Thread: Football Tourism

Football Tourism

Thinking of football weekend trip to Europe as stopgap to new season.

Would probably choose Italy, Spain & Germany in that order... Would prefer not to have to buy match ticket in advance. Any advice...?

Go to see Barcelona or Milan, Pete.
    That way you can bring me back a programme.

Ajax is always an option.

European trips are vital in the close season and are remarkably easy given the availability of cheap flights these days. A few of us Hoops are heading over to Fiorentina v Messina in two weeks. Flights to Pisa are only Eur70 and it's only a short train journey from Florence. Tickets in Italy generally aren't a problem, especially if the away team is rubbish (ala Messina). Even if the game is a sell-out, there are always tout tickets available. Around ten of us went to Roma v Lazio last season and we all got tickets off touts (around Eur70 a pop from what I remember, but I've no problem paying that for a one off game).

A group of us went to Valencia v Levante last January but we have a contact over there who sorted out tickets (first derby game in 40 years so it was a complete sell out). Got Ryanair to that airport south of Barcelona (name completely escapes me) and trained it down to Valencia. Went to Espaynol v Osasuna the same weekend and picked up tickets at the gate no problem.

Don't know about Germany but I'd imagine it's much the same. I plan on making it to a St. Pauli game at some stage this season. They are in division one (or whatever they call it in Germany) so tickets shouldn't be a problem. They're supposed to be crazy b*stards.

The way we picked the Fiorentina game was by going on Ryanair and seeing where we could get cheap flights to. Pisa was cheap so we checked the Fiorentina website and found they were playing at home. Easy. Doesn't matter if Messina are rubbish, you can't beat European trips (cue loads of jokes about Rovers not making Europe...)

Oh, also going to Anderlecht v Genk next month, but I'm basically an Anderlecht casual so that doesn't count
    Last edited by Passive; 05/01/2006 at 3:24 PM.

57 Posts
    No problem with tickets in Spain unless you are trying for Barca v Real or something like that. Tickets normally on sale from the stadium 3 days before the game and normally no issue on matchdays.

Has to be Barca these days - they look awesome on tv.

Try

www.soccer-spain.com for ticket details.

Seville is a lovely city too and great passion among the fans. Direct flights from Dublin and high speed rail link to Madrid -also have the option of Malaga close by so easy to do 2 games in a weekend although fixtures won't be confirmed until a week before the game so you need to cover saturday and sunday.

I'd avoid Germany due to the weather in Jan/Feb.

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    A few of us Hoops are heading over to Fiorentina v Messina in two weeks.
    I'll avoid that so.

Shortlist of cities currently Milan, Rome, Barcelona...

Pick of the games in next 4-8 weeks
    Lazio v Milan
    Barca v Athletico
    Inter v Juventus
    Barca v Betis
    Lazio v Roma
    Roma v Inter
    Barcelona v Deportivo
    Real Madrid v Atletico

Ryanair & Air Fungus flight prices vary but Iberia got lots of €100 flights to Spain. German very cheap to fly to & match ticket also very cheap but germans live there...

30 Posts
    Around ten of us went to Roma v Lazio last season and we all got tickets off touts (around Eur70 a pop from what I remember, but I've no problem paying that for a one off game).
    I was looking into going to the Rome derby in Feb but the tickets are
    something like €120 and they only post them to a hotel, which is an
    extra €20.

Oh, also going to Anderlecht v Genk next month, but I'm basically an Anderlecht casual so that doesn't count

Even after leaving the country those purple-white feckers keep on chasing me...

(yes, I hate Anderlecht, think I mentionned that several times before)

People who want a nice game by a top class team in a vibrant city, only one place to be: ROSENBORG B.K.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

I was a season ticket holder at Malaga two years ago and we never had many problems getting extra tickets around the ground for our non-season ticket holding mates that wanted to go to the big games.

Usually the tout prices aren't ridiculous anyway, you often get to use a guy's season ticket who would rather take the money and let someone else pass the stile with his ticket before handing it back out....but dont handover your money till the stile clicks you in

I did pay a disgusting amount of money to see Barca v Real Madrid at the Camp Nou once, a 3-0 tonking, Ronaldinho was mesmerising. Worth every cent!
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

57 Posts
    People who want a nice game by a top class team in a vibrant city, who are National Champions - only one place to be: VÅLERENGA IF

12th February - Royal League
    Vålerenga IF - FC Midtjylland

16th February - Royal League
    Vålerenga IF - Hammarby IF

17th April - Tippeligaen
    The Oslo Derby
    FC Lyn Oslo - Vålerenga IF
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Lazio v Roma
    some of you sensitive types might want to avoid that one.

if you think Rovers are bad, this is a different planet. di canio's last derby, expect (literally) fireworks, rioting, stabbings, racist chants and swastikas on the Curva nord, baton charges and tear gas from the cops etc.

marvellous fun, but expect extreme acts of lunacy from even the most placid Roman.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    some of you sensitive types might want to avoid that one.

if you think Rovers are bad, this is a different planet. di canio's last derby, expect (literally) fireworks, rioting, stabbings, racist chants and swastikas on the Curva nord, baton charges and tear gas from the cops etc.

marvellous fun, but expect extreme acts of lunacy from even the most placid Roman.
    what he said

go to a Roma V someone else match - great stadium, great fans, easy to get tickets. The derby's hardcore (and not in a good way)

The final rounds of Australia's A-League are currently taking place. E1500 should get you here and back.

Show me your boarding pass & I will give you free match ticket

Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    I was looking into going to the Rome derby in Feb but the tickets are
    something like €120 and they only post them to a hotel, which is an
    extra €20.
    Don't but tickets through those ****ing agency things. You'll have no problem buying them on the day for about half that (as posted by Passive above) for that game. None of the others get nowhere near to selling out (except for the other big derbies obviously)

A few Pats lads have gone away to a game this time of year for the past few years. You have to weigh up the football, the city, the nightlife and the price. I'd suggest Barcelona (SEI going to el classico in April ) but I'm heading to see Atletico Madrid play Sociedad in mid feb too. Just gonna walk up on the day and get tickets

Any of the ones you've posted should be good craic though

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    what he said

go to a Roma V someone else match - great stadium, great fans, easy to get tickets. The derby's hardcore (and not in a good way)
    No way, the derby is a must see, but only from the Curva Sud. It's more than a football game, it's the opportunity to see 70,000 Romans doing what they do best - shout, scream and gesticulate wildly.

There was a bit of hassle outside the ground when we were there (one minor stabbing but mostly handbags) but nothing afterwards because everyone in Rome - and I mean everyone - follows Roma. Lazio are the filthy culchies of Rome. On second thoughts Pete, maybe you should follow them

30 Posts
    I have to admit that Lazio were always the team I looked out for when
    RTE and C4 first started showing Italian soccer.

I was in Rome on hols a while back and was amazed at what a sh!thole
    the Olympic Stadium looks from the outside. I was even more amazed
    that they dont do ground tours or have any supporter shops near the
    ground! Either that or I totally missed them, which knowing me isnt beyond
    the realms of possibility!?!

Roma - Lazio is an amazing game - all football fans should see it - passion and also a bit of football (as opposed to Old Firm which just has the former). The atmosphere was electric but we didn't see any trouble at all. There were no stewards in the ground and the cops were thin on the ground outside but I was amazed at the lack of hassle.

Of course if you do go, get to the ground at least an hour before kick-off.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Of the ones you've mentioned

Barca and Inter would be my choice in that order.

Milan is a dump IMO, but the San Siro is fantastic, and you can buy the tickets online in advance from their official site.

Barcelona has it all, stadium, team, city, nightlife, food.
    I love the place.

On a side note I'm of to Argentina and Brazil in a few months, going to try and catch a game or two over there
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Lazio are the filthy culchies of Rome. On second thoughts Pete, maybe you should follow them
    At least you didn't call be a fascist.

Quote Originally Posted by el punter
    I was a season ticket holder at Malaga two years ago and we never had many problems getting extra tickets around the ground for our non-season ticket holding mates that wanted to go to the big games.

Usually the tout prices aren't ridiculous anyway, you often get to use a guy's season ticket who would rather take the money and let someone else pass the stile with his ticket before handing it back out....but dont handover your money till the stile clicks you in

I did pay a disgusting amount of money to see Barca v Real Madrid at the Camp Nou once, a 3-0 tonking, Ronaldinho was mesmerising. Worth every cent!
    Think some of us paid a fiver more than face value for the Valencia derby last year. Then I went up to Zaragosa to see the Cup Winners Cup

Re your signature boez are known as the gypos........

3,491 Posts
    I could recommend two hours watching the Faroese Second Division's big derby match between the two top Faroese teams' reserves... Featuring a half-time kick-about by ourselves.