How have you not come across any sectarian element Linfield fans sing The Billy Boys and other "party" songs as they call them.
Its far from the right choice we currently have 14,000 fans attending matches and the stadium is going to be 42,000 where are these extra fans coming from. Would ROI fans be happy if the government took away Landsdowne and built you a stadium miles outside of Dublin in a field with no amenities. All the fun of going to international matches the craic in the city before the matches with away fans will be gone. the day the stadium is opened is the end of football up hereOriginally Posted by A face
New stadium for Belfast is only sensible option.
This idea that it is only Belfast people against the Maze is nonsense, Im from Armagh and so the Maze would be closer for me than Belfast.
How have you not come across any sectarian element Linfield fans sing The Billy Boys and other "party" songs as they call them.
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
very naive/innnocent/foolish comments gerritOriginally Posted by Gerrit
14,000? Windsor Park holds 20,000+ i thought, is Windsor not full on match day? Anyway, the fact that it is not Windsor might mean there will be more crowds there, nad the fact that it will be modern etc.Originally Posted by Dassa
Also the fact that ye are beating sides like England for fun might mean a few new faces too yeah !?!
Yeah, estatic ... and i have the prefect place for it in Cork !!Would ROI fans be happy if the government took away Landsdowne and built you a stadium miles outside of Dublin![]()
I doubt that .... matchday will still be great, even if it were on the moon, you'll still have a good laugh.All the fun of going to international matches the craic in the city before the matches with away fans will be gone.
Last edited by A face; 23/01/2006 at 1:48 AM.
Feck Dassa - ROI fans would be ecstatic if they got a stadium out of the FAI on the moon !Originally Posted by Dassa
And as for building stadiums miles outside of cities in a field with no amenities - well everyone seems to love the Stade de France...
windsor holds 14,000 seated and thats international capacity. Stadiums built outside of cities arent normally a success you just have to look at new stadium on the outskirts of Istanbull were there has been alot of complaints about distance to be travelled.
I dont believe either that most ROI fans would be happy to have stadium built out in the country with no railway station near it or atmosphere around it.
If the government said they would not redevelop Lansdowne but would build a 60-70k seater stadium for free outside Dublin then ROI fans would accept it. Redeveloping Windsor surely gives Linfield an unfair advantage financially?Originally Posted by Dassa
Spot on Peter.Originally Posted by pete
Dassa - beggers can't be choosers. ROI fans would love exclusive use of Croke Park, or a brand new shiny 50,000 seater slap-bang in a nice part of Dublin with lots of trams, DARTS, trains and pubs nearby. But meanwhile, back on Planet Earth, they ain't gonna get that, so they have to be happy with the next best option.
He who pays the piper and all that. Of course everyone wants the ideal - but if the ideal isn't available, do you just sit and wallow in muck instead, or get on with the best you can get under the circumstances ? If the fans want a stadium in Belfast, fine - build it yourselves.....
If it was my choice I'd make it one of the few things that ever got put west of the Bann....![]()
I do not want the redevelopment of Windsor, I just want NI to be treated like the other parts of the UK. Scotland,England and Wales all got huge financial backing for their stadiums built in city centres and the ROI will have Landsdowne which is in Dublin. the government lies of no alternative sites just doesnt wash its blackmail and if the IFA fall for it it will be a terrible decision.Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
Like the planned redevelopment of Lansdowne, you mean?Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
The decision to put the stadium out in the H Block is a DISATER !!!!!!!!!
Shelbourne should be given the home ground of Landsdowne road when its redeveloped
Jebus, its hardly lies in fairness, there is a site that can be redeveloped and they are choosing to do it, fair play. the 'no alternative sites' is probably due to costs and planning etc. ..... they have to be practical. Dassa, i dunno fella, i really dont think it would be that bad, it might not be ideal but its hardly dooms day or anything.Originally Posted by Dassa
ExactlyOriginally Posted by dcfcsteve
When did you last visit a Linfield game? I visited several recently and live in a quarter of Belfast where Linfield is supported more than any other team ; I have up until now not heard the Billy Boys a single time. And no, I have also not heard the Sash yet (although that song is not even sectarian) and have not heard any anti-catholic song. This may come as a huge shock to you, but unlike Rangers, Linfield has changed and has cleaned out its closet. Even DCFCSteve, who is strongly nationalist, has agreed with the good anti-sectarian effords made by Linfield.Originally Posted by Speranza
Linfield is still unionist, yet not sectarian anymore. Unless you consider a Union Jack banner as sectarian, which would however be a bit stupid. Join me to a game at Windsor, or join me to the Linfield supporters pub around the corner of my street. You will not hear any song about Fenian blood.
Originally posted by thejollyrodger
Shelbourne should be given the home ground of Landsdowne road when its redeveloped![]()
Are you being serious here??
I would love to see Shels in a 40,000-50,000 seater stadium but
our attendances are shít in a 12,000 capacity stadia. It would be like a fcuking ghost town in Lansdowne!!
Who Cares?!
Since when were Wembley or Murrayfield in city centres ? You can just about manage the walk out of central Edinburgh to Murrayfield (primarily because there is no other way of getting there or back faster though), but try walking from Leicester Square to Wembley !!Originally Posted by Dassa
You'll be claiming next that Twickenham is a city centre ground too.....![]()
No - that's not an FAI ground - which is what I was talking about.Originally Posted by Schumi
The FAI could technically be hoofed out of there at any time
So what relevance did it have to a discussion on the national stadium then ??Originally Posted by motorcycleman
Oh sweet lord - I've heard it all now ! You, sir, are an idiot if you even jokingly believe this. Derry managed to avoid anything like serious inter-community trouble - unlike large sections of the rest of the province. You mention the Fountain - you mean that area that is still a protestant stronghold ? Not very good at ethnic cleansing are we !Originally Posted by Motorcycleman
So - with you being the expert on Derry, would you care to list for me the parts of the Cityside that, being formerly Protestant, saw demographic change due to ethnic cleansing ? Culmore ? Culmore Rd ? Northlands ? Duncreggan ? All areas that had a significant protestant population, but no longer do (though Culmore still does). Have you even heard of any of these parts of Derry ?? I can guarantee you that those changes in demographics were both gradual, and by no means due to ethnic cleansing. As happened throughout Northern Ireland in the Troubles, the two communities slowly gravitated towards areas populated primarily by their own community. Yes - a lot of this was for perceived 'safety', but ethnic cleansing is a phrase that strongly suggests a heavily coercive/enforced/violent motivation behind it. Like what the Catholic community suffered in Bombay Street in Belfast in 1969. Now - THAT was ethnic cleansing. So too was a period of the IRA's border campaign in the 70's, where they targetted the sons of protestant farmers to prevent the land staying in protestant family hands. That was ethnic cleansing. There was none of anything even vaguely near any of that in Derry. And you are a f u c k i n g delusional muppet for even suggesting this....![]()
Firstlky - why should that surprise me ?Originally Posted by motorcycleman
Secondly - don't play naive MCM. You know full well that the Orange Order (I assume you're referring to them - your Cork example in particular just says "they") is an incredibly divisive and anti-Catholic body. Substantial numbers of the protestant community north and south have deliberatly nothing to do with it themselves as a result. To hold-up treatmnet of the Orange Order as proof-evident of anti-protestantism would be like holding-up negative reaction to a Republican rally in Ballymena as evidence of anti-Catholicism. Neither would be accurate.
Ahhh - so now we get down to what you really mean. You're not claiming that being protestant is a problem in Ireland, but that being pro-British is. They are 2 entirely separate things, and very often do not overlap.Originally Posted by Motorcycleman
If idiots wants to spend their cash wandering around a Maze museum - or anything else for that matter - you know what ? That's their right. That's democracy. You may feel happy with the thought of telling people what they can and can't do with their own time and money, but thankfully most of the world doesn't.Originally Posted by motorcycleman
Change begins at home MCM - change begins at home.....Originally Posted by Motorcycleman
Last edited by dcfcsteve; 23/01/2006 at 9:31 PM.
Im sorry lads but this debate for me and NI fans has nothin to do with sectarianism or what religion people are. I dream of the day when every NI person can come and support their country in a match. but this can happen in a new stadium in Belfast aswell as the maze.