Thread: Alan Cawley has re-signed for UCD

Alan Cawley has re-signed for UCD

i kid you not lads..we have re-signed alan cawley..not sure how long the contract is etc..but he has re-signed for ucd..
    "float like a butterfly,sting like a bee-his hands cant hit what his eyes cant see!"

Well you were right about Micko so i'll have to trust ya on this one, decent player and did very well last time around for UCD

3,197 Posts
    Feck ya jammy boy - don't know what to think now! Where'd you see this?

Funnily enough, I had a feeling we might re-sign him alright, even though he left in slightly acrimonious circumstances (what with effectively trying to sue us and all). Still, if Pete can get the most out of him (and he did at the end of 2003, when he was superb), this could be a great signing. Presumably he'd be playing wide on the left?

No Way!!!!!

CHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCOLATE has returned!!!

ETBY!!
    College Kids

70 Posts
    Keep in mind Jam's last "rumour" was just relaying what he read in a national news paper. If this comes to the fore he might earn some credability.

I was going to suggest this myself but like you Pineapple reckoned the whole past thingy would rule it out. Would be nice to have a tried and proven left winger and someone who can hit a free kick. Would also be nice to have got one up on Shels. They had to pay the compensation, never got any use from him and now he is back where he was. Sligo fans seem to have reckoned he was on the way there or were they just fantasising?

lads if im lying about this ill never post on the site again! you have to learn to trust me lads!
    "float like a butterfly,sting like a bee-his hands cant hit what his eyes cant see!"

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Would be nice to have...someone who can hit a free kick.
    Who's that then?

Sligo fans seem to have reckoned he was on the way there or were they just fantasising?
    Fantasising!!! what's that supposed to mean coming from a ucd fan?

we've never heard anythin to think he cud be joining us&i doubt connor has any interest in him
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ihatejam
    lads if im lying about this ill never post on the site again! you have to learn to trust me lads!
    Trust needs to be earned.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    Fantasising!!! what's that supposed to mean coming from a ucd fan?
    Need help with the big words again?

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Would be nice to have...someone who can hit a free kick.
    Who's that then?
    Do you not remember the two quality free kicks he scored off the opposition wall? An impressive skill.

3,197 Posts
    I don't know - doesn't Aberdonian Stu claim credit for one of those for shouting at Shay Kelly just when the kick was taken?!

70 Posts
    Sorry lads, I must have mixed those anecdotes up in my head and put him down as some free kick specialist.

3,197 Posts
    In six years going to games, I think I've seen three free kicks scored without a deflection. Robbie Doyle in Dalyer, Seán Finn at home against Shels and Robbie Mac in the Cup quarter-final replay last year. We lost every one of those games!

It was really just talk among our fans about signing him. Sean Connor never once said that he was trying to sign him or even expressed an interest in him. If he has signed then good luck to him anyway!

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I don't know - doesn't Aberdonian Stu claim credit for one of those for shouting at Shay Kelly just when the kick was taken?!
    Ah if it was mere shouting he wold most probably have ignored it. No instead I spoke at home in only a slightly raised voice, far more unexpected than shouting and thus more distracting. I claimed an assist on the goal.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

great signin..but im sure that he wont get a kick off a ball when we play ye next year!!good luck next season

Cawley and O Grady are great mate,s.And yes we did try and sign him.Alan has a house in dublin and does,nt want to be travelling.And i say alan know,s or manager is a bluffer.

Quote Originally Posted by red metal
    Alan has a house in dublin
    I hope his mortgage isn't too much. He's back on a student budget now!

What's the exact rule relating to the 'New Player of the Year' trophy?