Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Love Ulster March

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I've actually lost all interest in this topic and just want to see what the freaky story with the non-existant "page 6" is.

2 more posts I think should give us the answer
    That's fueled my last few posts too.
    EDIT: Hey, no phantom page 7!
    You can't spell failure without FAI

I hope that this thread is not haunted by ghosts!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Rank hypocrisy. You view the GPO as hallowed ground obviously due to the struggle for freedom that occured there but then couldn't care less about the same search for freedom continuing in the six counties which make up Northern Ireland.
    Great Post.
    and it will be the same hypocrites that will turn out on the day with stones and buckets of P!ss etc.
    as a genuine republican I hope the march doesn't go ahead because the reason for the march is to get a reaction. I for one won't be anywhere near it and would urge all sane nationalists/republican's to ignore the bigot's and leave them to it. unfortunetly I would put money on serious trouble on the day

Just to follow up on my previous post......
    In the local the other night a certain brand of off-shoot so called republicans where handing out fliers with their weekly newspaper asking people to gather at the garden of rememberance on the morning of the march to protest. looks like they've got their reaction all right

When is the Love Ulster event anyways ?

tomorrow as far as I can gather.

Last edited by Block G Raptor; 24/02/2006 at 8:42 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    That discussion on that blog looks reasonable to me. Not quite sure why you think they are nuts. I don't agree with some of the points made by some of the posters but it seems like a well moderated debate.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Is anyone going in to it?

Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    That discussion on that blog looks reasonable to me. Not quite sure why you think they are nuts. I don't agree with some of the points made by some of the posters but it seems like a well moderated debate.
    Posted the wrong link and now the correct one wont open for me I'll try again later. basically its a blog about supposed collaberation between the IRA and the Gardai , also claims that the Dail assisted in the formation of the Provo's when they split from the Officials . they plan to bring all this up in a rally outside the Dail tomorrow might go in for the comedy value alone

I'm heading up tommorow alright, to take some photos of it, not to protest. The Love Ulster parade is starting at 12.30 at Parnell Square North and is moving on to O'Connell St. afterwards and then to Grafton Street. Sinn Fein are organising their protest against this around the Parnell monument, so if anyones looking to take some pictures, cause some trouble or both then thats gonna be the place

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    Sinn Fein are organising their protest against this around the Parnell monument,
    You sure its Sinn Fein? you might want to check that that there is not a republican in front of that

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Posted the wrong link and now the correct one wont open for me I'll try again later. basically its a blog about supposed collaberation between the IRA and the Gardai , also claims that the Dail assisted in the formation of the Provo's when they split from the Officials . they plan to bring all this up in a rally outside the Dail tomorrow might go in for the comedy value alone
    BGR, if you're interested in exploring this, go search out a copy of "Orders for the Captain" by James Kelly, the Irish Army officer who was given the responsibility for channeling weapons from the government down here to northern Republicans in 1969 -1970. The Sunday Times Insight team's book "Ulster" is also instructive. The transcripts of the Haughey / Gibbons arms trial of 1970 should also be in the public domain.

If you really wanna hit paydirt, try tracking down a copy of what was known as "The Black Book". I can't remember the exact title and I can't be ársed digging out my da's copy of it which I now have, but it was an anonymously-published pamphlet, brought out not long after the Provos split from the Officials, setting out the process by which that split happened and the role the Dublin government played in it.

Its basic thesis is that both Dublin and Maynooth were well worried by the leftward tack the Republican movement had taken in the early to mid-60s. When the North erupted in August 1969, the civil and religious authorities down here were therefore all too eager to channel support to anyone who didn't have a commie leftie slant to them - Jack Lynch, who was Taoiseach at the time, famously stated that the government wouldn't "stand idly by" and in hindsight, it seems they didn't.

At the same time, the likes of Gerry Adams, Billy McKee, Joe Cahill & co, stung by the "I Ran Away" taunts of 1969, were desperate and would have got into bed with anyone who was offering them guns and ammo, and so they paid the price demanded.

I mention Gerry Adams because it was widely accepted back then that he was the OC of the 'Ra in Ballymurphy - I can't remember whch battalion of the Belfast Brigade that was, it was in the days before the Provos adopted the Active Service Unit mode of organisation. One of my da's favourite pieces of memorabilia from those times is a hand-carved Celtic harp, smuggled out of Long Kesh in the early 70s, signed by all the inmates of hut number whatever, one of whom was "Gearóid Mac Adaim".

At one time in the North, mere possession of "The Black Book" was in itself an arrestable offence (they had an abundance of well dodgy legislation at their disposal e.g. Special Powers Act = internment). Because it was published anonymously, there was all sorts of theories about its origins. Some said it was Stickie (Official IRA / Sinn Fein) propaganda, born out of resent,emt at being eclipsed by the Provos. Some said it was MI5 black propaganda, aimed at discrediting the Provos. It could just as equally have been the truth.

From talking to my da, who had dealings with a lot of the major figures of the time, I'm inclined to believe that James Kelly and "The Black Book" was pretty close to the mark - that the Irish government, acting secretly without the knowledge of the Dail, had a significant input into the split of the Provos from the Officials. So your rolling eyes may be a wee bit premature.
    Revenge for 2002

176 Posts

glad to hear the marchers didn't make it to the GPO-well done to thos ewho stopped it.....shame on those who hurt the guards though
    Last edited by liam88; 25/02/2006 at 1:27 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    glad to hear the marchers didn't make it to the GPO-well done to all involved

i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing....those that stopped the march ripped up the place.turned on each other and the guards. I wouldn't be glad of that..
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 25/02/2006 at 1:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing....those that stopped the march ripped up the place.turned on each other and the guards. I would be glad of that..
    So tell us-how far did the marchers actually get? Was it as bad as news is making out? Any marchers hurt?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

176 Posts
    i was just in there and it was nasty stuff....very embarassing
    It just shows why the march should never have been given the go-ahead.

In a normal administration, heads would roll over this. But then, this is Ireland, and TD'S here don't resign over anything.

Remember lads, the march is not even halfway through at the moment. Plenty of potential for more destruction yet.
    Last edited by mypost; 25/02/2006 at 1:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    So tell us-how far did the marchers actually get? Was it as bad as news is making out? Any marchers hurt?

They didnt get anywhere really....they were attacked and **** was thrown on top of them. Was bad stuff. i listened to the news and they played it down if anything. The ''republicans'' where pushed by riot police from parnell to the gpo. where there was a bit of a stand off. as i walked home to smithfield 8 buses carrying the ''love Ulster'' paraders went by down past the cobblestone with police escort...

Ridiculous of our government to think a march past the gpo etc. would go off peacefully.
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 25/02/2006 at 1:48 PM.

176 Posts
    Ridiculous of our government to think a march past the gpo etc. would go off peacefully.
    It's no surprise when British people wish to march down our city, banging their drums, and spewing anti-Irish vitriol. I wouldn't call the government stupid over this, as that would be an insult to stupid people!!

Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast