They think they actually represent us

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    It is ludicrous to blame riots on a few people having a peaceful protest. Thats like saying if I don't like farmers & i see them protesting i can rampage through the city attacking gardai & destroying the city centre.
    Pete, its totally different - could you imagine irish 'catholics' being allowed march down the shankill in memory of all those that were killed by loyalists !!

People should be allowed to protest against a protest, look at what happened in oxford today !!

Btw in saying that I 100% disagree with the looting, buring of cars and tearing up o connell street - that was a disgrace

EDIT: also did I read somewhere that they wouldnt guarantee that there wouldnt be a photo of one of the lads alleged to be involved in the monaghan/dublin bombings paraded outside the GPO (cant recall where i read that, maybe it was just told to me in the pub - anyone able to dig up that story if true??)
    Last edited by Cosmo; 25/02/2006 at 11:14 PM.
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Anyone see the bloke wearing his Rovers scarf and training top running riot ? fcuking idiot.......

Been waiting for someone else to post this for quite a while...........

Cue thread heading off on wild tangent
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I'm sorry but that is not a good enough excuse for the barbaric display on our capital's streets today. The people who brandished this state's flag are an utter disgrace and embarrassment to all they may claim to stand for. There is no excuse for that behaviour under any circumstances. It was anarchical barbarism.
    Completely agree with this. The idiots who couldn't ignore his and caused violence are animals and deserved to be locked up as such.

The arguement 'would this be allowed happen up there' is irrelevent-yes the government could have prevented this but that is no excuse for the people who took part in it.They are a disrace to this country

89 Posts
    Look at these heroes of Ireland...........

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~z/today/

I hope the photographer has forwarded these to the guards
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Look at these heroes of Ireland...........

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~z/today/
    what street are the first few photos on? Dont recognise the centre

Well its Centra Westland Row...

Shouldn't have been allowed happen. Trouble was inevitable.

My guess is it's the bottom of Kildare Street, near where the Alliance Francaise is.

While it would appear from the TV footage and photos on the net that most of the mayhem was caused by common-or-garden scumbags (like in the photos linked to above), as opposed to RSF-organised political wingnuts, I think the authorities behaved ridiculously as well.

They knew there was going to be a counter-demonstration and it could get violent. Did none of the head cops even stop for a minute and think "Whoops, there's a possibility of a violent demonstration on the biggest civic building site in Dublin, we'd better handle this one quietly."

Instead, all the bonehead youth realised they were sitting on a massive riot arsenal - paving stones neatly stacked for chucking at the cops, skips full of builders' rubble sitting conveniently by, metal barriers for building barricades against the cops. It must've been the most fun they've had on a Saurday afternoon in years.

Then the cops baton charge them down O'Connell st and off they go rambling around Nassau St where there's feck-all cops to stop the scumbags burning ordinary Dubliners' cars.

Genius. Pure genius. McDowell and the Garda Commissioner should be made sweep up O'Connell St with a toothbrush.
    Revenge for 2002

Feckin scumbags the lot of them.

Let's face it people - it's the 21st Century. We may not like the Orange Order and groups like 'Love Ulster', but if we claim that Dublin is the capital of Ireland - regardless of religion, culture etc etc - then we have to accept that anyone who WE claim is Irish has the right to protest in that capital. We may not like what they have to say - but that gives us no right to oppress them for doing it.

This was a just a hood's day out. People who would be knicking and burning cars in West Dublin, if they weren't tied-up with a 'protest' in the centre of town.

As an immensely proud born and bred Derry man it makes me sick to see cnuts with their faces obscured unfurling a banner about Bloody Sunday. Like any of them have ever feckin been to Derry. If they want to jump on a bandwagon to make their petty sectarian points, let them pick another one that doesn't drag my home city into it the *******s.

I can rest easy tonight in the knowledge that acumbags like this with their attitudes stuck back in 1641 - let alone 1916 - are a dyihng breed. Love Ulster ? I love the new and increasingly modern-thinkingIreland - regardless of the scumbags on either side.

It's been both a sad day and a great day for our country.Saddening of course that these gombeens acted like they did, in a completly moronic way, but also joyful in that they are a miniscule amount, and that the majority of our country, if this thread is anything to go by, is on the right track, and that we are in control.

Dublin riots

It was people like this who ruined what should have been a peaceful protest and a welcome home party for the fascists. They have no care for Irish Republicanism just wanton vandalism of innocent people's possessions
    Last edited by Speranza; 26/02/2006 at 2:26 AM.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Anyone see the bloke wearing his Rovers scarf and training top running riot ? fcuking idiot.......
    Typical................
    suppose us bohs fans were marching. don't bring El football into what has been a sh!t day for al;l of us. there was probably fools who alegedly follow every club in the country throwing stones,petrolbombs,and other various debris there today. I dont care what club they are from they were not representative of those clubs

It's people like you that invite that negative media outlook of the El
    Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Dublin riots

It was people like this who ruined what should have been a silent protest. They have no care for Irish Republicanism just wanton vandalism of innocent people's possessions
    Exactly the cnuts that did that Sh!t today are not republicans and if they were they would have realised that today was a great chance to gain the moral high ground and show the bigotted b@stards for what they are . instead they gave them a propaganda Coup
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 26/02/2006 at 2:17 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Typical................
    suppose us bohs fans were marching. don't bring El football into
    Its a football messgae board, he spotted something and commented on it. There were 100s of celtic jersies too. IMO there was nothing wrong with his comment

I don't give a sh!te who they were, they were trying to damage my city and I simply won't tolerate any excuse for that, be it a 'simple', single mugging or a riot down O'Connell Street. I've just been on O'Connell St a couple of hours ago and to me it was a different, tarnished Dublin. I don't give a sh!te about what the police might have done, they would have had to do nothing if any of these people had a modicrum of pride in the flag they were so openly prepared to brandish.

I'm sorry but that is not a good enough excuse for the barbaric display on our capital's streets today. The people who brandished this state's flag are an utter disgrace and embarrassment to all they may claim to stand for. There is no excuse for that behaviour under any circumstances. It was anarchical barbarism.
    Spot On.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Its a football messgae board, he spotted something and commented on it. There were 100s of celtic jersies too. IMO there was nothing wrong with his comment
    So one person in the hundreds was wearing a Rovers scarf to cover his face. I dont think it's relevent. how many premiersh!t scarf's were used for the same purpose today? I'm sure if you look hard enough there was bohs scarfs covering the faces of scumbags too. I dont thnk that the discraceful scenes today should be used to bait any club in the El we all know that certain clubs have an element of fans that are undesirable it doesn't mean that every occurance of something that disgusts us can be placed at thier door

Someone call the guinness book of records this has to be a first ...A bohs fan sticking up for rovers

I don't think Roo is saying that the lad is an idiot for wearing a Rovers scarf. He's not trying to lay the blame for the riots on Rovers fans. He said he saw ONE bloke in a Rovers top. That is all. And it is relevant because this is an Irish football MB. Now leave it, the riots are far too serious to be arguing about you taking offence over someone spotting a bloke in a tracksuit...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I don't think Roo is saying that the lad is an idiot for wearing a Rovers scarf. He's not trying to lay the blame for the riots on Rovers fans. He said he saw ONE bloke in a Rovers top. That is all. And it is relevant because this is an Irish football MB. Now leave it, the riots are far too serious to be arguing about you taking offence over someone spotting a bloke in a tracksuit...
    I'm Not taking offence I just think its petty to point out that one muppet in a crowd of mupetts was wearing an El scarf. I would be pretty embarrased if someone one on here pointed out that a rioter was wearing a Bohs shirt
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 26/02/2006 at 5:02 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo

EDIT: also did I read somewhere that they wouldnt guarantee that there wouldnt be a photo of one of the lads alleged to be involved in the monaghan/dublin bombings paraded outside the GPO (cant recall where i read that, maybe it was just told to me in the pub - anyone able to dig up that story if true??)

just read on another forum that this was true - like ffs how didnt they expect people to react to that?

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    I'm Not taking offence I just think its petty to point out that one muppet in a crowd of mupetts was wearing an El scarf. I would be pretty embarrased if someone one on here pointed out that a rioter was wearing a Bohs shirt
    As would I if there was a pats kit seen, but thta doesn't mean someone shouldn't point it out

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Thats just hearsay trying to justify rioting by scumbags who don't deserve to live in this country.

RSF don't recognise the Irish Republic so have no rights here.

Just watching some of those pictures on Nassau street & have to wonder where the hell the gardai were. From those videos looks like just common thugs on a day out - what has robbing a car got to do with a protest? Can't we cut off their dole or something to punish them?

McDowell may not voice it publically but he should sanction the Garda Commissioner as they were either badly underprepared or unable to do their job properly. Whatever way you look at it the Gardai organisation was unable to police the city so failed in their duties.

Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast