View Poll Results: Would you agree with Staunton as Irish Manager?

Voters
123. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

30 24.39%
  • No

93 75.61%
Page 11 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Staunton Ireland Manager?

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude
    I say give it a lash, we have the quality in our squad and we just need someone to make the right decisions.. The reason why Kerr didnt qualify imo is because when Robbie Keane went off injured in the Israel game he replaced him with Kavanagh. 30,000 people sighed in disbelief, hopefull Stan was one of them!
    Well every manager makes wrong decisions and you can rest assured whoever our knew manager is will make a worse substitution than the one above.

I'm still hoping that Stan will assist someone else as we haven't heard any news from the FAI yet.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 10/01/2006 at 9:21 AM.

Paddy I am new....but obviously experience doesn't count (if the last few days is anything to go by). I'll probably be promoted to manager....

And in my opinion Saipan can't be dropped,because post Saipan was meant to be a new era, what with the genesis report etc.

This decision just smacks of the old days. I honestly thought Delaney was an ambitious man and cannot believe he has put his neck on the line with an appointment like this

I'll never play for the national team with Staunton in charge

43 Posts
    I really thought the FAi were not going to go down this road. Staunton's lack of experience in management is what perplexes me. He hasn't even been coaching that long and working for Paul Merson in the day to day running of a club like Walsall, just doesn't cut the mustard for managing an International team. If we look at Lawrie Sanchez in the North, he at least gained experience at Sligo and Wycombe in MANAGING these teams. He knows all about making tough decisions, and could back that up at an interview. It is a big call for Delaney to trust Staunton, a friend to some of these players to come in and make big decisions. He has yet to make a decision at management level as yet, and in my opinion his appointment is a massive gamble for the FAI.

The double act thing has proved not to work, there always is a parting of the ways. There would have been a lot of resentment towards Robson if he had been given the job, but with his experience I for one couldn't have really argued with any thing other than his age and was he fit enough for it? If we are looking at untried managers why wasn't Aldridge given a chance? He didn't do badly at Tranmere, and he has as much experience as Mc Carthy had when he got the job. He must be a bit miffed he has been overlooked again.

I would love to hear Roy Keane's thoughts on Staunton's appointment. I wonder if Staunton would have been appointed if Keane had continued playing for Ireland?

This thread has passed far beyond reasonable debate. People are talking sh*te. We all know that John Delaney is a moron. But people are talking about Saipan, Roy Keane and the fact that Merson was an alcoholic. Jaysus people, get a grip.

The facts are:
    Staunton is a very experienced player.
    He is very inexperienced in management.
    BUT
    he is only one half of the management team.
    Bobby Robson is one of the most experienced managers in the game.
    He still has all his marbles - he ONCE mixed up the names of two of his players during an interview, so fcuking what?

I think this is worth a shot - not because it was anywhere near my first choice, but because there weren't much other alternatives?

Kerr contract not being renewed is water under the bridge.

And people are obsessed with the 'FAI going for the cheap option'. I've been hearing that phrase on here for years...

Sorry about the language but some of the bias, myopia and ignorance on here is astounding...

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    How can anybody say "best of luck Bobby and Stan"-
    You were probably one of those behind the goal after we lost two nil in Basle singing you'll never walk alone

Staunton's appointment is a joke. How can any player trust him after what he did to keane in saipan. Its back to Jack's boys...who'll be next after staunton fails? Houghton? Mcateer ....Pat Kenny?

How can you say he is a better choice than Venables? You are just proving how little you know about football with a comment like that
    I wasnt lucky enough to have a ticket for the game in basle. I was stuck in basle along iwth thousands of others without tickets for the game.

As for Terry Venables, one of the biggest gangsters in world football, he`d probably bankrupt not just the FAI but the whole country if he got the job. Anything Venables has achieved in football Robson has surpassed easily. As for Staunton, yes he has no experience but alongside Robson I think its not a bad combination. Its important to have an Irishman among the setup. as I said before we didn`t have an outstanding person to take the job.

As for Saipan there was a lot of people ultimately that need totake the blame there Keane, McCarthy, Quinn, Staunton,Kelly etc.etc.

Staunton's appointment is a joke. How can any player trust him after what he did to keane in saipan.
    What Staunton did to Keane in Saipan?!? I thought it was what Keane did to Staunton, Mick, the rest of the team and in fact the rest of the country in Saipan? Next you'll be blaming John Lennon for putting Mark Chapman in jail.
    "...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."

214 Posts
    it was on the training ground and happended most days from what I read!!!

The guy needs to get his pipe and slippers and retire gracefully. He was a great manager in his prime but he is 72 years old and he will start to feel it mentally and physically.

Come on out of all the candidates who were sniffing then surely we could get somebody with a bit more experience? Terry Venables doesn't seem such a bad idea now.

Quote Originally Posted by ranting rover
    This thread has passed far beyond reasonable debate. People are talking sh*te. We all know that John Delaney is a moron. But people are talking about Saipan, Roy Keane and the fact that Merson was an alcoholic. Jaysus people, get a grip.

The facts are:
    Staunton is a very experienced player.
    He is very inexperienced in management.
    BUT
    he is only one half of the management team.
    Bobby Robson is one of the most experienced managers in the game.
    He still has all his marbles - he ONCE mixed up the names of two of his players during an interview, so fcuking what?

I think this is worth a shot - not because it was anywhere near my first choice, but because there weren't much other alternatives?

Kerr contract not being renewed is water under the bridge.

And people are obsessed with the 'FAI going for the cheap option'. I've been hearing that phrase on here for years...

Sorry about the language but some of the bias, myopia and ignorance on here is astounding...

Sticky Joe? How can you say Staunton is decent? Is stabbing your captain in the back (as he did in Saipan) decent?
    Definitely a candidate for Stupid Post of the Year!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe
    As for Terry Venables, one of the biggest gangsters in world football, he`d probably bankrupt not just the FAI but the whole country if he got the job. Anything Venables has achieved in football Robson has surpassed easily. As for Staunton, yes he has no experience but alongside Robson I think its not a bad combination. Its important to have an Irishman among the setup. as I said before we didn`t have an outstanding person to take the job.
    I agree with you there SJ. Venables hasn't been a top manager for years and even at his peak wasn't a patch on Robson. As for being a gangster what about a Venables/Charley Haughey dream team?

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9
    ..... If we look at Lawrie Sanchez in the North, he at least gained experience at Sligo and Wycombe in MANAGING these teams.
    Real big time stuff!

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9
    ....I would love to hear Roy Keane's thoughts on Staunton's appointment. I wonder if Staunton would have been appointed if Keane had continued playing for Ireland?
    RMK's thoughts are irrelevant as he is no longer playing. What is more interesting is if the FAI did decide they were going to take on a manager with no experience why they did not offer it to Keane himself?

em stuttgart88,(see what you started with your saipan referance!!!!) I think its fair comment that he will not want to rock the boat with delaney given that he has appointed him to a position that lets face it his managerial experience didnt merit. thats just human nature, surely? Whelan,giles,brady and to a lesser extent houghton all came on the radio this morning and while being positive enough about staunton they were all opposed to the two of them working together. apparently robson has been imposed on staunton.(but I am open to correction on that.) Personally why I would be opposed to staunton is that he will be learning his trade whilst managing the national team. so he might turn out ot be a class act but its a cert he will make mistakes which in an international context could be the differance between qualifying and not qualifying.

This is a joke.
    how is there not a better option to STAN,
    no experience, only experience is what hes learned from Paul Merson in League One!
    Doesn't Mark Kinsella even have a more senior coaching role at Walsal than him?

If they want to appoint a former player than how is STAN more qualified than John Aldridge, Ronnie Whelan, Liam Brady, Joe Kinnear, Mark Lawrenson, John Sheridan and Alan Kernaghan(who have all been MANAGERS before)

Does STAN even have UEFA coaching badges. What about Packie Bonner or Chris Hughton at least theyve worked in Irish set uo before.

Ive nothing against STAN by the way, what im opposed to is negligence on the part of the FAI appointing someone with no experience to the most important job in Irish football.

This is the most important job in the country as far as im concerned yet I've to sit here and watch the FAI f*uck up once again.

"We are looking for a manager who can bring us success...........It's high profile, it's a good job and it's certainly one that we are confident we can get a top class manager to manage our team going forward."..........my hole.
    Caller to Radio 5 phone-in: There are too many foreign players in the league.
    Mark Lawrenson: Why do you think that is?
    Caller: Because there are a lot of them.

great player? hoofing the ball long down the line?
    He didn't hoof the ball down the line at Liverpool or Villa or Liverpool the second time around or Villa the second time around. If he was "hoofing the ball long down the line" then like the rest of the back four he was following the manager's tactics.

Interesting comments from Jack Charlton and Clinton Morrison on BBC website:

Ex-Republic boss Jack Charlton is delighted at the prospect. He said: "I think the partnership would be excellent. They would be good together. Robson knows exactly what to do and Steve knows what is necessary". Charlton added: "Robson has got the experience to teach Steve and his enthusiasm is second to none. Steve Staunton is a good lad. I don't know what qualifications he has got for the job, apart from being a good player but I think he would be OK. If they were appointed now I would agree with that decision."

Republic striker Clinton Morrison is also excited by the prospect of Staunton and Robson linking up. He said: "Steve helped a lot of the young players when I was around him - and I hope he still likes me. But he was friendly with all the players and got on with them and, although it will be difficult for him, I think he is a professional man and he knows he is there as a manager. As for Bobby, he has got great experience. He has been a top manager wherever he has gone and he has won trophies."

Angry

Jebus people, the facts of the matter are:

1) he doesn't have any managerial expierence
    2) has he got his coaching badges????????
    3) he is not the best option that's out there...if he is then lets just pack it in right now!
    4) just because he has got the most caps doesn't automatically make him a top manager, he actually was not a very good player, no skill not even related to a footballer, all he could do was head the ball, foul and hoof! (i'll get castigated for saying that but it's a fact)
    5) the fai are just a shower of idiots - homer simpson, lenny & karl would do a better job than them!

This situation stinks of more jobs for the boys because you impressed me when i spoke to you.

If anyone here got the top managers position in a company while working in the mailroom would people say as sure he'll do a good job coz he was good at sorting the post.....my arse you would!

He is not good enough or has expierence enough to manage his country.....

If he does get the position then football in ireland will have taken a big leap backwards!

Lets say that after Kerr is sacked someone tells you that our next move is to appoint a management 'duo'. One is going to be a leading Irish ex-international and the other one of the most respected coaches in the world who would have complained ???

Lets get this in perspective - SBR is there as a mentor. We have an opportunity to take an up and coming young manager and have him groomed by one of the greatest managers in world football. SBRs age is irrelevant and as for the quotes on whether he can remember names I have two words for you - Jack Charlton.

For Staunton R.e Van Basten, Rijkard, Stoichcov and Klinsman. Guys with very little experience but had a great management team with them to help them through.

I would like to see SBR in charge for two years (Euro campaign) and then hand it over full time to SS for the World Cup. Maybe , just maybe he could be the best manager we've had.

Quote Originally Posted by wallis
    Lets say that after Kerr is sacked someone tells you that our next move is to appoint a management 'duo'. One is going to be a leading Irish ex-international and the other one of the most respected coaches in the world who would have complained ???

Lets get this in perspective - SBR is there as a mentor. We have an opportunity to take an up and coming young manager and have him groomed by one of the greatest managers in world football. SBRs age is irrelevant and as for the quotes on whether he can remember names I have two words for you - Jack Charlton.

For Staunton R.e Van Basten, Rijkard, Stoichcov and Klinsman. Guys with very little experience but had a great management team with them to help them through.

I would like to see SBR in charge for two years (Euro campaign) and then hand it over full time to SS for the World Cup. Maybe , just maybe he could be the best manager we've had.
    Good post.

Quote Originally Posted by rayfinkle
    Jebus people, the facts of the matter are:

4) just because he has got the most caps doesn't automatically make him a top manager, he actually was not a very good player, no skill not even related to a footballer, all he could do was head the ball, foul and hoof! (i'll get castigated for saying that but it's a fact)
    I agree that he's not the best choice for manager but I think you underestimate him as a player. Granted he didn't reach his potential but he was a decent enough player. Too many people are forgetting his youth and just remembering the final years when he was past his best. I wouldn't mind having a young Staunton to play at left back now.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Real big time stuff!

RMK's thoughts are irrelevant as he is no longer playing. What is more interesting is if the FAI did decide they were going to take on a manager with no experience why they did not offer it to Keane himself?

Only making the point that at least Sanchez has had the EXPERIENCE IN MANAGEMENT, whilst Staunton hasn't had any.

Keane's thoughts are as irrelevant as yours, mine and every other tom dick and harry then. I would just like to hear his opinion on the matter as it was he who was ultimately responsible for the genesis report et al.

3,503 Posts
    The facts remain that nothing has been announced officially yet, not Staunton as manager, not Robson as advisor, for all we know right now Staunton could be kit manager and Robson bus driver. Let's just wait for the official unveiling at a press conference (rumoured to be held before the end of the week) before we start hounding out a manager who hasn't been in charge of a single minute for Ireland yet

Page 11 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast