Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Dublin City aims for Europe

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Your the one who's being semantic here.
    I think we both are and that's the point. We agree 100% on the actual facts of what happened we only disagree on wheather DCFC should call itself a new club. I believe they can because when one club splits in two, one of the two clubs must be 'new'. You believe thay can't because there is still a direct line linking the current DCFC team to teams that played decades ago. I think this discussion is a semantic one because we agree on the facts we only disagree on what language should be used to describe them.
    Last edited by Bald Student; 10/01/2006 at 6:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    I think we both are and that's the point. We agree 100% on the actual facts of what happened we only disagree on wheather DCFC should call itself a new club. I believe they can because when one club splits in two, one of the two clubs must be 'new'. You believe thay can't because there is still a direct line linking the current DCFC team to teams that played decades ago. I think this discussion is a semantic one because we agree on the facts we only disagree on what language should be used to describe them.
    Thats grand ,so we all agree now that Dublin City is a new Club, great.

What DCFCSteve is trying to say I think, is that -despite the fact they kept the Home Farm moniker- the junior side is the actual new club in theory. Of course you can question if that was not just an administrative trick to avoid Dublin City having to be re-elected... Who splits off from who, that's the main question.

I could be wrong, but the current LSL club Drumcondra FC (who play at the grass field opposite of Tolka Park) are also somehow linked to Home Farm and Dublin City, aren't they?
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    I could be wrong, but the current LSL club Drumcondra FC (who play at the grass field opposite of Tolka Park) are also somehow linked to Home Farm and Dublin City, aren't they?
    Noooooooooo!!! Bad enough that we had two Home Farms at one point, now we're gonna have two Continuity Home Farms?
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Noooooooooo!!! Bad enough that we had two Home Farms at one point, now we're gonna have two Continuity Home Farms?
    The re-foundation of Drumcondra FC (as a split-off of Home Farm or not, I don't know) was before the rise of HF Everton/Finglas/DCFC , or at least so I was told by one of their players who regularly drank in Tolka's social club.

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    one of their players who regularly drank in Tolka's social club.
    That's something I'd be more worried about. I hope it stops when the new season starts!

I refered to a Drumcondra FC player, not a DCFC player. Drumcondra FC from the LSL, players at that level are supposed to drink at games, that's their core motivation for playing

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Thats grand ,so we all agree now that Dublin City is a new Club, great.
    Ahhhh - no...

If you read the previous page, you'll see that Bald Student agrees you became a new club in 1995 - when the junior side of Hoem Farm split from you and you became Home Farm Everton; then Home Farm Fingal in 1999, and then finally Dublin City in 2001.

So at the very least everyone agrees that you've existed since 1995 and had previous Home Farm mainfestations.

Even Maynard agreed !
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 10/01/2006 at 10:12 PM.

Thumbs down Premier Aims At Dublin City

Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin? We seem to be goin in circles with questions & answers mostly. Dublin City FC are a force to be reckoned with, now if that's not 'new'.. I dont know what is...

Seriously though, for a football club with valiant ambitions & a mere 4 yrs of semi-success behind em could be a contributin factor of other fans slaggin us. Im I wrong? Is there also a hidden threat innervasion? If the other fans had to change situations & like us they found a team that started up & felt it was the team to support I wonder would they change their tune. Speakin of which,

dcfcsteve... any chance of givin us our Molly back?
    Last edited by blueviking1980; 10/01/2006 at 11:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by blueviking1980
    Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin?
    Because Dublin City fans are fantasists, and refuse to accept the clear fact that your club is mor than4 years old.

Seriously though, for a football club with valiant ambitions & a mere 4 yrs of semi-success behind em could be a contributin factor of other fans slaggin us. Im I wrong? Is there also a hidden threat innervasion?
    Ireland faces a greater threat of amphibious invasion by the Swiss navy than Dublin City poses a footballing threat to the other Premier Division Eircom League clubs And there you go again with the Great Gatsby-esque delusion of being only 4 years old. Hello !!! You go back AT THE VERY LEAST to 1995 as Home Farm Everton. Keep up.... And what's "innervasion"...?

Ther reason why you get so much slagging is that Seery's been whorring the whole 'brand new club' ballax around so much for his own marketing purposes that Dublin City fans themselves have bought into the delusion hook, line and heavy-bit. If you weren't all spouting deluded sh!te, you wouldn't get the abuise. Simple as.

Quote Originally Posted by Blueviking1980
    dcfcsteve... any chance of givin us our Molly back?
    Happily. Now what the feck is it......?

Foot.ie!

Our song Molly Malone that u's lot somehow have...

That was meant to be "Innervation"... long day, stop..

Because Dublin City fans are fantasists, and refuse to accept the clear fact that your club is mor than4 years old.

Ireland faces a greater threat of amphibious invasion by the Swiss navy than Dublin City poses a footballing threat to the other Premier Division Eircom League clubs And there you go again with the Great Gatsby-esque delusion of being only 4 years old. Hello !!! You go back AT THE VERY LEAST to 1995 as Home Farm Everton. Keep up.... And what's "innervasion"...?

Ther reason why you get so much slagging is that Seery's been whorring the whole 'brand new club' ballax around so much for his own marketing purposes that Dublin City fans themselves have bought into the delusion hook, line and heavy-bit. If you weren't all spouting deluded sh!te, you wouldn't get the abuise. Simple as.

Happily. Now what the feck is it......?
    is it not a bit like saying that the Pd's were founded in early 1900's , because it is a continuation of Sinn Fein? They are not a new Party, etc.

Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin?
    As I've said before its because Dublin City are obviously now the Big Club in Dublin
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    As I've said before its because Dublin City are obviously now the Big Club in Dublin
    Roddy Collins thinks its the best club to invest in , according to the Star on Sunday

is it not a bit like saying that the Pd's were founded in early 1900's , because it is a continuation of Sinn Fein?
    To quote the guy from the Amstel Ad : "Ahhhhhh - no !"........

If the PD's had kept all Sinn Fein seats etc, then your example would work. But then it would've clearly been just a name change.

A better example would be when Labour in Britain decided to become 'New Labour'. New name, same party, same position as before.

Or an even better example would be when Sean Coombs decided to become 'Puff Daddy', and then 'P Diddy'. They weren't 3 different people - just 3 different names for the same thing....

Stop the self-delusion guys - this is getting very tedious....
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 11/01/2006 at 10:46 AM.

Roddy Collins thinks its the best club to invest in , according to the Star on Sunday
    Well Roddy's usually right, and has proven himself to be shrewd when previously advising people on where to invest in football (e.g. Carlisle).... !

If the PD's had kept all Sinn Fein seats etc, then your example would work. But then it would've clearly been just a name change.

A better example would be when Labour in Britain decided to become 'New Labour'. New name, same party, same position as before.
    Think you just under cut your entire arguement.
    New Labour was a name change. There was one party before, there was one party afterwards.
    Home Farm splitting into the schoolboy / junior club and the entity now known as Dublin City for Senior football was one club becoming two clubs.

The wool pulled over the eyes i spoke off earlier was in regard to the initial breakaway, Ronan obviously felt that his options were easier to tell a few white lies to the eircom League at the time. he must have, he got away with it. I'm sure that if you had to investigate the entry of every club into the national league at the time of their entry it would have some suspect dealings.

this was done ten years ago, and Dublin City are now in the league, deal with it.

Calendar of events

Home Farm compete in Schoolboy / Junior & Senior Competitions

Home Farm compete in Schoolboy & Junior Competitions
    Home Farm Everton (breakaway section) compete in Senior Competitions

1995-2001
    Home Farm compete in Schoolboy & Junior Competitions
    Home Farm Everton change name to Home Farm Fingal and eventually Dublin City.

2001 - present
    the breakaway section (new club) compete moderately successfully in the eircom League as Dublin City.

Dublin City have their roots in Home Farm, this is undeniable, but they are a completely different club to Home Farm now.

Home Farm retained ownership of ALL assets, Dublin City rent Whitehall from Home Farm. Therefore seperate club.

To quote the guy from the Amstel Ad : "Ahhhhhh - no !"........

Or an even better example would be when Sean Coombs decided to become 'Puff Daddy', and then 'P Diddy'. They weren't 3 different people - just 3 different names for the same thing....

Stop the self-delusion guys - this is getting very tedious....
    it was a split , wiith Home Farm. They own Whitehall, we just rent it, they can't take back the licence. the company that has the licence has no connection with home farm.

This is f@cking madness...I think we've found a person who actually spends more time thinking about Dublin City then any of the season ticket holders on this site...very, very sad. I guarentee you the year that Dublin City FC finish 2nd in the Premier Division and win the League Cup I won't give 2 sh1ts about any newly promoted club that is no threat to me whatsoever. I PROMISE!

Quote Originally Posted by Breifne
    1995-2001
    Home Farm Everton change name to Home Farm Fingal and eventually Dublin City.
    So can all the deluded DCFC fans and your arch-fantasist CEO please, please, PLEASE stop pretending that your club is only 4 years old and had no existence prior to 2001!!! It's very clear that you've been the same club since at least 1995, and it's very, very dull to pretend otherwise.

Dublin City fans are the Eircom League's eqivalent of Luke Skywalker in 'The Empire Strikes Back' - dangling over the edge of a precipice and refusing to accept the factual reality that Home Farm 'Darth Vadar' Everton is their father....

Just accept your history, and then we can all get onto discussing interesting topics instead. Phew.....
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 11/01/2006 at 2:54 PM.

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast