View Poll Results: Who would you prefer to win a World Cup final between England and Germany?

Voters
93. You may not vote on this poll
  • England

15 16.13%
  • Germany

78 83.87%
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who would you prefer to win a World Cup final between England and Germany?

3,500 Posts
    Yep, Germany all the way.

Germany without a doubt.
    Many reasons
    1. I absolutely hate the British media ( there even worse when they win something ), words do not express the hatred i feel for that hypocritical bunch of band waganors. just look at what happened when they won the rugger bugger world cup or that sh!t cricket thing last year. Well done you bet the aussies, now give yourself a clap on the back and the queens tongue up your arse.
    2. I do not like the football that is played in the premiersh!t, i dont like what it is, it has made football into a corporate frankenstein.
    3. I dont like the type of football that the Brit team play while then you look at the caliber of player available to them. its a cryin shame. I guess thats more svens fault. Also i cannot stand that nonce, King David, my short and curlys have more leadership potential than that over rated diva.
    4. I think what the Germans are doing in the Bundesliga is groundbraking and are showing the way forward. They have pursued a policy of low ticket prices combined with good football and its worked, they have the highest attendances in Europe. They do not alienate their loyal fan base like the Premiersh!t does, they try to accomodate them. With the best stadiums in europe they still have terracing, sheer brilliance. Look at the atmosphere at european games with Bayern or Schalke compared to the atmosphere at Merchandise united or games at the Library.
    5. Also the tribal thing, 700 years of repression and all that.

Not too sure if this is what the author would want though. I'd have no problem England beating German in a world cup quarter final as long as there's a penalty shoot out agony waiting for them at the next stage. So it's not that I'd prefer Germany to beat England, it's just that I don't want England to win the world cup.

Understand?
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Germany are the team i want to win the World cup,i always cheer for them when im not cheering for Ireland but other than that i cheer on England so its a tough choice but i went for Germany.

England for me, no doubt. Lived in Germany during the last world cup and the attitude of the Germans absolutely drove me mad. They spent the first half of the tournament giving out about how **** they were and how they had no chance, and all of a sudden they were world beaters- the arrogance was unbearable. At least the English are consistent in that they're arrogant ALL THE TIME

I have the same reservations about the british media as many posters, but win or no win they'll be at it anyway, and lets face it, it would be refreshing to hear them going on about anything other than 1966 for a change!

Snoop Drog and Éanna have admitted to it. Well done lads

Still 4 more though...Any chance of changing this to a public poll Ken?

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Talking

Well, Deutschland without a doubt for the following reasons;

1: Have always liked the German national team for some reason and have always supported them

2: The English media does my head in, nothing worse than bragging and especially when the players and Sven the slapper joins in before every tournament and declares how this time they will win Modesty please!!

3: Have some great footballing friends in Germany even if they do support Bayern Munich!

Sorry Liamand Peadar!!!

Germany for many reasons but the main one being the attitude of the media over here. Christ! according to them they have won it allready and it hasnt even started.I cant bear the thoughts of them winning a single game not to mind getting to the final.

60 Posts
    I am disappointed that there is no option "take up croquet instead" (ordinarily I would have said cricket, as normally that's one sport neither would have any chance in).

The problems for me are that both seem to feel they have a God given right to win the major tournaments (which in fairness a country called West Germany did tend to do a lot) and the media organisations of both are odious with regard to it (and about 60% of our media is Anglo-American run). I have more friends in Bavaria and England who follow football and passionately detest their "National" football teams than not, which would lead me to wish to see both of their national results - do Geordies and East Germans feel connected to the team that is supposed to share the same passport? I don't particularly connect with ours, but I'd like to see us beat either Germany or England, anyway.

Will put down England to irriatate as many people here as possible, and if they did win it, will quietly emmigrate to Lithuania to avoid the media.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I voted for England as well. Of all the countries competing I don't want Germany to win, so if I had another choice with England then I wouldn't have voted for our neighbours. I just couldn't handle the fact that if Germany won they would have the highest number of victories for European countries in the WC. Anyway it won't matter because Brazil will win.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

England.

I have so much respect for Lampard, Beckham, Gerrard, Rooney, Terry, Neville. They're bleedin amazin players & I think they deserve to win. I've taken a lot of pleasure seein them play & so why should I begrudge them a world cup.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    England.

I have so much respect for Lampard, Beckham, Gerrard, Rooney, Terry, Neville. They're bleedin amazin players & I think they deserve to win. I've taken a lot of pleasure seein them play & so why should I begrudge them a world cup.
    I dont believe it...
    I am not your brother.

You wouldnt have had such respect for them if they were born 200 years ago and they were piliging you're land and keeping you down

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't know if that happens very often... Sure Scotland is in the same country & they loudly support any english opposition. I'd be surprised if even 20% of people vote for England.
    Scotland is occupied by England .... same as we were up to 1922... do not make that mistake

England.

Because they haven't shut up about the first one they won 40 YEARS AGO.
    You don't hear the Italians rabbiting on about 1982 now do you?

I voted for Germany but only because there were no OTHER alternatives to an England win.
    I'd like to see Serbia-Montenegro win it or Italy !
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 10/01/2006 at 6:55 AM.

lads if ye dont like the british media dont read it . its not their fault that it is prevelant here , of course they are gonna be biased towards their own country they arent writing it for ye they are writing it for their own countrymen.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    lads if ye dont like the british media dont read it . its not their fault that it is prevelant here , of course they are gonna be biased towards their own country they arent writing it for ye they are writing it for their own countrymen.
    You're dead right!
    Can you imagine if we (Ireland) won the World Cup?
    The papers, TV, radio etc would be full of it forever. I reckon we'd be worse than the English.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis
    I dont believe it...
    I am not your brother.

You wouldnt have had such respect for them if they were born 200 years ago and they were piliging you're land and keeping you down
    You've made the point I would have made in my defence about bygones & all that, thanks. I rest on your face.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    You're dead right!
    Can you imagine if we (Ireland) won the World Cup?
    The papers, TV, radio etc would be full of it forever. I reckon we'd be worse than the English.
    I'm not sure about that we won the Eurovision song contest 7 times we stopped crowing about that ages ago

P.S. We didn't invade one of our nearest neighbours in 1072 and keep them under Irish rule till now either
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 12/01/2006 at 6:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    P.S. We didn't invade one of our nearest neighbours in 1072 and keep them under Irish rule till now either
    Was that not the Normans, who had actually conquered England 6 year prior to that too. We can't hold England accountable till Cromwell who had our native asses whooped by 1652. The pr!ck. Anyway, Lampard & Gerrard would never invade us, they seem like decent guys, so don't worry you can vote for England on this one.
    Townsend on McGrath

Was that not the Normans, who had actually conquered England 6 year prior to that too. We can't hold England accountable till Cromwell who had our native asses whooped by 1652. The pr!ck. Anyway, Lampard & Gerrard would never invade us, they seem like decent guys, so don't worry you can vote for England on this one.
    AFAIK The Normans never had complete control of Ireland and irish kings still owned much land. The first person to attempt to enforce complete control was the english king Henry 2, although it didnt work very well and thus plantations followed.
    Point being the brits are responsible for everything from the Famine,to the demise of Gaelige, to the dodgy pint I got last Friday.
    Last edited by Beavis; 13/01/2006 at 12:12 AM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast