Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Dublin City aims for Europe

3,493 Posts
    Does Seery actually have a step by step plan or does he just think that talking about being the biggest club in the world enough will make it happen? It's all well and good having ambitions, but you have to learn to walk before you run, and indeed crawl before you walk, and I don't know if Seery has shown that DC have taken any real small steps towards his goal. the fanbase is still very small, they don't help themselves to build it by continually changing ground, I can't see them not struggling next year as 2003 (fateful words, I know) as they had a fairly poor season in Division One pointswise, which would mean minimal progress on the pitch, and he seems intent on believing that just having the name Dublin and wearing blue will soon have people flocking to you (which we can tell you won't happen). Fair dues to him for ambition maybe, but without any sort of realistic path to that, he does come across as a bit of a flute to be honest...

Raheny Red. I was at that Faroes game indeed. Great memories that are. Got in for free, had a pint with a Faroese fan who donated me his scarf

I am on the island now for 17 months. 11 months Dublin, and now 6th month in Belfast.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Gerritt - the sentiments in that letter will probably only come as a surprise to yourself...

Most people who've been following Irish football for any decent length of time know that the whole rebranding of Home Farm into Dublin City wasn't just stumbled-upon or done for the sake of it. Seery has been very clear in his intentions of taking Dublin City places - even so far as wanting them to be the Irish entrants into any European Super League that may happen.

Seery is not interested in Irish football. He's only interested in his little pet-project of CHF. He's looking to build a football empire from scratch for himself, so he can make money and sit back and say "look what I did - aren't I the great fella" ! If he did have a genuine interest in Irish football he would've put his time and effort into an existing/established senior club with clear potential, or built-up a strong junior club - not just steal a league place off of a reinvented minor club franchise-stylee and then try to force his pipe-dream onto an already over-crowded domestic football scene in Dublin. He's in it to make money for himself - which is why he didn't look to invest in any other team. He wants it to be his dream, his baby, and at the end of it all 100% his financial return. His motives aren't pure, which is one of the many reasons why his club is so unpopular. If you weren't relatively fresh off the plane/boat/train/helicopter/rickshaw from Belgium you might apreciate that...
    I understand the sentiments you express. However, as I stated before, didn't every club started off as a young club without history? Liverpool as a split-off of Everton, I'm sure they also weren't forseen by sceptics to one day have 5 Champions League trophies... Without saying that within 100 years Dublin City will have won the CL 5 times , which I don't see happening that soon

I think their main concern should be developping a fanbase, because I can imagine Seery looks a bit like a dreamer-without-a-plan now. A club with 100 to 200 true fans talking about qualifying for Europe, sounds a bit overcourageous.
    Maybe their new 5-year deal at Whitehall is a first step towards becoming a more established club. They have a more or less permanent home now and can start recruiting in that area, maybe reaching out to schools and companies in the Finglas area, dividing some tickets and hoping that those visitors will come back...
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit

Maybe their new 5-year deal at Whitehall is a first step towards becoming a more established club. They have a more or less permanent home now and can start recruiting in that area, maybe reaching out to schools and companies in the Finglas area, dividing some tickets and hoping that those visitors will come back...
    but what exactly are they going to offer the viewing public that bohs, shels and rovers cant? back? they were never there in the first place.

the reality is CHF will cease to be in 5 years or so. its utterly unsustainable and a pity seery isnt involved in a real club. his money will run out eventually.

youe liverpool analagy is way off, they began life as a junior club after the split and earned their passage through the leagues, unlike franchise city who just appeared overnight.

people would have a million times more respect for CHF if they came up through the LSL structure like the gate or st francis did before.

What may be a point of concern for Dublin City: imagine Seery gets bored of his toy sooner or later, is there someone to take over DCFC? Or does City depend entirely on the goodwill and money of one person?

I've seen several clubs around Europe collapse once their main source of money decided to leave. And I'm quite curious if Seery will hold on to his dreams if City would not progress impressingly the coming seasons...
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    the reality is CHF will cease to be in 5 years or so. its utterly unsustainable and a pity seery isnt involved in a real club. his money will run out eventually.
    I hope so and I hope Seery is left bankrupt after it

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    and I hope Seery is left bankrupt after it
    What a sad f**k you are

Far from dublins biggest fan, would rather they werent in the Premier League but they're there on merit and no matter what people think of them seery has put in alot of time and money into an Eircom League club - more than people involved in other EL clubs id say - cant see what hes trying to do actually happening but fair play to him for trying!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

The way I see it, DCFC did take an odd route into the league but that's history, they're here now and they're more than able to compete with the other clubs on the pitch . On last seasons results they're the 12th best team in the country so, whatever about the past, they are in the league and in the premier on merit.

It's perfectly correct for Rocky to play be positive and play up his clubs ambitions. There's enough negative comment in the league as it is.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    and I hope Seery is left bankrupt after it
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    What a sad f**k you are
    Super response

As far as I know Dublin City are not looking to do anything but be a successful football club, Rocky loves football and Dublin City FC. He is correct to have plans and ambition, what would be the point in having a club and not wanting to do well. He is passionate about football and wears his heart on his sleeve, whats wrong with that. I think that we will attract fans off the barstools and into the EL. Everybody wins.

and at the end of it all 100% his financial return. ...
    LOL your have a laugh!

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    I think that we will attract fans off the barstools and into the EL. Everybody wins.
    Fair play at least you have a sense of humour about it.

What i dont like about them is that they call themselves 'Dublin City', as they have no core fanbase they hope to cast their net far and wide and hopefully attract a greater number of fans across the whole city of Dublin. Id have alot more respect for them if they had a local community they represented just like the rest of the dublin teams but instead they try and play it cute and say their representing the whole of dublin, it just wont work. They are a rootless club and in my opinion a pointless club, simply a tarnish on the League.

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    Rocky loves football and Dublin City FC.
    As he's such a big lover of the game, he surely must have had a favourite Irish team prior to creating a Frankenstein club out of cobbled-together bits of Home Farm.

Who did he support before Dublin City then ?

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    LOL your have a laugh!
    Ignoring the fact that you've impressively managed to riddle 50% of your response with typos ( ) what exactly was so funny about my quote ?

It says "at the end of the day..." . It's not talking about NOW - we all know Dublin City make feck all NOW. But if Seery's arch-plan succeeds, the club will be swimming in money as the premier club in the country and the Irish/Dublin representative in some sort of Euro Super-league. THAT'S where he would intend all the money to be his (or are you proposing he'll just give it all away by then...??). The day has barely started for CHF...

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover
    What i dont like about them is that they call themselves 'Dublin City', as they have no core fanbase they hope to cast their net far and wide and hopefully attract a greater number of fans across the whole city of Dublin. Id have alot more respect for them if they had a local community they represented just like the rest of the dublin teams but instead they try and play it cute and say their representing the whole of dublin, it just wont work. They are a rootless club and in my opinion a pointless club, simply a tarnish on the League.
    kettle, pot & black Take out Dublin & replace with Rovers

Ignoring the fact that you've impressively managed to riddle 50% of your response with typos ( ) what exactly was so funny about my quote ?

It says "at the end of the day..." . It's not talking about NOW - we all know Dublin City make feck all NOW. But if Seery's arch-plan succeeds, the club will be swimming in money as the premier club in the country and the Irish/Dublin representative in some sort of Euro Super-league. THAT'S where he would intend all the money to be his (or are you proposing he'll just give it all away by then...??). The day has barely started for CHF...
    he'll be doing well to make money, even the biggest clubs in the UK find it hard

kettle, pot & black Take out Dublin & replace with Rovers
    Yeah compare us with you lot

he'll be doing well to make money, even the biggest clubs in the UK find it hard
    Are you gonna break the news to him, or shall I....?

There's plenty of scope for a couple of teams in Ireland to be profitable commercial ventures, and Seery knows this full-well. You trying to tell me an Irish club appearing regularly in the Champions League group stages couildn't turn-in a tidy annual profit if it was run well....?

If he'd put money into an existing club, he wouldn't have been able to dominate proceedings, call-the-shots and keep all the revenue that he hopes to generate further down the line. That's why he invented a team of his own instead, and stole another club's league slot to save himself the time, cost and gamble involved in building-up his dream from the junior ranks like anyone else would have to do.
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 04/01/2006 at 3:03 PM.

Who did he support before Dublin City then ?
    Obviously a big fan of irish soccer history. Ronan's father Don Seery was a co-founder of Home Farm with Brendan Menton's dad, Brendan Snr.

When Home Farm's committee decided to pull out of the eircom league, Ronan, who was an employee of the club, decided to run the eircom league side on his own behalf.

He just wants to have a senior football club in the area in which he was brought up, nothing wrong with that.

Quote Originally Posted by Breifne
    Obviously a big fan of irish soccer history.
    My avatar and 'handle' might give a clue. I'm a Derry City fan. We only joined the league in 1985 - years after Home Farm entered the league, let alone were founded.... And yes - I am a big fan of both Irish football, and it's history. Had still never heard of the fecker until he created Continuity Frankenstein City. Do you know who founded Derry City by the way ? Or even a newer club like Kildare County - you being the oracle of all-things Irish and footbally.....

Quote Originally Posted by Breifne
    He just wants to have a senior football club in the area in which he was brought up, nothing wrong with that.
    What area - Greater Dublin ?? If his sole motivation is to have a club in the area in which he was brought up (wherever that was) then why does the team move stadium/area on a regular basis ? And why did he not name the club after his beloved area ?

I think it would be naive to believe that teary-eyed Seery's sole motivation, sniffle, is to have a team in the area he loves so well (wipes tear from eye)....

64 Posts
    To lighten the mood Keith Doyle's gone to Dublin City. Imagine a back four with him and Keely's son in it

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast