Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dublin City aims for Europe

Dublin City aims for Europe

While checking the EL club sites (a routine I try to do at least once a month to stay updated) I noticed a rather interesting letter posted at dublincityfc.net

The letter is about 2 or 3 pages long but basically it's an expressing of the board how glad they are to be back, how proud they are of the players, etc.
    A few statements though are remarkable:

- they want to build a squad that secures Premiership status and quickly grows to a dominant force in Irish football
    - they want to keep on expanding until the biggest European teams came to Dublin to play them
    - they have ideas to even sell more jerseys and make DCFC a truely present image in Dublin's streets, and hope to offer the Dublin football audience an alternative to the longer established clubs (= they want to take fans away from Shels, Rovers, Bohs and Pats? )
    - they don't feel sorry for relegating Rovers and hope they will sort out themselves (+ the odd and expected wish to see a purified Rovers back in the Premier soon)

Risky to speak in such big terms (challenging for the EL champions title, playing European football, ...), risky for sure given the fact that many people don't take them too serious as it is... I can imagine some people will find it very weird to hear a team with 250 fans declare they want to be EL champions and play Europe in a few seasons time...

On the other hand, it's nice to see some ambition in Irish football, and Dublin City are a well-managed club, so who knows? Maybe if they can bring some attractive football they actually find their audience within Dublin and grow further...
    I am afraid though some people will not be too polite in commenting on such a statements...

Full letter from the DCFC board is published on www.dublincityfc.net
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    - they want to build a squad that secures Premiership status
    i think that should be about all they should aim for in the next three to five years, mid-table mediocrity.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

I am sure every dublin club is in fear. If only letters won leagues.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

i think rocky has finally realised that CHF are about as popular as cancer and has begun a charm offensive.

fair play for some form of peace effort towords rovers (no-one really cared our end) but you would swear reading it that everyone involved in the roddy poaching business hadnt been removed at Rovers. the world has moved on, mcliar is out. why keep going on about it?

if only a man with that ambition was involved in a real club.....

Why shouldn't they aim for league trophies and European football!!

Every club in the eL should be aiming for this sort of level! What's the point in trying just to finish mid-table. Clubs should be reaching for the top. If clubs don't want to be reaching the top in football then what's the point??

I'm liking the attitude of DCFC. Fair Play!!

P.S for those who think DCFC should not be the eL please don't bring up comments like "DCFC don't deserve a place....". They are in the premier now, so just face it!!
    Who Cares?!

Gerritt - the sentiments in that letter will probably only come as a surprise to yourself...

Most people who've been following Irish football for any decent length of time know that the whole rebranding of Home Farm into Dublin City wasn't just stumbled-upon or done for the sake of it. Seery has been very clear in his intentions of taking Dublin City places - even so far as wanting them to be the Irish entrants into any European Super League that may happen.

Seery is not interested in Irish football. He's only interested in his little pet-project of CHF. He's looking to build a football empire from scratch for himself, so he can make money and sit back and say "look what I did - aren't I the great fella" ! If he did have a genuine interest in Irish football he would've put his time and effort into an existing/established senior club with clear potential, or built-up a strong junior club - not just steal a league place off of a reinvented minor club franchise-stylee and then try to force his pipe-dream onto an already over-crowded domestic football scene in Dublin. He's in it to make money for himself - which is why he didn't look to invest in any other team. He wants it to be his dream, his baby, and at the end of it all 100% his financial return. His motives aren't pure, which is one of the many reasons why his club is so unpopular. If you weren't relatively fresh off the plane/boat/train/helicopter/rickshaw from Belgium you might apreciate that...

Well if it is the same Belgian that I'm thinking of, he has been here before the Ireland and Faroe Islands game (13 Oct 04). You might not remember Gerrit but I know you! Great man for the football!!

P.S I'm not an internet stalker!
    Who Cares?!

Lol!
    God

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    registration letters?
    Excellent
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Don't want to get drawn into a slagging match, but I'd surmise my opinion on this topic in two short points; Firtsly, (as alluded to above) I can't see any fault in setting lofty goals for any eL club, I mean if you don't then what's the point? and secondly I can only speak for myself, but I imagine that all City fans would want virtually everything that is contained in that letter. The chances of us achiveing all of these things is undoubtedly small, but personally I think you need to have a certain percentage of the enternal optimist/dreamer to support this league at all, otherwise we'd all go mad.

Maynard

Don't want to get drawn into a slagging match, but I'd surmise my opinion on this topic in two short points; Firtsly, (as alluded to above) I can't see any fault in setting lofty goals for any eL club, I mean if you don't then what's the point? and secondly I can only speak for myself, but I imagine that all City fans would want virtually everything that is contained in that letter. The chances of us achiveing all of these things is undoubtedly small, but personally I think you need to have a certain percentage of the enternal optimist/dreamer to support this league at all, otherwise we'd all go mad.
    Exactly Maynard, that is what I was saying basically. There is no point in football if you are not going to try to reach for the top!!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    - they want to build a squad that secures Premiership status and quickly grows to a dominant force in Irish football
    Ye,they are moving to England....that is what the league is called in Engalnd isn't it.

I want Bohemians to redevelop Dalymount into a 15000 seater stadium with undersoil heating, executive boxes, shops, bars, restaurants and offices. I want the team to have several current internationals, to win the League and Cup double, qualify for the Champions League, win the World Club Championships within 5 years, have more fans in Singapore than Man United, read about the shenanigans of John Paul Kelly's bird shopping in Heat magazine, drink Bohemian FC branded bear in my bed with a Bohs duvet, watching a teleivision add for a new Bohemians video game being advertised during a tv break from an RTE review of Bohemians beating Celtic 5-0 in a Champions League qualifier, while Bohemians are leading the new All-Ireland league.

Ain't going to happen, but that's what I want. What Dublin City want aint going to happen either.

30 Posts
    There is no doubt that Dublin City have grand plans for the future and that Ronan Seery has an astute business plan but these aspirations are slightly far fetched.

Dublin City, despite the name lacks any popular appeal no matter how well you market it. Their base was the old Home Farm club in Drumcondra (who in turn took over from Drumcondra FC) and they had absolutley no support. Right now in Dublin there are too many clubs fishing out of the one small pond.Only Rovers have any potential with the move to Tallaght and even there it will be tough. All the other big Dublin clubs' (Bohs, Shels, Pats) support over the last few years has fallen away and is even lower than many of the so called 'lesser percieved' provinical Clubs. If Dublin City think of concocting any grand plans, they must face the cold hard facts of reality in that the major Dublin clubs are struggling so why should they be any different.

Right now the balance of power has shifted away from Dublin in favour of the provincial sides.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Gerritt - the sentiments in that letter will probably only come as a surprise to yourself...

Most people who've been following Irish football for any decent length of time know that the whole rebranding of Home Farm into Dublin City wasn't just stumbled-upon or done for the sake of it. Seery has been very clear in his intentions of taking Dublin City places - even so far as wanting them to be the Irish entrants into any European Super League that may happen.

Seery is not interested in Irish football. He's only interested in his little pet-project of CHF. He's looking to build a football empire from scratch for himself, so he can make money and sit back and say "look what I did - aren't I the great fella" ! If he did have a genuine interest in Irish football he would've put his time and effort into an existing/established senior club with clear potential, or built-up a strong junior club - not just steal a league place off of a reinvented minor club franchise-stylee and then try to force his pipe-dream onto an already over-crowded domestic football scene in Dublin. He's in it to make money for himself - which is why he didn't look to invest in any other team. He wants it to be his dream, his baby, and at the end of it all 100% his financial return. His motives aren't pure, which is one of the many reasons why his club is so unpopular. If you weren't relatively fresh off the plane/boat/train/helicopter/rickshaw from Belgium you might apreciate that...
    Spot on.

Seery is seriously deluded as are all of their 80 fans. They think the top division here is called the premiership. That says it all really

If the people running the league had any balls and wanted the league to push on CHF along with jokers like seery and oily would be fcuked out immediately.

If the people running the league had balls how would they go about getting rid of these two people??

Please explain NY Hoop!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    If the people running the league had balls how would they go about getting rid of these two people??

Please explain NY Hoop!
    ban olly byrne from league grounds like any other hooligan (oh wait, shels blocked the 'banned from one ground banned from them all' idea, wonder why) and make CHF enter the league like every other side, from a lower division, with a ground and an underage setup.

Have a rule that no convicted criminals can have any dealings in any senior football club. Taxi drivers have to abide by similar rules.

Do not make CHF enter the league at all. The 5 Dublin sides cater enough and they dont bring anything to the league. Until the AIL the league should have 2 divisions of 10.

Ollie was given an eL ground ban but weeks after he was given this ban I saw him in Finn Park. What's the point in giving these bans if the clubs are not going to abide by them. Most people outside of Shels think we all look up to Ollie, we don't, minority do but the majority don't!!

Anyway, fair play to DCFC for trying to reach the highest standards - good to see that they are not just hoping for mid-table medocrity!
    Who Cares?!

Every thread ends up about Ollie in the end

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast