View Poll Results: Would you agree with Staunton as Irish Manager?

Voters
123. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

30 24.39%
  • No

93 75.61%
Page 19 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: Staunton Ireland Manager?

Its a ridiculous choice given his resumee, but then again Mr Miyagi and Daniele son had a fantastic partnership.. I think with their (and our optimistic support) powers combined it wont be too bad, lets just see because i cant see them changing their minds on this one! When it fails they'll have to come up with the goods! Its not Stans fault they pick him, no man in Ireland would turn it down, and Bobby knows his stuff, fact.

Quote Originally Posted by M@ttitude
    Its a ridiculous choice given his resumee, but then again Mr Miyagi and Daniele son had a fantastic partnership.. I think with their (and our optimistic support) powers combined it wont be too bad, lets just see because i cant see them changing their minds on this one! When it fails they'll have to come up with the goods! Its not Stans fault they pick him, no man in Ireland would turn it down, and Bobby knows his stuff, fact.

Indeed and quite an analogy there! But at what point did Danielson become the master and could no longer learn from his mentor. Me thinks the Fai have got the plot back to front. How can Bob be Stans number 2..its just madness i tell ye.... madness!

They should make Bobby manager and let him choose who he wants not force people onto each other....or even if they really wanted to give stan some kind of role with a view to easing him into the job...but only if he's good enough....its a massive massive risk. If Stan's manager and Bobby is technical director its a fupping joke. We'ill have to wait and see.
    Last edited by onenilgameover; 10/01/2006 at 11:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    I met a friend of mine the other night who has been playing eircom league football for the last three years..have not seen the guy in a bit and he told me that he has been told by a couple of different people in the game that Staunton could be our next manager..

I personally want Martin O Neill or George Burley...i have a hunch we are going to get George Graham though..

I must quote myself on this one and show off....plenty more do it on here so its my chance...and just to rub it in i have 20 euro on him at 25/1 also...look at that date of my message...25th of October....

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    I must quote myself on this one and show off....plenty more do it on here so its my chance...and just to rub it in i have 20 euro on him at 25/1 also...look at that date of my message...25th of October....

I wouldn't count your chickens just yet untill you see the exact wording
    of the appointment, if it's Staunton and Robson as a managerial team
    you might have a problem getting paid out!!

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    How can Bob be Stans number 2..its just madness i tell ye.... madness!
    I dont think it will be like number 1 and number 2, its not about that because no one considers this to be a long term arrangement. Stan would'nt dare think he was superior to Bobby and I am sure Bobby would not stand for that. In my opinion this is a partnership and a foundation for a great managerial career for Staunton, we can only hope. Im behind this idea because with the FAIth being on such thin ice, they had to be kind of sure of this appointment.

Just my two cents worth.

Stan as well as Aldridge and Keane were not the answers to our managerial dilema in my opinion all along. I felt none of them had the managerial experience required and I stick by that

However i do feel if Bobby Robson and John Carver are appointed along side Staunton I think it has great potential to work. Robson is a fantastic coach with extensive knowledge of the game in Europe and Internationally. What Stan lacks in experience Bobby will make up for and then some. This type of role is perfect for Bobby in my opinion. Carver as he did at Newcastle will be the man on the coaching field with Bobby, reducing the amount of physical stuff Bobby will have to do. Anyone looking at Bobby's career objectively has to be impressed by what he has achieved.

I've had some exposure to John Carver, saw him coach a group of Newcastle underage kids in Amsterdam at a tournament and I've read quite a few articles by him in the FA's coaching magazine. He appears to be very tactically astute.

If these 3 appointments are made as opposed to just Stan on his own then I don't think that this is necessarily doomed to fail. Granted it could go either way as it could what any single manager but there's enough fight in Staunton and experienced tactical knowledge in Robson to make this work.

Two things I hoped for but didn't think I'd get together was 1) an Irishman and 2) Experience. I think this appointment will give me both and I'll more than willing to throw my support behind Staunton and the team.

Some of the arguments against are valid enough but overall I'm relatively excited by it and has as much possibility as working as anything else. I look forward to seeing how they and this thread develop over the coming months.

I'll get behind the Proud Irishman (is it safe to say this after the Mick McCarthy thread incident! ) fulfilling his dream. Whatever about the FAI, Stan and the Players deserve the support of the fans, just as Brian and the lads got even when times were tough.

I'm probably in a minority but if Stan gets the experienced coaches being reported then I'm not sure this discision wil prove to be as bad as some are suggesting. I'm as hopeful as I was when any other previous manager was appointed.
    Last edited by Karlos; 11/01/2006 at 2:37 AM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

2,796 Posts
    Agree with Karlos. I think everyone is distracted by the Staunton angle. The real issue here what Robson & Carver can bring to the fold. And if Staunton was a leader on the pitch he can be a leader off it too. So, in principle, this could work well. Leadership and experience.

The team was going backwards under Kerr and the atmosphere in the team and its relationship with the press had deteriorated too much for Kerr's position to be tenable.

The FAI, yet again, has made a monumental **** up in the PR angle of this appointment. Announcing they were aiming high and then leaking that Staunton was the new manager, with some sort of rumour that Robson was to be in some peripheral hand-holding role got everyone off on the wrong foot. But if you look at this more carefully, and assume (which I admit is tough knowing the FAI) that Robson's influence will be significant then I think this is a decent approach. This isn't the appointment I was (naively) hoping for but it's a hell of a lot better than Venables or some of the other names mentioned.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbod
    This is one of the most sensible comments I've read today. Steve Staunton showed exactly where his loyalties lay, in Saipan, and on and off the pitch throughout his irish playing career. His loyalties are and were to the Ireland football team...not Roy Keane, not Mick McCarthy, not the FAI!

If he can get the mostly mediocre current Irish players playing with half of the fight, spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career, then this will be a brilliant appointment....and I for one support him getting a chance.
    This is the most ridiculous statement i've yet seen....it beggars belief

2,796 Posts
    Not to me it doesn't

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    This is the most ridiculous statement i've yet seen....it beggars belief
    Which in turn says more about your skewed view of developments than it does about anything else (after all, didn't you want Venables?)

Forgive me, but I think I'd rather trust Greenbod and S88's judgements on this than yours...

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 11/01/2006 at 8:07 AM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

2,796 Posts
    Interesting, but Emmet Malone this morning suggests Kevin MacDonald of Aston Villa is being lined up in a coaching role, not Carver.

Malone says that this is clearly Staunton's man (ex-Villa) not Robson's.

He also suggests that Staunton's salary is twice that of Robson.

Together this suggests that Staunton is very much the senior figure in this set-up, not what I'd have liked.

I agree with Malone that Aldridge can rightly feel angry about how the FAI treated him. But apparently Stapleton was lined up for an interview too. Scary.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 11/01/2006 at 8:19 AM.

60 Posts
    Trouble in the camp already. Robson wanted Carver, Staunton overruled him and has brought in MacDonald.
    Always look on the bright side of life

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    Trouble in the camp already. Robson wanted Carver, Staunton overruled him and has brought in MacDonald.
    Yep, I was editing my post above as you were submitting your post.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    there have been numerous incidents of banners being confiscated by stewards be it pro/anti keane or political stuff such as Palestinian or Tibetian flags. its quite worrying actually.

i can imagine the headlines. "Rovers fan hates FAI". Even the Hellrag wouldnt be bothered.
    How about Cork having to threaten to ban for life if anyone protested against Givens trying to get players to leave the eL?

How about people having protest material taken off them going into Lansdowne?

How about the ban on anything remotely critical of the FAI in any club programme and the same with official websites and message boards linked from official websites? How about the automatic fine if that's breached?

How about the threat to cancel the eL tickets because members of the NLSA dared to tell the truth that the FAI had cut numbers?

This is all since Delaney took charge.

Before this appointment I'd already decided not a penny would be going to the FAI to back Delaney's regime. The decision over the manager just confirms it. To pay in and/or buy merchandise is to support the regime.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Which in turn says more about your skewed view of developments than it does about anything else (after all, didn't you want Venables?)

Forgive me, but I think I'd rather trust Greenbod and S88's judgements on this than yours...

PP
    Greenbod stated "if he can get the most mediocre Irish players playing with half the fight,spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career....will be a brilliant appointment"

So thats all we need to qualify for big tournaments, what about technical knowledge? This statement smacks of the old "As sure we gave it a lash...."

So get the players playing with half of Staunton's spirit and we are ok?

Ridiculous. I

Den Perry,
    who would you have given the job to, assuming MON, ferguson etc etc were out of the picture?

Although not my first choice, personally, i think Robson and Staunton will bring a lot to the table.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    795 Posts
    I would have given it to Aldridge who has managerial experience. Anyone seen any quote from him ? Was he asked or approached ?

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    I would have given it to Aldridge who has managerial experience. Anyone seen any quote from him ? Was he asked or approached ?
    I'd agree that aldridge should be ahead of staunton on merit, but i would favour robson/staunton over aldridge on his own

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Himself and Stapleton were apparently expecting to be interviewed the next week or so. Doesn't even look like Delaney went through proper procedures. Aldridge wouldn't have been the choice I'd have been expecting after the talking up Delaney did of likely candidates, but he at least has managerial experience.

Regardless of whether you're in favour of the indiviuals set to be appointed this whole thing is turning into a farce of proportions only the FAI could achieve.

Latest aspects of this fiasco now include the disagreement over the coaching role and news that Aldridge and Stapleton were supposed to be interviewed next week before FAI leaked news of impending appointment. Also understand that FAI haven't even approached Walsall re permission to talk to Staunton.

Mother of God I've supported the Irish team all my life, been to 3 WC finals, 1 EC finals and countless away games but what did we ever do to deserve this shower of incompetent fc*k*rs?

Page 19 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast