3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tallaghtfornia
    try sayin that in a pub surrounded by drogheda or bray fans
    Say it yourself! Oh, wait...I see...

What about Alan Bennett's own goal for Cork against Rovers in the Cup a few years back? Lobbing his keeper with a slide tackle from half-way!

30 Posts
    In my 20 years following the Blues, i have seen some classic moments:

1984/85 season against, (jaysus cant remember), Tiao Brazil hit the far corner flag from a free kick

Johnny Matthews ran onto the pitch with the Superman outfit after we beat Sligo in Kilcohan in 1990 to get promoted. The opening day of the 1990/91 season when hundreds of fans staged a demonstration to demand that Johnny be reinstated which held the game up briefly.

The unofficial opening of the stand in the RSC against CHF in a blizzard in January 1996 when 150 of us stormed at the fencing that surrounded the stand much to the consternation of Milo Corcoran.

But the time under Jimmy McGeough and the almighty tussles against the
    C/\wkies in 2003/04 go down as legend. Dan Connor sitting on the ball in the RSC as we beat the F@t P@ck 3-0, Connor doing again that previous summer when he squirted his water bottle into the Shed only afterwards to see about 100 angst ridden pubescents getting chased away outside the ground by some elderly stewards.... to Pat Purcell's winning goal at the X in April 2004 right in front of the Shed. I have that picture somewhere....... priceless.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    McHugh signed for us? When?.

On a side note, would Derry not be more North than North West?
    He said "successful" - not dreadful. One minor trophy in 11 years does not equal success....

And you're right - Derry would be more North than North-West. Just like Sligo would be more West than North-West....

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    afterwards to see about 100 angst ridden pubescents getting chased away outside the ground by some elderly stewards
    I think it is rose tinted glasses there my friend, the gardai were there an hour an a half after the game, It was Jimmy McGeough coming out into the middle of the crowd pleading with them that sorted that. Connors was no where to be seen either. I have photos of all of that.

Once after hitting the post in Belfield twice before kicking his shot wide Petit walked over to Dermot Morgan who was standing behind the goal and asked him, "did you bless that post father?".

funniest ever for me happened in the last winter season. gareth gorman got nailed in the balls&went off for treatment right in front of me&my mates on da old stand side. he was off for bout 5mins&da look on his face was priceless. eventually he went back on&within a minute he got another smack in the balls&hit da deck like a sack of potatoes, i was in agony laughing by this stage. any1 who ever supported a team containing gorman will appreciate this story far more
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

The day after Beckham scored against Wimbledon from the half way line, Andy Myler did the same against Finn Harps. Anything you can do, I can do better!

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Robbie Doyle scored from a free kick Vs. Longford for Bohs, runs to the bohs fans and trys to jump the hordings, creams himself ! classic stuff......

or we were playing Shels a few seasons back at the Carlisle, it was a big family day event and Rocky the seagull was behind the nets with kids etc.... on a bouncy castle, Owen Heary boots the ball, goes way to far, out of play, ball smashes Rocky on the head, his mask comes flying off, he goes flying himself, kids start to cry....... brilliant !
    Remember them both! Classics.... Robbies actually caught on camera to!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by tallaghtfornia
    try sayin that in a pub surrounded by drogheda or bray fans, i agree with the bray comment drogheda bein in dublin cause we all know its just a small town in dundalk
    We are not and will never ever be a Dublin club, FACT! So give it a rest!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    yeah, Derry(ok maybe Harps when they are up) and Cork. You dont leave the Jackeen suburbs the rest of the time
    Well now in 2006 there will be
    Waterford... 100 miles from Dubin how is that a suburb? It's closer to C**k or chrissakes... Sligo 140 miles from Dublin.... how is that a suburb of Dublin?
    Longford is 80 miles from Dublin... that is the same distance as Cork is from Waterford..

You clearly didn't do honours Geogo in the leaving did you boy?

A good few years back when we were playing Harps their supporters were in the Railway end. When a train passed they all turned around and started waving at it. Then the Shed started singing "what's it like to see a train"

Formerly: wild rover
    about 2 years ago when we were going no where and in front of me this kid stood up to give the ball back to someone...but he didnt realize the seat went back up and he hurt himself badly....was laughing for about 10mins

or when gorman was playing bad[dont know why i said that,everyone should assume] and seanie should "G,wtf was that" and everyone started laughing at him

there are more,cant beat the showgies

oh when we were beating galway 4-1 and lally did something stupid and all the shed heads starting running down towards him

and when it was near full time we all started taking the pi$$ of the invisible galway fans

Formerly: wild rover
    i forgot

darren jack

what a guy

A few definitely come to mind,

Seeing Richie Baker give Robbie "Mad Dog" Brunton a bit of stick a few seasons back in Dalymount. Brunton ran from left backn to left wing on a wet pitch, slid about 10 yards from Baker and creamed him into the advertising boards in front of the Jodi stand, classic!

Another one which comes to mind is seeing Trevor Molloy kicking a corner flag when taking a corner for Pats vs Bohs. From that same game, Ricky O Flaherty (st pats overweight striker) attempting a bicycle kick and landing on poor oul Maurice O Driscoil!Blocker was in bits for days!

Shaun Maher pulling out a Cryuff turn on Youri Djorkaeff against Kaisurslatuen has to be up there, and all the Bohs fans chanting, you can stick your world cup medals up your a*se, Maher made him look like a fool!

My favourite however is Paul Byrne being slagged off with you fat b*stard after he left Bohs as he walked along the bottom of the jodi only to return a few minutes later eating a hotdog and chips! classic!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

every limerick moment is funny!

In "de jacks" a few years ago three Kildare County players bashed into each other at the half way line knocking out tow of them!

Dangers run onto the field and calling a certain black player a few names

Fran Hitchcock going in goals and saving a peno against de drogs from barry o'connor thus cealing his move to shamrock rovers (o'connor that is)

before longford became a club they visited with the usual team bus from Dublin, some clubs still do this Center half gets injured and the left full is asked by his manager to go onto the middle, "but no, he roars in a broad dub accent, i wont know what to do!" And of course how the limerick faithfull can wind up certain players no end and get them sent off that usually makes me cry with laughter.

AT the Showgrounds singing to fatboy Davey and the stewards....
    "were only hear to annoy you....here to annoy you"
    It had the Guards and the rest of us laughing...Brillaint!

Also this year in Athlone when they scored they finally broke into song....
    to the tune of the great escape! There faces when we started slagging them!

A couple of years ago we were watching the boys do there warm up and tony Folan twice got smashed in the balls.....it was especially funny caus the second time he was still on the sideline recovering from the 1st time!
    Last edited by Conor H; 22/01/2006 at 2:03 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    UCD -V- Longford(???) a couple of years back.

There was a throw in for Longford, defender stands in his way- and with that the thrower bounces the ball off his head!

Fcuking marvellous stuff!
    It was Eric Lavine that got hit with the ball that night.

Dont know what game it was last season, but Paul Keegan went over the wall near section o in Flancare hilarious stuff.

Wasnt funny at the time but I think it is now, Stephen Paisley scoring in the Setanta Cup last season and then sent off for his shirtless celebrations.

Mad Tom handing out his Christmas cards, telling people to give them to their mammys
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Rob McAuley firing a throw full force into a Longford player's head and getting booked for it.

Edit: Just noticed the second page. I assume this is the same incident Raheny Red is thinking of.

Into Lavines face as far as i can remember!

"Ye must have banned your home fans"-Rovers fans in flancare during the game they were nearly banned from attending.

Aaron O'callaghan kicking a ball at pat fenlon while nutsy and matthews were arguing during our 4-1 demolition of shels last year!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Into Lavines face as far as i can remember!

"Ye must have banned your home fans"-Rovers fans in flancare during the game they were nearly banned from attending.

Aaron O'callaghan kicking a ball at pat fenlon while nutsy and matthews were arguing during our 4-1 demolition of shels last year!
    Aaron also threw water over Robbie Doyle I think it was, as they were going into the dressing rooms in Flancare one night, what a messer
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

84 Posts
    My top 3 from the crazy world of the F.B.T.N Explained below

No.1
    http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/2116/jp13iw.jpg
    No.2
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~rdcomput...pfinal_jpg.htm
    No.3
    http://img482.imageshack.us/img482/512/riffraff1ic.jpg

No1= Our infamous & ex-head stewart John Patton tackling a streeker, What the pic doesn't show is the strEeker dodged john's lunge and John ended up mouth and nose in the pitch
    No2 = The F.B.T.N. leather hats possie
    No3: The F.BT.N no drink protest after we were demomised in a local journilist
    Last edited by Neish; 21/01/2006 at 8:53 PM.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast