View Poll Results: Would you agree with Staunton as Irish Manager?

Voters
123. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

30 24.39%
  • No

93 75.61%
Page 12 of 25 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Staunton Ireland Manager?

Quote Originally Posted by rayfinkle
    Jebus people, the facts of the matter are:

1) he doesn't have any managerial expierence
    2) has he got his coaching badges????????
    3) he is not the best option that's out there...if he is then lets just pack it in right now!
    4) just because he has got the most caps doesn't automatically make him a top manager, he actually was not a very good player, no skill not even related to a footballer, all he could do was head the ball, foul and hoof! (i'll get castigated for saying that but it's a fact)
    5) the fai are just a shower of idiots - homer simpson, lenny & karl would do a better job than them!

This situation stinks of more jobs for the boys because you impressed me when i spoke to you.

If anyone here got the top managers position in a company while working in the mailroom would people say as sure he'll do a good job coz he was good at sorting the post.....my arse you would!

He is not good enough or has expierence enough to manage his country.....

If he does get the position then football in ireland will have taken a big leap backwards!

So who could the FAI actually afford to get. They don't have the money to pay for Hiddink's wages never mind the compensation to Australia + PSV.

Who did you honestly expect that we could get?
    Staunton has 20 years experience of the professional game. He has 100 caps worth of International experience. He's worked under some good and not so good managers. Can you honestly say that he hasn't learned along the way and formed his own opinions of how the game should be played?
    Coaching badges aren't worth the paper they are written on. Shankly, Ferguson, Busby, Stein, Clough did'nt have any.

Bobby Robson is a great choice. The man has managed some great clubs and players. Yes he's 73 but he's only out of management for a couple of years.

Wallis, any chance ye could stop putting the sir in front of bobby robson when talking about him?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

2,796 Posts
    I think the poll question above is far too simplistic.

I'm just gutted that we couldn't persuade Kevin Hodges (Assistant Manager of Yeovil Town - 10th place in the English Third Division) to take the job and we're stuck with the Assistant Manager of Walsall (13th place in the English Third Division)

If only there was an Irish manager available who had 20 years managerial experience and multiple league titles and European Championships, with an Ireland playing legend with many years English Premiership coaching experience as his assistant...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in.I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope. And Morrison was going to lick the arse of anybody in the hope of getting a game.

And Van Basten, Stoichkov......Staunton HA!

If Robson gets the job driving the bus its a joke....he's 73

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in.I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope. And Morrison was going to lick the arse of anybody in the hope of getting a game.

And Van Basten, Stoichkov......Staunton HA!
    You mean Charlton a World Cup winner, ex Club manager, Ex international manager who's won league and european medals as a player and who knows both men knows less than you about their ability to do the job.
    Maybe you should go for the job you seem to know more than all these lads put together.
    I think you'll find that you're the ignorant dope.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    If Stan is hired as the manager, then no further proof is needed that Delaney got rid of Kerr for his own personal reasons even though he couldn't find a person qualified to replace him.

John Delaney doesn't care about football in Ireland and all eL/Ireland fans will suffer as a consequence.

Agree totally. Delaney doesn't know his ars* from his elbow.....he's shot himself in the foot after all the talk of hiring a big name, just a pity he didn't shoot himself in the head!

I say give Stan a chance though - don't want him to perceive that Irish fans are not giving him a chance...best of luck Stan, hope u can bring the good times back!!
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

Asking players if they support a new manager is just plain stupid. Every player is going to support a manager in public otherwise he'll look like an idiot if guy gets the job & he'll probably be dropped.

Staunton is McCarthy Mark II. Took McCarthy 3 years to learn his international trade. Delaney clearly had no logical plan when he essentially sacked Kerr & took a while to realise had feck all options.

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry
    Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in. I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope.
    Chr!st, you really have got an attitude. Is Dan Perry a nom de guerre? Are you Roy Keane in disguise?
    "...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."

1,928 Posts
    Afair Robson was on £400,000 p/a with Newcastle, replaced by Souness at £1m plus p/a. Robson with no transfer kitty brought them from bottom to 3rd in the first season (with Andy O' Brien and Titus Bramble in defense ?). Robson is renowned for the attacking style with his teams. Staunton is at least proven as a very solid captain and a defense organizer. Contrary to public paraodies, Robson is in full possession of his faculties and has an exceptional memory. Personality wise I think it's a good blend with him and Staunton. Just a hunch but I could not see Aldo and Robson working well together.
    There is a perception that Robson will be the gentle advisor to the passionate Staunton. I would expect Robson to don his tracksuit and participate fully, that is his passion.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Asking players if they support a new manager is just plain stupid. Every player is going to support a manager in public otherwise he'll look like an idiot if guy gets the job & he'll probably be dropped.

Staunton is McCarthy Mark II. Took McCarthy 3 years to learn his international trade. Delaney clearly had no logical plan when he essentially sacked Kerr & took a while to realise had feck all options.
    We needed to let Kerr go. The team dis-improved under him. They played in a straight jacket.
    I think Staunton and Robson is a good appointment. O'Neill and Hiddink were only fantasy stuff, they could get much bigger jobs than the Ireland one.

read the holland chapter on Bobby Robson in Football against the Enemy.and that was a few years ago. seemed to be seen as bit of a joke figure

Quote Originally Posted by Hither green
    Chr!st, you really have got an attitude. Is Dan Perry a nom de guerre? Are you Roy Keane in disguise?
    Den Perry burned down the Phoenix Club - You're barred Den Perry, You're barred!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    Afair Robson was on £400,000 p/a with Newcastle, replaced by Souness at £1m plus p/a. Robson with no transfer kitty brought them from bottom to 3rd in the first season (with Andy O' Brien and Titus Bramble in defense ?). Robson is renowned for the attacking style with his teams. Staunton is at least proven as a very solid captain and a defense organizer. Contrary to public paraodies, Robson is in full possession of his faculties and has an exceptional memory. Personality wise I think it's a good blend with him and Staunton. Just a hunch but I could not see Aldo and Robson working well together.
    There is a perception that Robson will be the gentle advisor to the passionate Staunton. I would expect Robson to don his tracksuit and participate fully, that is his passion.
    The more I think about it the appointment of Robson could be an inspired choice. This man has a huge amount of experience. Imagine the impact he would have not only on the senior players but on the youth teams and the organisation itself.
    Imagine the encouragement he could give the players. Remember this man has worked with some exceptional players and coaches. Imagine the relationship he would have with the top managers in the Premiership. He has a good relationship with both Ferguson and Mourinho.

60 Posts
    Some facts about Delaney
    • Delaney admitted that one of his main motivations about getting the CEO job was to get even with the people who wronged his father
    • On TV he stated that if the Genises report was not implemented in 12 months he would resign; it wasn't and he didn't
    • After sacking Kerr, he said that as the ROI job was a top international job they would be in a position to appoint a top coach; STAN manager of Walsalls' reserve team
    Always look on the bright side of life

Robson as an "advisor" is very strange idea as hes basically Stauntons assistant which agains very strange for man of his years & experience. The international manager role is not a position for a trainee which is what Staunton will be. I expect an inglorious start to qualification & players confused about whose in charge...

Robsons only there i feel to make Delaney not look like a complete dope . which isnt an easy thing to do.

Quote Originally Posted by Hither green
    No, he can't be, otherwise he would have said 'Fuc*** English ignorant dope'!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    Den Perry burned down the Phoenix Club - You're barred Den Perry, You're barred!
    True, but he's right about Staunton, Saipan, Delaney and the whole sorry mess. No amount of muppetry on here will change that.

If any one player personifies my hatred of the FAI, their team and their olé olé followers it's Steve "Stan" Staunton.

Forza Italia, Argentina, Wales, Azerbaijan, Narnia or anybody bleedin' else TBH.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Page 12 of 25 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast