycling around town so we accosted him around
    JFK Parade. I think he was trying to show off by doing a wheelie but ended
    up nearly breaking himself, and the bike in two Kind of had to be there
    but I was priceless!

When John Stacey rewrote the rule book by moving the Ball back ten yards from the Defencive Wall at a free kick for the Town in Flancare.

Colin Nataros Olympic standard Dive for the peno down in the RSC

At Half time in a friendly against Celtic in the Rugby Grounds in 1985 a streaker ran onto the pitch and the woman next gto me shouted out that she had seen better legs hanging out of a snack box.

And especially funny was the day Section O wound up Ritchie Baker so much that he had a go back at them and Keeley had to move him across to the other side of the pitch. Priceless
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

Courtesy of Patsy McGowan's legendary book. In the 70s Harps were playing at home in a downpour and only one lunatic was standing on the open far side. So p1ssed off was he at the linesman that he got a plank of wood, 5 feet long apparently, and belted the linesman with it.

Think I laughed all the way home! Thanks Rodney.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    Many moons ago .....Athlone Goalkeeper (Mick O Brien ?)swinging out of the crossbar which then snapped
    From the Indo.......

The loneliness of the long-term goalie

There is something about the predicament of the 'keeper which can drive a man over the bar, writes Declan Lynch

IT IS 25 years or more since Athlone Town played Finn Harps in the FAI Cup semi-final in Oriel Park. But those of us who were there , especially those of us who were supporting Athlone, saw things that day which put the antics of the crazed Fabien Barthez into some sort of perspective.

We saw things that day that no-one should see.

We saw the colourful Athlone goalkeeper Mick O'Brien swinging from the crossbar and breaking it. Twice.

And some of us can still hear the public address announcement: is there a carpenter in the ground ?

RTE had some sort of a black-and-white camera at the match, and soon these harrowing images were being screened on English television. They were all laughing at us.

"Wot a plonkah!," they chortled.

And yet it was all quite unjust. Athlone lost five-nil that day, and they were lucky to get nil. But O'Brien, an agile and charismatic 'keeper and perhaps the fittest man in Ireland, was hardly the chief culprit.

At times on that terrible day he seemed like the only Athlone player on the park who was in any way troubled by the general awfulness of the display. He cared. And perhaps in the end, he cared too much.

Because when it all started to unravel, and he found himself up there, where he could hear the strange music, he clearly forgot that the crossbars at Oriel Park were made of wood, and not the metal of St Mel's Park, Athlone from which he had been swinging to his heart's content for years.

The first breakage took about 15 minutes to fix. When the teams came out again, Harps scored twice to make it four-nil, at which point O'Brien was seen to climb the netting and to throw himself bodily onto the bar, collapsing the goal for a second time.

"He is very dedicated and a bit headstrong," his manager explained. Sent off and pilloried by the Dublin Four media, the player himself added :"I was trying to fix it, when it came crashing down on top of me. The corner of the post seemed a bit loose so I jumped up to try and mend it. When I touched it the post came away in my hand."

He also explained that it was his habit to swing from the crossbar to make sure the ball went over, and to keep the crowd happy by doing somersaults in the goalmouth. "There's a third reason," he added darkly. "I think I might be over-fit."
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast