You give me Bubbles and I'll bring an aul relative for youOriginally Posted by sirhamish
Sounds like the location for the Foot.ie meetup!Originally Posted by sirhamish
You give me Bubbles and I'll bring an aul relative for youOriginally Posted by sirhamish
Who'd have thought that foot.ie would ever have a meet up in the big city of.............................Ballinasloe!Originally Posted by Dazzy
LOL - have to admit though sligoman, Beeslow is well and truly fcuked this Christmas. This time last year, Dubarry Shoes let go most of the workers but still the redundancy money filtered into the local businesses. This year......all factories gone. Only Portiuncula Hospital and a few smaller firms are going and the town is really showing it. We've lost about 1500 jobs in the last 10 years (plus the knock on jobs too) and it has devasted the town. When you consider the core population is 4,000 - that's a big blow.Originally Posted by sligoman
As a result South Roscommon, East and North Galway, the nearest parts of Offaly (Shannonbridge is only 9 miles) away and other parts in the town hinterland are fcuked too.
This time a couple of years ago, Square D shut down - 350 jobs gone - and moved to Mexico where the workers were paid per month what they were paid per week here. The week Square D shut down was the week it opened up in Mexico. Guess who was visiting Mexico that very time? - yeah, Bertie Aherne.That went down well here. He didn't visit us though, the prize bolllix.
Athlone, Roscommon town and Galway is also attracting a lot of shoppers too which doesn't help.
Hope it doesn't happen to your places.
No probs Dazzy - anyone's welcome .......just give me a little advance notice.Originally Posted by Dazzy
Yuletide greetings, man. Have a good one.![]()
Well, she's on holliers from her two jobs for the next week but is partying a lot.Originally Posted by sligoman
You can have her but make sure you buy some body armour first. LOL. She's more brutal than Gavin Dykes - and that's saying something![]()
LOL
I much prefer New Years Day, haven't went out for New Years Eve for about 5 years. Got sick of waiting ages for a pint and hugging and kissing strangers/people you don't particularly like.
Don't worry, I'll be preparedOriginally Posted by sirhamish
*Resists temptation to say something else instead of "be" for fear of been slaughtered by some of ye*
Ah, we'll slaughter yeh anyway.Originally Posted by sligoman
What's happening up Sligo way?? Are Rovers doing anything? Y'know a big party?
Well what have you all planned for the New Year celebrations. I have actually decided to stay home tonightI just cannot be bothered having to go and get shoved around a pub all night. I'll start the New Year as I mean to go on tomorrow night
BTW-Happy New Year Everyone
Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?
Don't have a clue yet!!! Maybe Stone Roses, mates want to go to wexford but I couldn't be arsed driving down there, maybe a house party, who knows!!!!
Sitting pretty!!!
Staying at home, can't be bothered with all the omerdoms that appear in the pub on new years eve.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
off to killarney to see the frames, nice way to see in the new year
think theres a few others going from here too
should be a good one
life is random
I'll asleep for it i think
Not if I can help it you won't be!Originally Posted by Anto McC
Well lets hope you can help it thenOriginally Posted by babydol
New years eve is the biggest anti climax ever.I can't wait for next week when everything is back to normal.
MOT
Jaysus you two, get a room!!!
Sitting pretty!!!
Me and Dublin 12 are only looking for a bit fun,no need to be snotty about it![]()
Im going to my local. with my family. nothing amazing, but Im not a big fan of tonight anyway, so it suits me.