Last nights episode was quality.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I only caught the end of it when they were all on stage, but for what its worth, i thought they were far better comedians than the lads in Cork. Fair play to them. What did the people from Limerick think of it ??
    Average but made the front page of the local before it was shown as Mary Dundon , who is the spokeswomen for the Limerick Co Ordination office ( basically she comes on the telly whenever another one of the ' Fueding Gangs ' shoot each other to tell us what a wonderful city we live in and that we are safe as long as your name is not Keane / Dundon / McCarthy / Ryan) sent Des a letter. She invited Des to come back to see the 'Real Limerick'. Des had a right go on how this was the problem, that the community of Southill are biased against when seeking employment or if they just want to go to town for a few beers. Here we had our media representitive, persuming that the show would put Limerick in a negative light, detach Southill from Limerick before the show went on air. What a tit

Show is definitely getting better as it goes on. One on Limerick was excellent, good entertainment. Pity it isn't longer and there isn't enough of the people doing the stand up.
    Cork City FC

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23
    Pity it isn't longer and there isn't enough of the people doing the stand up.
    I have a feeling that's because they haven't been that good? I suppose next week from Tuam will tell, as I believe one of the blokes has gone on to the circuit since...

I only saw the limerick one but one of them(the one who said he was arrested) was as good as any comedian you would see and a total natural.
    its a good idea for a show. the way he has explained it is that he wanted to do something that would interest him. It was never meant to be some social experiment.
    Last edited by A face; 25/01/2006 at 12:43 PM.

Anyone else not find Des Bishop funny?
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Thought the Limerick one was the best of the lot for two reasons:

1) The Limerick comedians were far far funnier than their Cork or Dublin counterparts

and

2) Des Bishop actually hit on the fact that this show should have a lot about the area in general, rather than the Ballymun and Knocka episodes were it was all a bit, 'ah look at the scumbags, they're alright at the end of the day'. I thought the best part of the Limerick programme was when Bishop was talking about Limerick was being negative about everything, that all he hears is 'we can't do that, no-one will come, etc.' Which is what Limerick is all about these days, not our fault because after years of the Irish media telling us how bad the city is and how we're all just thieves and murderers we've had to become negative to try and protect ourselves from this constant media bias against us

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    Which is what Limerick is all about these days, not our fault because after years of the Irish media telling us how bad the city is and how we're all just thieves and murderers we've had to become negative to try and protect ourselves from this constant media bias against us
    this is possibly the funniest thing I have ever read on here....

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Southill in Limerick This week

The programme is also an excellent study for anyone who was interested in the different accents thread awhile back

it was funny....they all had funny accents like you

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    it was funny....they all had funny accents like you
    Hey, if you looked close enough you could see my house

Personally thought it was the best one so far but then maybe I'm a little bit biased. Like the way he brought up the negative attitudes, a sadly spot on observation.

43 Posts
    Cracking idea for a show, cracking show, Limerick acts were the best so far, fair play to Des for developing their ideas and not just giving them his own material. I think all three areas have come off the same so far, full of honest, earthy Irish people who laugh and live together without the bullshi t of materialism.

Fair play to RTE they are getting better and better.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Negative pessimistic Risteard comments

I've watched all three as people were always on about Bishop to me after the Work Experience ("Oh my god man, i've got like €10 to last me for the rest of the whole day." So what Des?)
    I've just come to the conclusion he isn't and never was funny.
    Overacts the whole thing of being a foreigner as if Irish culture is the polar opposite to the states.
    I just find the whole thing a little patronising.
    There've been one or two funny stand-ups on it now in fairness, namely the ones who managed to get beyond Des' advice of "Do something about Limerick, Talk about Ballymun" etc.
    Things i'm sick of hearing
    2. "It's interesting to see peoples reactions when you tell them you're from . . . . . . . . . . . . ." Not anymore, it's not.
    no1. Out in his back yard EVERY episode "2 days to go, and i'm a bit piissed off at Dennis and how he isn't progressing."
    Rant over.
    Negativity released.
    Last edited by Risteard; 27/01/2006 at 9:21 AM.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

I've enjoyed all the shows. Thought the overall standard in Limerick of the stand ups was best but the young girl from Ballymun was funny. The classic excuses for not having the homework done was really well done 1) I was strung out 2) I had to mind a horse!

this show has been a big dissapointment IMO....was lookin forward to it before it started but couldnt be @rsed watchin it now

Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey
    Anyone else not find Des Bishop funny?
    Bishop is a clown!!
    He's possibly the worst comedian going at the moment.....i can't believe people find him funny
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Bishop is a clown!!
    He's possibly the worst comedian going at the moment.....i can't believe people find him funny

Ever seen his stand up and not these snippets from the work experience or joy in the hood?

He's better than 90% of the Irish comedians out there in a full stand up. I mean if people think Karl Spain is funny

144 Posts
    Went to see him in the Opera House last night and I must say he is funny.
    Hadn't seen him live since he was cutting his teeth in City Limits must be nearly 10 years ago but he was hilarious.
    Brought 2 of the Knocka posse on and they were grand, very raw but theres potential there.
    Tuam tonight should be a laugh.
    I do agree that 30 minutes is not enough to accurately portray a 3 week period and a big show at the end.
    He said last night that there was a 6 month delay after the Ballymun filming while RTE dragged their ass before they carried on with the rest of the series.
    The furore in Cork after the Knocka show by the politicians/do gooders has only succeeded in giving Des another 30-45 minutes of material and its good stuff at that, though it might not be to Neil Prendervilles taste (local 96FM DJ).
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Went to see him in the Opera House last night and I must say he is funny.
    Hadn't seen him live since he was cutting his teeth in City Limits must be nearly 10 years ago but he was hilarious.
    Brought 2 of the Knocka posse on and they were grand, very raw but theres potential there.
    Tuam tonight should be a laugh.
    I do agree that 30 minutes is not enough to accurately portray a 3 week period and a big show at the end.
    He said last night that there was a 6 month delay after the Ballymun filming while RTE dragged their ass before they carried on with the rest of the series.
    The furore in Cork after the Knocka show by the politicians/do gooders has only succeeded in giving Des another 30-45 minutes of material and its good stuff at that, though it might not be to Neil Prendervilles taste (local 96FM DJ).
    Sanity is such a virtue. Summed it up perfectly. Thanks Razor.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

I also think he's good doing stand up. Seen him a good few times pre the Minimum wage programme and always thought he was good. Can't say I've seen him much since.

It's a bit like people writing off Jason Byrne based on his TV stuff - doesn't mean he's not an excellent stand up (imo).

des is funny enough , i like his act anyway .

i hate ED byrne the only comedian that can put me in bad form , tells terrible jokes and keeps going and going and going ,

allways reminds me of a nerdy 18 year old cousin that is only cool to 5 year old kids .... him and tuburty tw ats

who keeps putting him on tv

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast