Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Funniest Moment seen in eL

A few years ago, Limericks physio 'Danger' was running out on the pitch down in Cobh to treat an injury. In one hand was the first aid kit, in the other was the tray of water bottles....half way out, the elastic goes in Dangers tracksuit and it starts to fall down. Now Dangers left with a decision; he pauses, stands there for about 10 seconds, then keeps running. By the time he reached the injured party, everyone could see Dangers bare-arse...purely classic moment, and a bit embarrassing for Danger too....

57 Posts
    I can see it in a couple of years time - Rovers fans discussing the "Funniest Moment seen in the LSL"

"Lads - remember the moment in the game last Saturday when the Postal United keeper punched the ball into his own net from Trevor's cross? LOL! "
    Last edited by Réiteoir; 20/01/2006 at 12:43 PM.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

UCD -V- Longford(???) a couple of years back.

There was a throw in for Longford, defender stands in his way- and with that the thrower bounces the ball off his head!

Fcuking marvellous stuff!
    Who Cares?!

Rob McAuley firing a throw full force into a Longford player's head and getting booked for it.

Edit: Just noticed the second page. I assume this is the same incident Raheny Red is thinking of.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu

The friendly against Longford on one of the back pitches in Belfield which was held up for two or three minutes because the linesman ran straight into Mad Tom's elbow and winded himself that badly...
    Thought it was more of a "clothes-line" from Tom

When we last got promoted, we played Shels in Tolka near the end of the season after they had lost the league to Bohs and we needed to win to make the playoffs at least.

We were 1-0 up and down to 10 men, Jim O'Neil reffing, and the ball is kicked out into the riverside stand with all us there, about 200 odd.

We begin to hold onto the ball and waste sometime and then as they ref was getting annoyed some guy stood up on the chair and started spinning the ball on his finger like he was a Harlem Globetrotter infront of the ref and Owen Heary, while the ref was pointing to his watch telling your man to hurry up. With the rest of us cheering your man on. Even the Drogs players were laughing at it.

This went on for at least 1 minute or so. It made such a nervous night that much better.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

30 Posts
    1st leg of the play off final Athlone v UCD. A UCD fan had a big poster
    of Andy Myler and when Myler scored he grabbed the poster and ran
    around the pitch waving it up in the air

Adrian Carberry on the ground injured ... the physio came over with a sponge.
    Cabsy took the sponge and used it to clean his new white boots which he had
    just bought the day of the match

Adrian Murphy practicing celebrations after scoring into an empty net during
    the half time subs warmup.

Anthony Fennelly getting lost trying to find his way to Belfield

Town supporter giving the linesman abuse during a game, let a roar
    "for fcuks sake linesman, do you not have the balls to make a decision"
    Linesman turned around ... it was Hilda McD !!!!!!!!!

All these classic moments will be lost to history when eL sides playing to 15-20k crowds...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    I can see it in a couple of years time - Rovers fans discussing the "Funniest Moment seen in the LSL"

"Lads - remember the moment in the game last Saturday when the Postal United keeper punched the ball into his own net from Trevor's cross? LOL! "
    i can see it in a couple of years- more than 50 ucd fans at a game,we can all dream i suppose,the ucd fan standin in the riverside on his own a couple of years back wavin a flag was good.... FORZA STUDENTS!!!

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23
    Dan Connor kicking the ball against the legs of John O'Flynn last year to give us a 1-0 victory.
    graham gartlands tackle on kearney an landsdowne...still laughing it was soooo funny
    although most of cork attempts at playing football was funny that day

We played Derry this year and there was a scuffle over in front of where the Derry support was. The Muckers were throwing a blow up sheep around and it flew on to the pitch.

A Derry player went down after the scuffle and their physio ran on. Oddly our's ran on too, mistaking the blow up sheep for a player

Also, a linesman running into a local photographer at a game last year was quite funny.

Another I remember is from when we played Limerick in 2004. Lims came to Finn Park with no change of kit and they played in Harps rigs.

We were leading by a couple of goals when Limerick pulled one back. Wee bloke that scored runs off kissing the crest and saluting the home support who had given him some abuse - he only realised about two minutes later that he was in actual fact kissing a Harps crest.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    well Rovers only have 2 away games every year same as the rest of the Dubs so you wouldnt know much about away support

lets see how you do this year in terms of numbers when you have quite a few places to tavel
    Cork fans who think that Dublin teams have only 2 away games EVERY YEAR

This season we'll have 16 away games if the format is the same and we will be there as always. Yeah we travelled to cork for a home game but ye wouldnt even go to cobh for one!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Cork fans who think that Dublin teams have only 2 away games EVERY YEAR

This season we'll have 16 away games if the format is the same and we will be there as always. Yeah we travelled to cork for a home game but ye wouldnt even go to cobh for one!

yeah, Derry(ok maybe Harps when they are up) and Cork. You dont leave the Jackeen suburbs the rest of the time

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    1st leg of the play off final Athlone v UCD. A UCD fan had a big poster
    of Andy Myler and when Myler scored he grabbed the poster and ran
    around the pitch waving it up in the air
    "Come back Andy, all is forgiven", it said. There was a replacement for the home leg (or maybe Myler gave it back, I don't know) saying "On second thoughts, stay in Athlone!"

yeah, Derry(ok maybe Harps when they are up) and Cork. You dont leave the Jackeen suburbs the rest of the time
    Super generalisation Well with the chip on your shoulder you must find it hard to leave cark!

What about Waterford, Longford, Drogheda and Bray? Then again you've probably never been to any of those places.

Anyway back on topic Rovers fans seeing a tank in the ground while playing Altay in Turley in 98 then being given tea and biscuits at half time by club officials!!

3,491 Posts
    What about Waterford, Longford, Drogheda and Bray? Then again you've probably never been to any of those places.
    I think you'll find Drogheda and Bray are Jackeen suburbs too!

, Longford, Drogheda and Bray? KOH
    ooooh 6am start for those. better pack the sandwiches

71 Posts
    The game against Pat's at the back end of last season in Richmond. Awfful boring game but at one point UCD had possession and a St. Pat's player went down injured. An angry Anto Murphy just slapped the ball into the ground out for a throw in. Technically a hand ball but the ref didn't care. St. Pat's fans were not too happy with their future employee at the time.

When Dublin City scored their opener in the playoff at Dayler I was queueing up at Leo Burdock's. This rabid Rovers fan jumped out of the queue ran over to the side of the pitch and started thumping the sponsor board like a mad man and roaring. He then retook his place in the queue temporarily regained his composore then snapped and did it again. Schadenfraude at it's finest.

ooooh 6am start for those. better pack the sandwiches
    The hang samiches??!!

they'll be handy for you next season in Athlone, and Monaghan, and Kilkenny etc etc

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast