Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Des Bishop: Joy in the Hood

25 Posts
    Standup comedy is very hard to do and to think he can make these people good enough in a few weeks, given he's rubbish himself, is just stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Disappointing? Perhaps! The alternative was some shíte about how the Dubs are rubbish at Gaelic Football.

The Dubs must be the only county who can have a documentary on their season, even though they're crap and win nothing.

Another waste of taxpayers money!
    Eh Leinster Champions pal. What have ye won in football recently? FYI Galway and Westmeath had the same documentary a while back. But hey as long as you can spout the same old anti Dublin bias

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    What have ye won in football recently?
    Eh, they won the Premier Division.

What have ye won in football recently?
    I think winning your 30th Senior Hurling title is a far greater achievement than winning a Leinster title.

As a county, we had greater success than any other last year.

Dublin will continue to be beaten and retaliate by claiming that GAA is for culchies anyway.

Did Dublin win any national titles last year?

I think winning your 30th Senior Hurling title is a far greater achievement than winning a Leinster title.

As a county, we had greater success than any other last year.

Dublin will continue to be beaten and retaliate by claiming that GAA is for culchies anyway.

Did Dublin win any national titles last year?
    Hurling is played by less than half of the 32 counties at a serious level therefore a football All Ireland is worth more.

"Dublin will continue to be beaten and retaliate by claiming that GAA is for culchies anyway." This statement shows how clueless you are. That chip must be weighing you down.

43 Posts
    Really enjoyed last nights show, not going to win a Golden gong or whatever, but the joy it gave the ginger lad and the fun that was had that night of the show had to be seen to be believed. Locals here were buzzing waiting to see it and the pubs were packed and everyone I've met loved it. The main thing is no one takes themselves too seriously here and that's what counts.

People that think it's done damage to any of the areas so far had better realise that bog 2 on a Mon night is not watched by millions (barely thousands) and most people who watched it wanted to see it cos of Des or for a laugh only. If you want to delve deep into the psyche of these places (or Douglas for that matter) get out there themselves and do something interesting like Bishop has done. It cracks me up all the armchairs/barstoolers giving grief when they haven't the imagination or inclination to do such things themselves.

I think both shows so far have shown the areas for what they are, superbly tight knit communities who take life with a pinch of salt and are able to laugh at and with themselves. Hat's off to the lads and ladies who have taken part, that's one hell of a tough thing to do.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Hurling is played by less than half of the 32 counties at a serious level therefore a football All Ireland is worth more.
    Yeah, that's right, half the country can't Hurl therefore football is better.
    Nice one!

"Football" is a joke!
    All it is these days is Northern teams throwing the ball to each other.

If they ever ban them from kicking lumps out of each other, the game could be played wearing flip flops because they sure as hell don't use their boots for kicking the ball.

You must be completely depressed, NY Hoop, being a hoop and a Dub GAA fan! Get out your history books and weep for past glories.

Yeah, that's right, half the country can't Hurl therefore football is better.
    Nice one!

"Football" is a joke!
    All it is these days is Northern teams throwing the ball to each other.

If they ever ban them from kicking lumps out of each other, the game could be played wearing flip flops because they sure as hell don't use their boots for kicking the ball.

You must be completely depressed, NY Hoop, being a hoop and a Dub GAA fan! Get out your history books and weep for past glories.
    Not what I said. Hurling is an incredible game but a football All Ireland is more meaningful simply because it is played by all the counties bar Kilkenny.

As for the rest of your comments about football

No depression here. We're the best run club in the country and the glory days will come again. At least we have history.

At least we have history.
    All you've got is history.

The history of many clubs rolled together under the same name.

The Dubs must be the only county who can have a documentary on their season, even though they're crap and win nothing.
    Leinster Champions
    MOT

All you've got is history.

The history of many clubs rolled together under the same name.
    Lot more than history son.

And coming from cork your second comment means you are either slow or have memory problems.

Who gives a fcuk about gaelic or hurling. This thread is about Des Bishop's programme ffs. Their is a thread in "Other Sports" about this Dub documentary, use that to fight with each other!

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Who gives a fcuk about gaelic or hurling. This thread is about Des Bishop's programme ffs. Their is a thread in "Other Sports" about this Dub documentary, use that to fight with each other!
    Moderator:I agree. Stay on topic folks.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    I agree with you. But he's only showing one very narrow facet of what happens in Ballymun.

If he really is interested in highlighting social problems and social deprivation - as has been argued on here - then why is he only focusing on a few instances of anti-social behaviour ? There's much more to deprivation than acting the maggot.
    its a 25 min long show about finding stand up comics , not to highlight or sort out all the problem s of ballymun etc ... they filmed things that happened while he was there nothing was taken from archives so if guys trot by on horses then thats what was shown if joy riders went by thats what was shown .

he stayed in each place for 3 weeks he only showed what he encountered he didn't make stuff up, edit anything unfairly or try to sugar coat any of it

he is getting slated this morn on the radio for showing a joy rider, some one said he was trying to run down the area !! FFS
    Last edited by A face; 17/01/2006 at 5:13 PM.

The one in two weeks time should be good. In Tuam with the travellers. Although, I'm really looking forward to the one with the loyalists in Belfast.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    he is getting slated this morn on the radio for showing a joy rider, some one said he was trying to run down the area !! FFS
    The only ones trying to run anyone down are the joyriders .... do the people that complained just think it should never be mentioned or something. Is anyone that mentioed it or highlights it all trying to run the area down aswell ??
    It not like nobody knows it actually happens.

its a 25 min long show about finding stand up comics , not to highlight or sort out all the problem s of ballymun etc ... they filmed things that happened while he was there nothing was taken from archives so if guys trot by on horses then thats what was shown if joy riders went by thats what was shown .
    Anto - please read along with the thread. I agree with you.

Other people here have been trying to cliam it was something otherwise - .e. some sort of attempt to highlight social problemms (which is what the heading of this thread used to say until I referred directly to it). I've been pointign out that it is far form that.

he stayed in each place for 3 weeks he only showed what he encountered he didn't make stuff up, edit anything unfairly or try to sugar coat any of it
    How do you know nothing was edited 'unfairly' ?? Editing obviously involves leaving a lot of stuff out. This is television - it's all about making an interesting and captivating show. That usually involves focusing on stuff purely for dramatic effect/to build your own narrow story. Are you suggesting they would've left out visually interesting stuff, and instead focused on the mundane just to give a balanced view....?

Southill in Limerick This week

The programme is also an excellent study for anyone who was interested in the different accents thread awhile back

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Other people here have been trying to cliam it was something otherwise - .e. some sort of attempt to highlight social problemms (which is what the heading of this thread used to say until I referred directly to it). I've been pointign out that it is far form that.
    Well I got into it because you said it was just showing the sterotypical view if though the reality was different to what he showed. As I said way back, I think people are ignorant about what goes on in these areas still. I think it's woken people up that there is still social deprevation and joy riding and not everything is sweetness and light in Ireland in 2006. That is all, not that Des Bishop is the new social campaigner for Ireland 2006.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Southill in Limerick This week
    I only caught the end of it when they were all on stage, but for what its worth, i thought they were far better comedians than the lads in Cork. Fair play to them. What did the people from Limerick think of it ??

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast